We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Garden Cliff Resort and Spa
Ranked #107 of 442 Hotels in Pattaya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Horrible experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

This hotel is nothing like it seems - the service is appalling - except for the baggage concierges who are hoping for a tip. The facilities on site are too expensive to be using consistently (eg wifi - THB 150 for 24 hours when wifi is free almost everywhere else in Town - beers cocktails and alcohol more than three times the price they would cost in other pubs and hotels around the place - spa treatment over thb 1000 for not much more knowldege and exerience than the million of massage salons down the road!) We weren't planning for equivalent prices and had to go down town for almost everything including the laundry service - which no need to say was astronomical at the hotel.
The restaurant was just as disappointing - we paid THB 900 for two meals and the staff changed our orderswithout consulting us because the Chef had run out of ingredients! I know this happens but I would have liked to have the choice of choosing what I wanted to eat!
On top of everything else mozzies were just running amock! I get serious allergies to mosquito bites and when I complained and wanted a refund so I could move on - I got told it's like that everywhere else!!! This is so not true - we stayed in jomtien and Pattaya and my skin condition testifies otherwise! They just couldn't care less...


Garden Cliff - never again! not worth its stars

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Veronique T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    158
    55
    18
    21
See reviews for
58
92
12
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

My husband and I spent a night at this hotel in February - we booked the room late and got it at about 60% of the usual price. At this rate the room offered reasonable value for money. The hotel was clean but the rooms were old and needed refurbishment. The beach was quiet but not particularly clean or suitable for swimming. Food served at the hotel was very average with a surprisingly large choice of Russian food. The saving grace of our stay was being able to have wonderful meal at the neighbouring hotel. Overall, this is a perfectly okay hotel if all you want to do us to sleep here but I personally would not stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anjali K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

We went for a holiday trip and happen to get a good deal from the hotel, junior suites in a very valuable price. There are more than an excellent to say, the room is huge and clean, also the view is very nice at the balcony. Hotel staff is very nice and friendly. The swimming pool is so good. There are also baby corner to put the kid there and there look very professional playground as I never expected to be but my kid very love it a lot. Near by the beach which you can walk there and enjoy the scenery. Generally is so great. it more than word to explain you will need to visit once in your life. Thanks you to made our holiday feel so relax and enjoyable. Highly Recommended !!

Room Tip: Junior Suites is value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuleeporn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chutisuda T, Business Development Director at Garden Cliff Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you so much for your amazing review. We are delighted to read that you and your kid enjoyed your visit with us and highly appreciate the kind words that you have written about our Junior Suite and other facilities. Your compliment for staffs is definitely a motivation that encourage is continuously provide great service.
My team and I look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable stay in the near future

Best Regards,

Chutisuda T.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Traveled as a couple. Stayed for two nights.

Hotel is located far from the city. One needs a car or bike to commute in and out of hotel at odd hours else shuttle buses ply all day. 24 hours mart is near to the hotel. Lobby is good and offers a nice view of the sea. Check in took some time as room was not ready and we had to wait for a while. We asked a few times at the reception but it was of no use. Room was not as big as we expected with a small balcony and bathroom was nice.
The hotel has a lot of Russian tourists. Buffet breakfast had a lot of sea food varieties and less options for vegetarians. Lunch and dinner we had outside as we traveled in the town.

Bakery offers flat 50% discount on cakes in the evening( It happened with us, if not a regular thing)

Sanctuary of Truth is located near to the hotel and can be traveled by bike or taxi. We had rented a bike and traveled all the major attractions/destinations in Pattaya.

Overall a decent hotel, may consider again if I go to Pattaya. But would prefer stay near to the city.
Cheers!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alok_HP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chutisuda T, Business Development Director at Garden Cliff Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you so much for sharing feedback from your stay. We appreciate your kind words about stunning views and overall ambience. However, we are saddened to hear your comments about a front desk staff. We will pay more attention to improve service quality and would like to apologize. We hope you will be giving us another chance and returning to our hotel in the future.

With kind Regards,

Chutisuda T.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
67 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

This hotel locates on a quiet beach in North Pattaya beside Centara Modus Hotel. You need a car to get in and get out. There is a 24 hours minimart nearby. Staffs are very nice and polite, except one waitress at the restaurant who didnt seem to know when to take off the dish. At first we had the room without bathtub. They changed to another room with bathtub. That room we had was a bit old, but the bed is comfortable. There are 2 nice swimming pools at the hotel. Food here is normal. I satisfied staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chutisuda T, Public Relations Manager at Garden Cliff Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Greetings from Garden Cliff Resort & Spa, Pattaya.

We refer to your recent stay with us and very much appreciate your comments regarding your experience at the Garden Cliff Resort & Spa, Pattaya.

We are happy that you liked the hotel in general and sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

We look forward to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

The entrance to this hotel is a fabulous open lobby, which when you are so used to western style hotels makes a lovely change.

Our room was clean, a good size and had a nice little balcony over looking the pool area. I think people forget that they are in an independent hotel in Thailand, not a big American chain like Hilton, the rooms are not going to look like they do if you stayed in New York, they obviously have a Thai influence! We had a huge bed which was really comfy, a good sized bathroom and the staff were very helpful and friendly. English is not their first language so people should be patient and realise that not everyone in the world speaks english perfectly so we should always cut them some slack.

The breakfast was fab! The lunch was decent, unfortunately I cannot comment on the dinner as we always ate in town.

The pool area was fabulous, got to love an infinity pool! The staff were helpful and the cocktails were great, (happy hour from 11:00-4:00)!!!!

There is a shutttle service into town which was a big help.

Overly picky, critical people will find fault with the smallest things and I can hand on heart say there is absolutley nothing wrong with this hotel.

Room Tip: Pool access of sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chutisuda T, Public Relations Manager at Garden Cliff Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Greetings from Garden Cliff Resort & Spa, Pattaya.

We refer to your recent stay with us and very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Garden Cliff Resort & Spa, Pattaya. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Your comments will be definitely shared with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

We checked in. Went to our room to find lovely exterior until we found the furnishings had been worn and torn. Our curtains were dirty, had burn marks and holes. The pillows flopped as soon as you touched it. The bed was uncomfortable to sleep on. We had no hot water running from any of the taps at certain times of the day. Our first night our shower head was balanced against the wall to stablelize itself. When we took it off the shower head holder it dropped and wouldn't hold. I took a shower and the drain was blocked. Our first evening we called several times to have basic things fixed. I literally went downstairs to speak to the person in charge. The conditions of a junior suite was appalling considering the money I was spending on this beachside resort. To my surprise her English was non existent. I was disappointed with her reply, she said " this duck thing, pillow" using gestures to explain the word feather. I managed to decipher the body language. After a lengthy discussion, day 1, my pillows were changed, the curtains replaced, the hot water came on, the shower head fixed. The next dating wanted to go on a tour. I went to reception, made my inquiry and was told these tours are just for Russians and Chinese only. Disappointed again. I spent the entire day out of the resort to relax. I only went to the sea breeze bar late at night watching the football match, no other spectators, ordered my late night drink, asked for an ashtray, it's an open outdoor bar, the staff said, "sorry sir, no smoking here" I gave her a tip $20 bht, after a minute she came back with an ashtray, she said "please sir, don't let anyone see you". To me smoking is negotiable depending on how much you tip. The beach. If you call it a beach. Shared between 2 to 3 hotels. It was disgusting. I felt too sick to swim. The resort did not supply chairs to lie on on the beach. It was the hotel next door that had chairs. The water looked wrong. After 4 nights, on New Year's Eve, I spent it on my balcony, I was shocked to see that the drainage was drained directly into the swimming area. Thank god I didn't swim in the beach. In general, I felt the resort was a shopping mall. Every turn there was a discount on something, anything. Discount on bar b cue, discount on bakery delights, discount posters in the elevator for massages, drinks, etc. The fabulous story. The New Year's Eve party, they called it" the international gala party" but to me it was the chai..... Russ.... gala party. It was not organized well. I gave my ticket to be seated and another family was sitting at our booked table. They were irritated to find they had to move. Hello, you have to pay for your seats. The music was non English. The famous band in Thai was singing.......????? The party was divided in the 3 groups. Russians, foreigners, and children. At 2130. I was fed up and behind me a Russian family had a baby and the father was irritated by my cigarette everyte I had a cigarette and kept tapping my shoulder. I-replied
we are at a party. It's for drinking smoking. Which made me more irritated. Then I decided to leave the party. I paid an expense for a mandatory attendance an walked away early and disappointed. To be completely honest, the breakfast deserves credit for good food, and the balcony was spacious.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Munther S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pattaya hotels
0.6 mi away
Pullman Pattaya Hotel G
Pullman Pattaya Hotel G
#24 of 442 in Pattaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,543 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Zign Hotel
The Zign Hotel
#101 of 442 in Pattaya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
0.5 mi away
Garden Sea View Resort
Garden Sea View Resort
#106 of 442 in Pattaya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Centara Grand Phratamnak Pattaya
3.8 mi away
Royal Cliff Grand Hotel
Royal Cliff Grand Hotel
#9 of 442 in Pattaya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
0.5 mi away
Long Beach Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Cliff Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Cliff Resort and Spa

Property: Garden Cliff Resort and Spa
Address: 222/20 Moo 5, Soi 16 Naklua,, Pattaya 20150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chonburi Province > Pattaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#41 Spa Hotel in Pattaya
#72 Luxury Hotel in Pattaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Garden Cliff Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 249
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Garden Cliff Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Cliff Hotel Pattaya
Garden Cliff Pattaya
Sofitel Pattaya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing