We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view”
Review of Sandalay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandalay Resort
Ranked #122 of 447 Hotels in Pattaya
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great view”
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Stayed late Oct arrived later than I thought. Greeted by the manager and reception staff in a very friendly way. Checked in with 10 mins. Taken to 4th floor Grand Delux room, great view in the morning of the bay, large bathroom with a rain shower that I loved.

Red Steps is a little pricey but thats the price you pay for its location.

Staff and managerment are very helpful..

Location in Soi 2 across from the beach, baht buses pass by so very easy the go downtown. I will come back in my next trip.

Room Tip: Grand Delux room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peterkau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    78
    38
    10
    11
See reviews for
29
57
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Nice location,helpful and friendly staff.
Hotel is old but clean.good view with higher rooms.I would recommend to go for grand delux room on higher floors, other rooms may not be that nice.Good breakfast with usual stuff.Nice but a little pricey RED STEPS restaurant.Manager Mr Kasam is nice and helpful.

Room Tip: go for higher rooms,above 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deepak_rai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
145 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

I stayed at this hotel many times over the last 6 years because it is near the offices of our associates. But the condition of the hotel and its surrounding is definitely getting worse. This last week we stay 3 days in a suite, both the hotel and apartments next door seems to be undergoing major construction work. The noise of machines including jack-hammers were just terrible especially near the pool side. It is when you hear all the noise that you understand why

At check-in, the reception made us signed a declaration that we may not shorten our stay of 3 nights as per the booking. I am sure many tourists want to leave after half a day, especially the ones with a room in the back towards the noisy construction. We are lucky to be in the sea facing suite where noise is at minimum when windows are shut. Hotel is not making any apology for the inconvenience and long gone are the welcome drinks or smiles from staff. Despite the renovation, the rooms feel tired with rather old and noisy air-con giving a hint of previous smokers. Breakfast is a reasonable good standard in the open air restaurant facing the beach road. However, we are unlikely to stay here again unless there is major improvement to the rooms, only the suites are usable because my colleague in lesser rooms were unhappy

Room Tip: Go for the sea facing suites if you can afford it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oscar28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pattaya hotels

Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We stayed in Sandalay hotel one night only, we took a room for 3 persons, the extremely disappointed was the hotel staff, as they were not friendly at all and not willing to support, the breakfast was awful, the only good thing is the hotel location on the beach road, however we moved to other hotel in the same road which was extremely better.

Comparing with the price VS the services you will get it’s better to check in another hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bob m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

First the pros
Fantastic location .... In north Pattaya...so away from all the ' action '. Good if you are with family. Right across the beach....fantastic views from the higher floors if you have a sea view room. We had the biggest Grand deluxe room & it was very spacious.Bright & colourful. The cons
The place feels cheap....threadbare towels....cheap feeling linens....the bath which looks like granite on the website is actually particleboard ..... Cracked glass everywhere....
The breakfast was SO bad.... Felt it was just not worth getting up for. Cold breakfast at 9.15 am?
But for us the real disappointment was the staff. We travel to Thailand a minimum of 3 times a year & have stayed at numerous hotels over the past decade. But have not experienced such bad attitude from the staff. Most unpleasant to hear the hotel manager Mr. Kasem insist we have to pay for breakfast for our son when we were already paying triple occupancy rates with bed & breakfast. Also most disturbing to hear him shout to from the first floor to the front office asking them to take payment first from the 'Indians '...... Probably not knowing that we have a working knowledge of basic Thai language. The front office staff were very apologetic when they realised that we had understood his rude comments, but it had left a very unpleasant feeling behind & we decided to check out after one night.
We got a fantastic deal at the resort where we normally stay, even though we were walk ins as the staff remembered us from our trip last year.........
Sandalay..........was a sorry experience for us .........I'm sorry to say :(

Room Tip: Higher floor sea view rooms only...the rest are very small & overlook the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank ruch69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

We have stayed here several times and will do again. The rooms have a luxurious feel, are clean and well decorated. The views are GREAT. The pool is good. Breakfast is very good indeed - lots of choice - and the chef cooks a great omlette to order.The food is good in the restaurant too - reasonable prices and a good location for people watching. The beach is just across the street. You can walk to Walking Street in about 25 minutes or, if you are lazy (i.e. on holiday) like me you can catch the Baht Bus. Staff were fine. Highly Recommended.

Room Tip: Very good views from about the 4th. floor up, and nearer to Beach Road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

This mid-sized hotel really was very nice. We particularly like its location, a two-minute walk can lead us fom the hotel to the beach. The room was great, it had a nice beach and sea view, and the L-shape bathroom was spacious. Bed and sofa (day) bed were both very comfy. There also was a nice corner in the room decorated to handle dining needs of the guests. Satellite TV and local cable box were all included. Last but not least, breakfast was far better than what we had expected. And we paid only half of what we would have paid had we stayed at other hotel of the similar quality for a similar type of room in Pattaya city.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mbe_thaiwah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pattaya hotels
0.1 mi away
Baboona BeachFront Living
Baboona BeachFront Living
#168 of 447 in Pattaya
497 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Mark Land Boutique Hotel
The Mark Land Boutique Hotel
#256 of 447 in Pattaya
25 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pattaya Sea View Hotel
Pattaya Sea View Hotel
#102 of 447 in Pattaya
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
A-One The Royal Cruise Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mera Mare
Hotel Mera Mare
#76 of 447 in Pattaya
75 reviews
0.1 mi away
Summer Spring Hotel
Summer Spring Hotel
#209 of 447 in Pattaya
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandalay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandalay Resort

Property: Sandalay Resort
Address: 389 Moo 9, Beach Road, Pattaya 20150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chonburi Province > Pattaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Pattaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandalay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Ebookers, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sandalay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandalay Resort Pattaya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing