We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beachside needs attention”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Garden Cliff Resort and Spa
Ranked #119 of 455 Hotels in Pattaya
Reviewed 28 February 2013

I booked this hotel through the internet and wanted to have a quiet day at the beach with my two children.
The hotel is not very close to any entertainment and if you look for nights out this is not the place to stay.
As the name says this is next to cliffs and the beach is separated from the main beach by rocks and private properties.
We got an upgrade on arrival and I was pleasantly surprised when entering the room. The rooms are very well maintained and reminded me of stays in Hyatt or Marriott in Hua Hin.
Very nice.

We went for lunch into the cliff side restaurant which was empty. We received a russian menu and when I mentioned that I do not speak russian they gave me a western menu. No thai food.
The service though was excellent and the food delicious as well.

The hotel area is not very special. The lobby area looks nice and is warmly decorated. The pool area with apartments (around 9 floors I would say) is average.

We went to the beach and from the beach side the hotel needs renewal. The stairs are under maintenance and the beach is dirty to say the least. Next to the hotel is a big construction site but hey: nothing they can change about this. And it is not noisy.

I would not really return to this but also would not say that the stay was unpleasant. Just not exactly what we were looking for.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoderichH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

99 - 105 of 365 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2013

This was a pleasant stay for me and my friend, who wanted a couple of days away from the big city. We paid a bit extra for a 'pool access' room on the ground floor, which made all the difference to our stay. It was so nice to be able to jump into the pool directly from our own private patio. The 'private beach' is tiny, and didn't seem to be being used by anybody, but the pool was enough for us, in any case. The inside of the room itself was of a decent standard. I wouldn't say it was wonderful, but it ticked most of the right boxes. They had a reasonably-stocked mini-bar, and the pretty much standard 32-inch LCD TV. Breakfast was good, and included in the price, with a large variety of food to choose from. The location wasn't a problem for us, as we had a car, but I could see how it might be an issue for people not wanting to walk for long in the Pattaya heat. Staff were very helpful and accommodating.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more for a pool access room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nomadsoul1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

I booked this hotel because I planned to have a nice relaxing weekend in Pattaya. The hotel is located in Naklua Soi 16 and approximately 1.2 kms away or so from the main road. The promotion signs inside the hotel are in Russian. So no need to say more about the majority of the guests.

The hotel itself is ok and the room is quite nice. The view is also nice but nothing really special about it compared to the price we paid. The bar at reception area is nice and the staff are very friendly. However, there are thousands of mosquito at night ready to eat you alive. The singers are great and we quite enjoy it. They have "beer bucket" promotion starts at 10 pm for 300 something Baht which is quite cheap for a hotel like this.

My conclusion is I won't be back again. This hotel is good for one time experience but nothing special about it at all. Breakfast is good though.

Please vote "helpful" for my review and photos if you find this info is useful to you. Thank you very much.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tingleboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

C1 ( 2012.11 )
landscape was good because of locating near ocean, but the transportation was not that good. Swimming pool, front, and the room was OK, but the massage shop was insufficient. It's good to come with family.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HanJuyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

While the service was not bad and the facilities were reasonably well kept, the location of this hotel leaves a lot to be desired. You cannot walk to much of anything and the hotel shuttle schedule is limiting. That would be fine if the hotel had a nice beach, but the beach is practically non-existant and not very clean. If you do stay here, be prepared to do a bit more walking, bartering with baht bus drivers, and/or planning your whole day around shuttle reservations.

On the plus side the breakfast is great (although super crowded and loud) and the staff are helpful. There was a booking mix-up when we stayed and the night manager resolved everything for us. The people who make up the room have some very creative towel "sculptures" so it is always fun to come back and see what they left for us.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peegfeesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

I was stayed here including this time 4 times. Last year and 2 years back and again this year. Even though this is far from the city; hotel and view from hotel is beutyful. From lobby you will be looking at sea and swimming pool. Lower floor right side rooms are connected to pool. The hotel structred in traditional thai style. Entrance of the hotel is beutyful too. Hotel is getting little older seems time for renovation. look like staff needs more training on customer service, they are not pleasent as before. I had a local friend / driver / guide who was very good and took me around. so transportation was not an issue. They have very good spa, break fast is ok not excellent. Wifi chargable. I will personaly go there if the hotel renovated and change the staff or better training. Otherwise dont think so its worth money going back to the same hotel. I may have to find another one.

Room Tip: Sea View rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shihab K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Was in Pattaya for a business meet. Was put up at this hotel. The hotel itself is fine, but the location is a big dampener - really off the grid almost when it comes to the places in Pattaya one would probably visit. and given the fact that Pattaya streets have a great carnival feel to it, with great street food et al, most people visiting Pattaya would probably want to hit the streets. The breakfast buffet is nothing spectacular - not that great a spread for vegetarians. We were served excellent Indian food for lunch on 1 of the days we were there. The hotel has a pretty picturesque infinity pool and a decent though tiny private stretch of beach. The entertainment room was pretty sparse and not well maintained, and people here as rude as most others I encountered in Pattaya and Bangkok. They have a nice lobby area though, and we enjoyed live music both the days we were there.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rahulch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pattaya hotels
0.6 mi away
The Zign Hotel
The Zign Hotel
#109 of 455 in Pattaya
414 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pullman Pattaya Hotel G
Pullman Pattaya Hotel G
#18 of 455 in Pattaya
1,727 reviews
0.5 mi away
Z Through By The Zign
Z Through By The Zign
#152 of 455 in Pattaya
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Royal Cliff Beach Hotel
Royal Cliff Beach Hotel
#22 of 455 in Pattaya
1,106 reviews
0.4 mi away
Long Beach Garden Hotel & Spa
4.6 mi away
Centara Grand Phratamnak Pattaya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Cliff Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Cliff Resort and Spa

Address: 222/20 Moo 5, Soi 16 Naklua,, Pattaya 20150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chonburi Province > Pattaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#44 Spa Hotel in Pattaya
#75 Luxury Hotel in Pattaya
Price Range: £55 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Garden Cliff Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Garden Cliff Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Cliff Hotel Pattaya
Garden Cliff Pattaya
Sofitel Pattaya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing