We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly, good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Pattaya Hotel
Ranked #31 of 456 Hotels in Pattaya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2009

After staying at the Marriot on our previous visit I was a little dissapointed initially however after a day or two I now prefer this hotel as it is a lot quieter and not so many of the stereotypical guests and their local visitors than the Marriot.
I wouldn't recommend this Hotel for people who go to a foreign country and plan on hangning out by the pool the every day but it is perfect for our requirements i.e. temporary stay whilst looking for permanent rental accommodation.
One previous reviewer mentioned the dirty and dark alley. I agree this walk can be a little daunting however if you turn right as you exit the hotel there is a shopping arcade which also houses Villa Market an international suppermarket 100m down the road which is relatively well lit and provides direct access to 2nd Road.
Another comment was with respect to the air-con built into the window. The A/C in our room was built in properly above the entry door and is fine fine aside from the thermostat not working properly i.e. not switching off but the unit can be switched off/on easily at the controller.
There was some construction noise a couple of days which was a little annoying if by the pool but nothing that couldn't be blocked out by a few tunes on my iPod.
The kidney-shaped pool is quite large and although I am no Michael Phelps is more than big enough for relaxing or even a few laps lengthwise.
Bathroom is a standard size and actually a bit bigger then most hotels I have been in.

All in all the hotel was perfectly fine for our purposes and an ok rate at around 2000 THB per night including breakfast and unlimited wireless internet.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AussieExpat09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,284)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

905 - 911 of 1,284 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2009

At first glance it may seem unfair that i've given Mercure Pattaya the same rating as Mercure Patong. Direct comparison sees Mercure Patong to be better on every aspect, however we paid twice as much for Patong. Mercure Pattaya was good value for money. we spent 2 nights in a poolview room on the 4th floor, staff were very friendly, room was small but very clean. We ate at the restaraunt 3 times and the food was beautiful each time. Overall great stay in Pattaya. I highly recommend this hotel for single and/or young travellers. PAttaya is not a good place for young families and conservative older travellers.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovelife6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2009

Being a visitor to Pattaya over two decades, I can do no better than to urge fellow-travelers and lovers of the exotic life coupled with high standards of good service and accommodation to select this hotel in preference to other options offering similar comfort and facilities. Reason: the exceptional care and attention of the staff, whether it be in the restaurant, the well-organised room service personnel offering both assistance and sensitivity to one's needs, or the sleek and courteous swimming pool staff. This is true excellence.
The welcoming and efficient reception personnel I have got to know over the years: one can confide in them about any concerns or requests and be sure of instant support. The shuttle service is as good as promised: my question about the change of pick-up facility now adjacent to a rubbish collection point was answered helpfully - a solution is already in the pipeline! Location: brilliant, and well-placed for both 'The Avenue' and Pattaya Second Road shops and restaurants. Some excellent tailors, one in particular....

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globesetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2009

I have stayed at the mercure aproximately 6 times now and every visit has been a thoroughly enjoyable experience.The service is exceptional,staff are helpfull friendly and courteous.The hotel is located in a superb position,quiet but accessable with a free shuttle service from the hotel down to the main road.everywhere in the hotel from the pool to the restaurant & rooms are spotlessly clean,if i had to make a critisism it would be the rooms, which are a little basic and sparse (no cupboard space) although the suites are much better than the basic rooms,Also the breakfast is good,all in all an excellent choice

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliemellors57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2009

We stayed at the Mercure Pattaya for just one night but found the hotel to be very nice. Our room was a rather large twin room with its own balcony which was nicely decorated and clean. The pool area was very nice and there is a shuttle taxi which drops guests off right beside the main shopping street, meaning you don't have to walk down a dimly lit street late at night. The food was also good with a good mix of Thai and European food all for a resonable price. There is a buidling site nearby but we didn't have any noise or problem with this. The only thing I missed was a bath tub.

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TraceyNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2009

This hotel is not comparable with other hotels from this chain.
- location not good, behind 2. rd.
- feb 2008 2 loud constructions around
- rooms are VERY small and if u have bad luck you ve room where people from other wing can look inside
- room was very dirty: animals, dirt on floor and table and seats
staff was average
breakfast was, compared wit standard in thailand poor, small selection
=rooms are not very well equiped
-seems they like to have sex-tourists in the hotel: there is beside the minibar always a package of condoms.... and u see these guys in the morning with their prostitutes... not nice if u there with kids.
very expensive inernet !!!! about 400 baht for few hours !!! and slow aside...

all at all there are better hotels for this price

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThaiTraveller2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2009

I and 2 of my friends stayed at Mercure Pattaya hotel on January 27th and 28th of 2009. After reading so many favorable reviews on this website, we booked the hotel through latestays.com. We checked the reviews on so many hotels first, and most of them got terrible reviews, so we selected this hotel even though it is a little pricy (3000 bahts per night) compared to most of the hotels in the area.
One of the big drawbacks of this hotel is its location. It is set back quite a ways from 2nd street, and if you haved to walk through the alley, it is pretty dirty, smelly, and dark. The hotel provides a 24 hour shuttle to the hotel from a spot right off the 2nd street but it is a hastle to wait for the shuttle every time and some times the shuttle is full and you have to wait for the next one.

We checked in the late evening, the front desk personnel were nice and allcoated the rooms right away. We found the rooms more like business rooms, very small. The bath room especially is so tiny, an obese person will find the shower stall unusable. And then the room has patio facing the swimming pool, and when we went in the patio, the air conditioner was blowing out hot air into the patio (all the rooms have window air conditioners only which stick out into the patio, and the condenser blows out the hot air into the patio), it was very uncomfortable to sit there and enjoy a drink. The swimming pool is nothing to write home about, it is a small apartment house size pool, more like a wading pool than a swimming pool.
Our package (at 3000 bahts per night) did not include the breakfast, and we had to shell out 300 bahts extra for the breakfast which is very marginal.
So I am surprised to see so many raving reviews of this hotel on this site, it is amazing how people look at the same thing so differently.
On the other hand during this trip we stayed at Mercure hotel in Phuket, and Mercure Fortune hotel in Bangkok and both hotels are lovely. And there were so many negative comments about Mercure fortune hotel, I am really surprised. It is a lovely hotel, 4 star, the rooms are beautiful, price is very reasonable. And the Mercure hotel in Phuket is wonderful, the swimming pool is huge and gorgeous. Rooms are good size, bath rooms are great, the patios are facing the swimming pool, and nothing to complain about.

This all goes to the fact that peoples expectations and reflections are different. Some people get ticked off at the most frivolous inconvenience. Some people think that they are the most important people and the hotel people should drop everything they were doing and attend them. So, use your judgement in valuiing these comments. Good luck.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kinmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pattaya hotels
1.4 mi away
Mercure Pattaya Ocean Resort
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Pattaya
Travelodge Pattaya
#23 of 456 in Pattaya
422 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Baraquda Pattaya - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Bayview Hotel
The Bayview Hotel
#24 of 456 in Pattaya
967 reviews
1.1 mi away
Centara Pattaya Hotel
Centara Pattaya Hotel
#29 of 456 in Pattaya
770 reviews
1.0 mi away
Amari Nova Suites Pattaya
Amari Nova Suites Pattaya
#41 of 456 in Pattaya
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Pattaya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Pattaya Hotel

Address: 484, Moo 10, Pattaya 2nd Road, Soi 15, Pattaya 20150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chonburi Province > Pattaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Pattaya
#20 Spa Hotel in Pattaya
#26 Luxury Hotel in Pattaya
#31 Romantic Hotel in Pattaya
Price Range: £34 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Pattaya Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Pattaya Hotel is a 4 star Hotel under the chain of Accor Hotels. The hotel is ideal for events and holidays alike. With 247 rooms that offer elegant functionality and style, we ensure your stay is both comfortable and memorable. Our rooms are equipped with Wi-Fi connectivity, in-room satellite and cable channels for the flat screen LED TV, fully stocked mini bar and in-room safe. Pets up to 10 kg are allowed in the hotel with a maximum of 2 pets per room charged at THB 500 per night. Located in Central Pattaya, the beach, shopping centers, restaurants and entertainment districts are within walking distance from the hotel. The Hotel features a large outdoor swimming pool and toddler’s pool, fully equipped gymnasium, a spa with a variety of treatments as well as our flagship restaurant (MCafe) where we serve an eclectic selection of both, traditional Thai and International cuisine, and a pool bar, where you can relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, ACCOR, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mercure Pattaya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Hotel Pattaya
Mercure Pattaya
Mercure Hotel Pattaya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing