We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Village Coconut Island Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 849 Speciality Lodging in Phuket
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 10 days in April and it was lovely. The room was clean and so was the resort (shame about the Chinese people hacking up phlegm and spitting in the pool) but that's not the hotels fault. The boats to and fro the mainland are good and always on time. You must go for a walk around the island and go to the viewpoint. We stopped at a beach bar on the way and the staff there were so lovely! Would definitely stay here again. Prices for food and drink are expensive but that's due to being on the island. We also did the boat trip over to the other island which is stunning.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank stephielou44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    815
    355
    188
    76
    58
See reviews for
455
622
39
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Just got back from this truly stunning resort . Don't normally write on this but just thought being as I enjoyed my holiday so much I should share it with everyone. Not going to ramble on to much so here it is briefly , my villa was perfect in every way , food was excellent , staff were helpful , friendly and fun to be around and the spa was that enjoyable I was there everyday. Totally recommend the village coconut island....... Enjoy

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S9843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 22 May 2014

This is my second time to the village coconut island as I had an excellent and truly relaxing time with my fist visit . I came back to enjoy that experience again and was pleasantly surprised to see that somhow they had made improvements on what was already an amazing resort. I enjoyed Eveything about this resort from the beautiful peaceful villas to the evening entertainment and also getting to enjoy the lovley food and beverages they had to offer . Highly reccomended to anyone that wants a truly peaceful and relaxing holiday to unwind from the everyday stresses we all endure.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MA-0409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I have recently got back from The Village Coconut Island and now feel very depressed. The depression is down to not being there anymore as I had such a fantastic time. I think you can always pick holes in everywhere you stay if you look hard enough, but the fact that we were on an Island literally in the middle of the ocean, means that certain things have to be over-looked. I have read people not being happy about having to get a boat to get to the mainland, but at the same time they didn't seem too keen to swim there!

The fact you're on your own island means just that, you're on your own island; You're away from all the hustle and bustle, you have a lovely small private beach and therefore you're not accosted by 'lucky lucky men' whilst trying to soak up the sun.

The beauty of this island is it's proximity to the mainland, and in just 8 minutes you can enjoy a glorious ride on the taxi boat and you're there.

I obviously read some reviews before visiting the island and found it quite amusing at the comments about they mosquitos and their prevalence. This is my fourth trip to Thailand and they are in every part of the country I can assure you of that, if you would like to avoid these little critters, then may I suggest a lovely holiday in Wales.

So, we stayed in a Grand Beach Front Villa which was just breath-taking. The property itself was fantastic, every one of the five rooms was immaculate and sported an en-suite. The master bedrooms were huge and the swimming pool size bath was enjoyed regularly. Looking out from these rooms over your infinity pool, the beach, palm trees and the ocean was just amazing and it's impossible to get up out the wrong side of the bed with that view each morning. Getting out the wrong side of the bed could require quite a journey as the bed was huge! And, amazingly comfortable at that!

We ate at the restaurants a couple of times, may I recommend the Wagyu-style steak. Although pricey for 'Thailand prices', it was half the price of anywhere else in the World and was absolutely gorgeous. A lot of the time we ventured off the island for food and there are plenty of choices within a few miles of the pier. The seafood restaurant which is actually on the pier is really top notch and even if you don't eat seafood like my girlfriend, there are still options with chicken and other meat dishes.

We used the spa facilities which were more expensive than on the mainland, but we weren't in the back of a sweaty shop listening to the traffic! Also, the hydro-pool which you go in after your treatment was just delightful. It must have been good because the ladies in our group could not stop going there!

My overall advice for people considering The Village is to a) Most definitely go for it, but b) Remember that you're on your own tropical island and there will be some slight draw-backs and to keep an open mind and if you do have any issues at all, the friendly diligent staff will do all they can to put it right as soon as possible.

For a truly relaxing holiday this is the place to go for sure. If you get bored doing nothing then fear not, you can take advantage of the free activities on offer, such as sailing, tennis, kayaking, hitting the gym and more. There are many other excursions all available to peruse at reception.

Just book it, and get ready for a lovely relaxing holiday in beautiful Thailand.

Room Tip: Get the best you can afford.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We booked a week at this resort through Deals.com, which included breakfast, daily massage and one dinner. The island is a short (10min) water taxi ride from the mainland and the Laem Hin Pier departure point is about 35 mins from Phuket International Airport. As we're not big fans of the craziness of Patong and just wanted a week of R & R, this seemed liked a good deal and it mostly met all our expectations.
The Village ranges up a short steep climb from the beach and consists of studio-type apartments with outdoor jacuzzi (spa), and a range of villa types with their own pools,either with sea view or garden view. If you can afford it, or are lucky enough to get an upgrade, I would recommend a pool villa, just for the pleasure of stepping out of your door into the water, rather than having a bit of a walk to get to the beach or the public pool (we didn't have this luxury, and regretted it!). We had a short level walk to the Reception area, then a downhill stretch to the open air dining area, beach and pool - which was fine on the way down, but by the time we got back to our room after a swim, we needed another one!
The rooms look like they have been recently refurbished and were spacious and nicely decorated, with a large TV, comfortable lounge and bed (king size) and a kitchenette. Air con was very good (and quiet). Bathroom was screened off, but not closed off from the rest of the apartment, so bit of a lack of privacy if you have an attack of 'Thai belly"! Unlike other reviewers, we had no problems with the cleaning service - our room was serviced every day and towels replaced (though sometimes the combination of hand towels/face washers/bath towels/ bath mats was a bit haphazard! I note that several people have commented on the 'no paper down the toilet' issue - you need to be aware that this is universal in Thailand and all toilets are fitted with a small shower by the side of the cistern, which you should use instead of paper - then 'dry off' with paper and put it in the bin provided - otherwise you are going to block the plumbing! It takes a bit of getting used to for Western sensibilities, but deal with it!
We had a problem with the massage - we arrived late at night and tried to book our daily massage the next morning to be told that the next available appointment was not until the day we were due to leave! We took this up with the hotel management and they were very helpful and gave us one massage booking that evening, and then exchanged the rest for another free dinner and return transfer to the airport, which we were more than happy with.
Facilities: there are 2 restaurants by the beach, one (The Deli) serving Western style food, and the open air breakfast/dining area overlooking the beach, which does Thai food and snacks throughout the day (spring rolls, burgers, etc). The breakfast was good, with a wide range of selections from Asian through to Continental and traditional Aussie/British bacon and eggs. The croissants and danish were not always fresh and had that 'microwaved' feel some days, but all breads, etc were baked in their kitchen. I didn't have a problem with the flies - I'm afraid you tend to expect that in the tropics, and we came armed with our own mozzie spray to every meal! The restaurant, not being air conditioned, did tend to get a bit hot if there was no sea breeze - but the staff were quick to bring fans to your table if you looked a bit frazzled!
There are 2 public pools, neither of which have much shade, so the water is at about bath temperature, but so is the sea, so not much the resort can do about that other than dump a truckload of ice into the pool! There are 2 water slides from the top pool - I'd never done a water slide before and I found the longer, faster one to be plenty exciting enough! (the other is more sedate and wide enough for young kids to go down with their parent). The sea is very murky and the bottom turns to a sort of slimy mud about 15m from shore at high tide, but as long as you get floating before you hit that, it's fine. Be sure to wear plenty of sunscreen or a T-shirt in the water, or you'll get badly burnt - saw a lot of 'lobsters' out there! The beach is very nice and clean, with beach loungers and umbrellas, and an attendant who will ensure that you have cushions, etc (there are also plenty of loungers by the pool).
Food & drink: As others have noted - you are somewhat of a captive audience on the island, so unless you want to get the water taxi to shore and go to the excellent seafood restaurants on the pier, or take a trip into Phuket Town, you are stuck with the resort prices, which are at least double what you will pay in a local restaurant. What we sampled of the European food was good, but I found the Thai food to be very inferior to what you can find in a genuine Thai restaurant. They have 'happy hour' between 5pm and 7pm (from memory), where beers and spirits are 2 for 1 and cocktails are 175 baht (about AUS$6), again a lot more than you pay on the mainland (e.g. in Koh Samui, we paid between 99 and 120 Baht for cocktails). Having said that, with breakfast included in our package, our final food/drink bill came to about AUS$300 for 2 people for a week, which I considered to be not too bad. We didn't do any of the tours on offer, but were told by a taxi driver that it is much cheaper to book through one of the tour operators in Phuket Town - so be sure to combine a shopping trip with your activities booking.
Bottom Line: A very relaxing place, with little to do other than lounging by the beach/pool and eating and drinking - away from the madding crowd. The staff are lovely and I found the management helpful and courteous. Billed as 5-star, but I would put it as 4-star at best (maybe the villas are a bit more luxurious).

Room Tip: Whatever type of accommodation you choose, make sure it's as close to the beach as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2014

great web page to show everythıngs lıke so luxry but who ıs planıng to go there keep your mınd are u ready oneof best dırty place to meet staff verry frıendly but ıf they dont want to understand they dont understand anythıng housekepır not cleanıng enough ıf u not tell them theynot change anythıng they are leavıng everyday lıke some water but ıts not water make u sıck restaurant area fly everywhere 3 cheece ın the breakfast and ham pıg chıcken same plate expansıve than to outsıde we have to stay 9 days because we paıd when u comıng out to local boat they have rest dont try aldo dırty we dıd a bıkecyle trıp ın the ısland and u can so easy to see how they are preper most hotel thongs overthere vılla ınsıde amlot of dıffrent anımal not enough kıllerspray prıvate poll cleanıng not enogh dısgustıng dısgustıng

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessy n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan A, Resort Manager at The Village Coconut Island Beach Resort, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Jesse,

it ceratinly seems that you were not too fond of the village experience, having read your review several times to try and understand your frustrations (and english), it is evident you were expecting something else. We are a 5 star resort, different from those you may have experienced before, but we are unique. We offer guests a wide choice of accomadation that caters for a wide range of budgets, all of which are cleaned daily and are certainly not digusting. i think you are being very harsh in your descriptions of our resort, although i value your nice comments regarding our staff. Our breakfast has a wide variety of foods, and our website does not show anything different to what you get when you arrive, (did you look at the correct website...?) However all reviews are valuable to us no matter how true or not, so thankyou for takiong the time to express your dissatisfactions, i will certainly take it on board to further develop our unique Thailand village experience.
kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We had an amazing holiday staying at The Village on Coconut Island at Easter. We stayed in a 2 bedroom grand beach front villa and upgraded to all inclusive. What a great holiday we had! Accommodation was first class and the hotel truly relaxing. The villa was amazing and we had plenty of room for a family of 4. To look out over the infinity pool to the sea would take your breath away. Staff were soo friendly, especially Rum in the restaurant, he looked after us our whole stay. The all inclusive really worked for us, no worries about anything from drinks to our meals, all excellent. We would definitely come back!,,

Room Tip: Upgrade to a grand beach front property
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jobUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phuket hotels
17.2 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
3.0 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
846 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
461 reviews
9.2 mi away
Amatara Wellness Resort
Amatara Wellness Resort
#3 of 13 in Cape Panwa
946 reviews
10.1 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 319 in Patong
5,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village Coconut Island Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Coconut Island Beach Resort

Property: The Village Coconut Island Beach Resort
Address: 51/7 Moo 6, T.Kohkaew | A. Muang, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 849 Speciality Lodging in Phuket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Village Coconut Island Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most exciting and unique Phuket resort, The Village at Coconut Island is the best place to enjoy your next holiday.With an excellent range of rental villas and hotel suites, matchless leisure facilities and a beachfront island location off Phuket’s east coast, The Village really is the most exceptional Phuket resort.44 beautiful pool villas with sea views116 luxury Jacuzzi suites500 metres of untouched island beachfronta complete collection of watercraftfun and exciting adventure activitiesrelaxed waterfront settingrestaurants, bars and shops onsite.On an island off Phuket, The Village enjoys undisturbed privacy and absolutely amazing views of Phang-Nga Bay.All this is closer than you think! Just 5 minutes on-board our private water taxi to the Phuket mainland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Village Coconut Island Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Coconut Island Hotel Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing