We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A few simple changes and this would be an excellent hotel”
Review of Palm Garden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Palm Garden
Ranked #288 of 455 Hotels in Pattaya
Reviewed 15 October 2013

The good:

1) The swimming pool is excellent, a good size, lots of greenery and a nice place to relax.
2) I stayed in the cheapest room. It is very clean. The bed was very comfy and a great size. The TV wasn't a flat screen but was okay and had lots of channels. Air con was excellent.
3) Very friendly cleaning and kitchen staff, always smiling and saying hello.
4) Good value for money.
5) An excellent location, close to many bars, the beech and a short ride to walking street.

What could be easily improved ....

1) The coffee at breakfast is DISGUSTING DISGUSTING DISGUSTING.
2) If you are staying a long time, the breakfast quickly becomes monotonous. The toast is always half-toasted, there isn't enough butter or jam, and the coffee - URGH!
3) WIFI. Nearly everywhere, from hotels, bars, clubs, to hairdressers, coffee shops, burger places etc etc has free WIFI. Why Palm Gardens insists on charging 50 baht an hour for theirs is unbelievable. It is like toilet paper now - just expected! If you need WIFI, this place isn't for you unless money is no object. It must be the most expensive WIFI in Pattaya.
4) No safe in the room. If you bring home a guest, casual security may be an issue.
5) I never heard the reception staff (with one exception) say ' Good morning', 'Good evening', 'How are you, today?' etc and never saw them smile once in my entire stay. I wonder when they are paying for a stay in a hotel, they want to be met all the time with miserable-looking staff?
6) The reception area is dark and huge. Oh for a pot of white paint and a few lights - it would change first impressions.

The hotel is still good value, but could be so much better.

Room Tip: See a few rooms before selecting one.
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
5  Thank double d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 21 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2013

The hotel is a bit old but the room was clean and spacious. The hotel has a large and clean pool with many cute kittens around it. Breakfast is very basic and wifi is not free - 50 bht for an hour of wifi access!!! I preferred to stay away from the main noisy action area and hence chose this hotel. However, just a walk down the road and you will find many happening places.

Stayed: July 2013
4  Thank Sajidesdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We were pleasantly surprised at this hotel. It had everything we needed. Pool, safe and breakfast and was quite cheap - 770 baht a night with for a double room with one breakfast or 900 baht a night with two breakfasts.

The view from the room wasn't that great. And there were a few tiny ants around the TV but that is quite normal in Thailand and was easily sorted with a squirt of insect killer from aerosol can.

Bathroom was a wet room and the shower was really good. TV had lots of English channels too.

The pool is particularly good. Clean and big. And the location at the North end is close enough for a 10 baht pick up ride to the shopping at the front but far enough away from the noise and the sleezier bits of the town.

Breakfast was basic. Bacon portion was a bit stingy but pay 40 baht extra and the portion sizes triples! But if the breakfast is not too your liking there is a 24-hour Burger King just 100 yards up the road.

Will stay here again.

Room Tip: Try and get a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TommyCrewe_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

This hotel is cheap and okay for its price. I spend one night in order to attend tennis tournament at Dusit hotel, which locating nearby. You cannot expect anything much but just a place to sleep and shower. Pattay is becoming unattactive place for me, and I go only for event such as meeting, or sport tournament.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank 3T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

I have been staying here for years whenever passing through Pattaya.

Rooms very clean, quiet, huge swimming pool ,room service. Many of the staff have been there for
Many years which is normally a good sign.
The location is excellent ,on the second road near to Dolphin roundabout,and very short walk to the beach. Very close to lots of nightlife and across the road is the very cheap and good 24 hour restaurant Kiss

Room Tip: I prefer ground floor but many people select upper floor with a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

All around a good experience, the staff is helpful and accommodating. The location is good as it is quiet and has a very private pool area. The room price includes breakfast as well which actually has bacon on the menu. The parking area is good as well many spaces and a secure location.

Room Tip: Lower floor as no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank connecticutyankee287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

You don't stay at Palm Garden for the rooms, which are basic, have a musty smell and need lots of air freshner. I saw four rooms before finding one I could live in for the week I was in Pattaya, deciding to pay a bit more for a pool side view rather than a view of concrete. In fact, the whole building from the big, empty, dark and depressing reception, the corridors and the relaxation areas look like they haven't had any money spent on them since the 1970s. That said, the breakfast area is bright and fine, with good breakfasts. The selling point for the hotel, however, is the swimming pool and a great location. The pool is large enough, has plenty of greenery and sunbeds and good service is on tap. The hotel is 5 minutes walk to the beach and many bar areas. The staff were friendly and helpful and despite the depressing nature of the hotel, would probably stay there again, maybe! There are after all many other hotels in Pattaya and area. It represents good value for money if you go off-season but seems expensive in the high season.

Room Tip: Great pool but depressing, smelly rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank undermanager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pattaya hotels
0.2 mi away
Garden Lodge
Garden Lodge
#217 of 455 in Pattaya
32 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Beach Garden Resort Pattaya
0.3 mi away
Sea Lodge Hotel
Sea Lodge Hotel
#270 of 455 in Pattaya
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bella Villa Metro
Bella Villa Metro
#129 of 455 in Pattaya
148 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunshine Garden Resort
Sunshine Garden Resort
#155 of 455 in Pattaya
387 reviews
0.2 mi away
Whitehouse Condotel
Whitehouse Condotel
#92 of 455 in Pattaya
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Garden

Address: 240/1 M. 5 Pattaya 2nd Road, Pattaya 20260, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chonburi Province > Pattaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #288 of 455 Hotels in Pattaya
Price Range: £15 - £28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palm Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Palm Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Garden Hotel Pattaya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing