We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feeling its age”
Review of Sandy Spring Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sandy Spring Hotel
Ranked #118 of 457 Hotels in Pattaya
Reviewed 9 October 2013

For value, Sandy Spring takes some beating. The best rooms are on the West side so as to get the great sea view. The rooms are basic, without a lot of the commonly found items in them and with age, this hotel has fallen a bit behind a lot of the other cheaper rate Hotels. They could definitely benefit from a makeover with regard to general work. If you want breakfast, "The Sportsman" just down the road offer a delivery service and produce a pretty good meal. If you are not to fussed about your surroundings then this Hotel will suit you as the prices are reasonable.

Room Tip: West side for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Les E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2013

Compared to two other hotels I have used in Pattaya, Sandy Springs is the cheapest. What the hotel does not provide is tea/coffee making in room, no iron or ironing board (in fact reception told me all guests must use hotel laundry service for ironjng, privare irons not permitted), drinks at pool, breakfast included in tariff. All meals are room service, eaten in the foyer or purchased outside. My first room 702 had a sliding door to the balcony which did not lock. Mosquitoes poured in during the night. Bed resembled a concrete block. Pillows lumpy. Only one blanket supplied.One night a heavy rain storm hit Pattaya. The roof must leak because a torrent of water came down the stairwell above 7th floor and resulted in a flooded floor outside the 7th floor elevator. Lights flickering. I moved to room 504. More comfortable bedding. The best feature of the hotel is closeness to beach (3 mins) and the fantastic Sportsmens Bar next door. It is a British-owned restaurant. Great western food at good prices. Hotel rooms are spacious, including large bar fridge. I would stay at hotel again.

Room Tip: Don't stay on 7th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OZtraveller222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

This place is quite clean, location is great close to the beach (3 min walk) walking distance to Walking Street or you can catch a tuk-tuk for 10 baht watch out for the parked tuk-tuks as they are taxis and will charge you 20 times more (200 baht) . Some points off for the rooms as they are starting to look tired.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fabp72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Coming here since 2006...
well...I am still pretty sure, after visiting many other new hotels, Sandy is still unbeatable for only 1900 bath (2200 the full price...but if you get the "member card" valid 2 years long you will get 300 bath discount per day!), for the following reasons:
1. Perfect location in soi 13 (near and "walking distance" to everything);
2. Very quite soi...so good quality of sleep;
3. Amazing spacious room with great sea view and big balcony;
4. Sunny and big size pool area;
I repeat...if you are looking for the skills a.m. this is still the best hotel under 2000 bath!!!
Try it and let me know if you will find someone better for the same price and facilities ;-)
Highly recommended!!!!

Room Tip: Just choose the "new sea view deluxe" room for 1900 bath (with membership card)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank heyer71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Hotel room was noisy from outside aircon boxes. The hotel price was a bit steep for a place with no breakfast...... the wifi in the room was ridiculous, logging of all the time...... bed was hard....

The good side was the rooms are clean. nice staff. good location

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank faiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I have stayed at the Sandy Spring Hotel probably close to 20 times now. Each time I visit I am welcomed with open arms.

The staff is very accommodating and Jang and Khanittha at reception do a wonderful job of trying to accommodate each guests requests. The hotel is in a prime location a half block from Beach road and a half block from Second road. The rooms are spacious, clean and have comfortable beds. There is a decent sized refrigerator in each of the rooms with plenty of space to put your own beverages, fruit and Ice Cream if you like. The staff overall are very helpful with some of the best bellman I have ever met. The hotel has plenty of eateries close by with the Sportsman bar /restaurant next door offering delicious English and Asian meals from early morning until late at night. The hotel does not have a restaurant per se but the do offer food service in the lobby by the bar and also room service. The rates at the Sandy Spring are reasonable given the location and amenities provided.

The hotel has a nice pool which is never crowded and they have food and beverages available poolside too.

The A/C works well and there is plenty of hot water. There is a mall across from Second Road that has a supermarket, several restaurants, a fantastic movie theatre and also a bowling alley. Plenty of money change locations are near by and taxis and Tuk Tuks can be easily found nearby. There is a couple of massage shops close by and plenty of shops along both Beach Road and Second Road if you are interested.

I will be back again in a few months for I am sure another great stay at the Sandy Spring hotel.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank TRAVLINCOP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013 via mobile

The hotel is nice and clean, great light settings in rooms. Widesceen tv!beds are a bit hard, they should consider changing from bathtub to shower.. svimmingpool area is great on the third floor. Staff is mostly friendly. Room service is very fast! Location is good!
The only negative thing is that the Ice coffie was no good :)
In other words a pretty good hotel and would consider going back.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris76Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pattaya hotels
0.2 mi away
Serenotel Pattaya Beach Front
Serenotel Pattaya Beach Front
#140 of 457 in Pattaya
91 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea me Spring Hotel
Sea me Spring Hotel
#77 of 457 in Pattaya
166 reviews
1.2 mi away
Summer Spring Hotel
Summer Spring Hotel
#216 of 457 in Pattaya
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Whitehouse Condotel
Whitehouse Condotel
#103 of 457 in Pattaya
85 reviews
0.2 mi away
Areca Lodge
Areca Lodge
#41 of 457 in Pattaya
1,021 reviews
0.3 mi away
247 Boutique Hotel
247 Boutique Hotel
#100 of 457 in Pattaya
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Spring Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Spring Hotel

Address: 494 Soi 13 Pattaya Beach Road | entrance from Pattaya 2nd Road, Pattaya 20260, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chonburi Province > Pattaya
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 457 Hotels in Pattaya
Price Range: £40 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandy Spring Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sandy Spring Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing