We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Relaxing and Beautiful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Village Coconut Island

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Village Coconut Island
Ranked #6 of 841 Speciality Lodging in Phuket
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Relaxing and Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

The resort is amazing, all the staff are wonderful and the location is perfect. Although the island is remote, the regular boats make it easy to go on days out and see the area. There are plenty of trips to go on. I would recommend visiting the beautiful Rang Yai Island, the water there is beautiful and clear. It was a really romantic place to stay, and I would love to go back there.

Room Tip: The jacuzzi suite was lovely however we hardly used the jacuzzi as the area is rather shaded and I p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xhanxnahx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan A, Resort Manager at The Village Coconut Island, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Hanah,

Thankyou for writing such a lovely review. The biggest compliment we can ever receive is by someone saying they would love to return, so thankyou..!!!
We are all thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and found our location so perfect. The team will also be thrilled to know that they had a part in making your stay so enjoyable. We all certainly try our best to ensure all guests walk away relaxed and refreshed having enjoyed their holiday. Thank you once again and we very much look forward to welcoming you back here in the future,
Tropical regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    794
    344
    180
    74
    50
See reviews for
443
599
35
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We booked this resort on deals.com 14 months in advance so realized it would be pot luck. The reservations team before our arrival were helpful and everything was fine when we actually arrived. Our room was what we had asked for (2 bedroom sea view villa with pool) and was high and lovely. It is one of the newer rooms in the resort and everything worked. Thank good news for air conditioning as it was pretty hot here. We heard other guests complain that the plumbing was less than great in the older villas and their rooms had a terrible stench.

Housekeeping came daily and replenished complimentary water and towels - everything was lovely.

Breakfasts were good (they were included with our deal) and there was plenty of variety. As we were at the resort during the low season 2 of the 3 restaurants on the island were closed for renovations. The restaurant on Laem Hin pier was great though and much cheaper than the island. Another great option in town was The Naturals restaurant - over 5 levels and like a tree house - it was great value and had great ambience. We also splurged at The Blue Elephant - wow - its A1 reputation is well deserved.

Wifi was generally ok - works well about 50% of the time - which is ok on holidays!!

One thing you notice about the Village is how friendly the staff and guests are. People are happy to be here and if you want a relaxing do nothing holiday this is the place. 3 of the staff rate a special mention 1) Judy on front desk who could not do enough to help us make our stay lovely 2) Bernie the manager with his excellent suggestions on things to do 3) Ni - The Kids Club carer is also so sweet and caring and the activities really fun.

A big hit were the water slides - my daughter spent hours a day making friends and riding the slides - it is a centre piece to the resort.

Included in our deal were 7 x 30 min spa treatments. Spa has a lovely ambience but skill of therapists mixed and not 5 star. Not that it worried us as ours were complimentary.

Midway through our stay we were advised the access to the mainland was changing to Royal Phuket Marina (RPM) on speed boat (rather than Laem Hin on long tail boat). On the first day the new boat broke down. These things happen however it was the way it was handled by staff that left us annoyed. No one bothered to sit at RPM boat launch to advise us this had happened until we went wandering the marina to find someone from the Village (this was 9pm at night). Simple signs would have helped.

Overall we had a lovely relaxing 8 days here. Probably not somewhere we would return to - because of the remoteness and limited access to the mainland - however it is undoubtedly a piece of paradise in a fantastic setting.

Room Tip: Our room was villa 62. Bit of a walk from main restaurant and pool - but lovely and quiet and newer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan A, Resort Manager at The Village Coconut Island, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Lisa,

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort here on trip advisor. It’s great to hear that overall you had an enjoyable and relaxing time with us.
Thank you for the kind comments regarding our accommodation, Housekeeping, breakfasts and indeed our staff. Judy, Bernie and Nee will be delighted they had a part to play in making your holiday so pleasant.

It is without doubt a great place for families to enjoy, as we have so much on offer to keep all well fed and entertained. The water slides are always a big hit here, and not just with the kids...!!

On another note, I must take this opportunity to apologize on behalf of the Spa for not delivering treatments to your expectations. It is certainly very unusual, and I am very surprised that the spa has been mentioned in a negative way. Complimentary or not we must still operate at the highest of standards to ensure maximum guest satisfaction, i will be speaking with the team to understand how and where we under performed on that day.

In regards to RPM, Island transfers water taxi service, I can only apologize on their behalf for the breakdown of the boat, we did however keep our resort staff over in the marina (me included) purposely until 03.00am the following morning to ensure all guests were caught and redirected with pre-arranged taxis to our Local pier. I’m glad that we did find you and got you back safely.

Thank you once again for your lovely review, from all of us here at the village, "sawadee khraap..!!"


tropical regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

I booked with The Village through Expedia in March for a stay in May 2014. We had been in correspondence with Jintana at the resort via emails in the weeks leading up to the stay to arrange airport transfers plus an Island trip and special dinners. Jintana was fantastic, and arranged an airport pick-up even when our flight landed at midnight, and ensured a driver and boat driver were available to escort us to the island. Upon arrival, a buggy transported us first to lobby, for a quick and efficient check-in and non-alcoholic welcome drink, then to our villa. Our stay was originally booked in a Jacuzzi Room, but to our happy surprise, we were upgraded to a Pool Villa, most likely due to the low season! We were in Villa 79, and as I had previously requested for a room a distance away from the centre of the resort (after reading previous reviews on Tripadvisor with the noisy generator), the villa was perfect - only 2 minutes walk to the lobby and pools. The villa was in excellent condition and the pool was a welcome relief from the heat and mosquitoes. Room service after midnight was freshly cooked and fast (as we had arranged it with Jintana previously), and breakfast the next morning was plentiful. My partner and I thoroughly enjoyed the service at the bar and enjoyed the fresh fruit cocktails even more! The pools were at the right temperature, not too cold and not too warm, plus the water slides were so much fun! We didn't swim at the beach as it was muddy, however a number of other guests were seen to do so.

On the 1st evening, we had a private dinner on the beach. Served by a personal waiter, we had fresh seafood with fried rice and vegetables, and were joined by two kittens that ironically, looked just like our two rascals back home in the UK. The evening was made more memorable as the hotel had arranged live entertainment, and this included a band and Thai dancers. This dinner was arranged in advance with Jintana, after I had enquired whilst browsing the hotel website. We also arranged a trip to their sister island Koh Rang where the water was sparkling blue and the white sand was mesmerizing; Jintana gave us a discount for booking this trip in advance. That night, we had also arranged a private dinner BBQ at our villa with Jintana. We got to choose whether we wanted meat, fish or both; the Surf n Turf was definitely the right choice but the food was plentiful and we had to put some in the fridge to have for breakfast the next day!

We didn't experience any power outages nor had any problems with the hot water, even after a note was personally delivered to us, informing us of some works planned on our 2nd day. Our room was cleaned on a daily basis, and all the other staff were friendly and always smiled when they greeted us whilst going about their daily duties. Coco-mart, their own supermarket on the island, provided us with all our essentials including drink, food, clothes and souvenirs.

We didn't venture off the island, as we didn't have much time, nor did we partake in any of the spa facilities, however we had a memorable time at The Village and have already looked into booking again for our holiday and my birthday in August!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dezidreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan A, Resort Manager at The Village Coconut Island, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Dezi Dreamer,

Thankyou for such a lovely review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay here with us and we were able to create some lasting memories for you. Jintana will be very happy she had such a huge part to play in making your trip here so special and I will certainly be passing on your kind comments to her. We all very much look forward to welcoming you here again for your birthday in August.
Tropical Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

I have been exchanging emails with at least 5-6 person in the hotel to plan for a surprise birthday trip for my husband but yet nothing comes out at a surprise and all the plans failed one way or another
1) we arrived in phuket at 7.50am and got to the pier at 9.10am missing the hourly boat and had to wait for 50mins for next boat to arrived.
2) upon arrival, the hotel staff told us we can't check in as the check in time is at 2pm! This is their policy. I really don't feel welcome at all and despite the fact that we have been exchanging emails, it would be a courtesy for them to tell me that my villa was occupied the night before at least I can make plans to go to the town and instead if wasting 7 hours from the moment arrived before I can check in at 2!
3) a staff by the name of Julia was especially rude and I am surprise given that is she an Eurasian and should be well trained. But apparently not. Another senior staff by the time of Judy was more helpful despite the fact that we still can't check in any earlier.
4) we had a morning flight back on 1st July and it was also the launching on their new boat in another pier but we will need a boat at 5.30am. The front desk staff seems not well informed on the situation and makes it hard for them to convince me on which pier I will be docking off.
5) the driver drove us to another jetty without letting us know at 5.30am and the boat was not even there! He just left all our luggages there n without telling us anything. This is a public jetty and there were many Thais there n some even asked if we would like to go on their boat by charging us 100baht. It was really dark n I was really scared to be left there
6) 10 mins later, the boat arrived n send us to the old pier. Luckily the taxi driver was there waiting for us. But the poor taxi driver waited since 4.45am as he was told by the hotel staff in the timing!!!


Finally some good things to say,
1) hotel food was great despite asking for a surprise in villa dining they set up at the beach and I had to call them to find out
2) room is pretty spacious.
3) kids friendly with a kids club available
4) boats are normally on time.

Room Tip: Check on groupon first if they are doing any promotion before booking the room at the original price
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cmyrulez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan A, Resort Manager at The Village Coconut Island, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Cmyrulez,

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. I am however saddened and sorry to hear your birthday suprises didnt go as planned.

I apologise if you where unfamiliar with certain operational procedures of our resort, for example, our water taxi service/times and indeed our check in times. (although 14.00 check in time is standard in most hotels around the world) It is our standard to send all guests that book to stay in our resort a booking confirmation with all the relevant details about how to get to the island at what times and whats expected once you arrive. I apologise if this information was unclear and will meet with the reservations team to investigate further.

I am very suprised to hear Julia came across in such a way that dissapointed you, she is usually very pleasant and guests are always very fond of her.

It was completely normal for us to take you to the local pier at 5.30 in the morning as when its dark we have to operate from there as its a much shorter crossing.

However, now we have launched our new Transfer service with island transfers company from the stunning Royal Phuket Marina, we will no longer require the use of this local pier. All operations will continue to and from our resort pier.

Thankyou for the postive comments regarding our food, accomadation and efficiency of our water transfers, we are going through some big developments to raise the standard across the whole resort, i hope one day you can visit us again to see all these great changes that have been made.


tropical regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed 7 nights in a jacuzzi suite and really enjoyed our stay...... Low season meant it was very quiet for most of our visit..... The trip from laem Hin pier by boat (the only way to get to the resort) is around 15 minutes with boats leaving every hour...... Check in was very efficient... Our room was quite central.... Simple layout that worked well. Our aircon was quite noisy and we also could hear the resorts generator at night...... The jacuzzi was a great feature and was a great place to kick back with a few drinks after a day of not doing much at all......
We had 2 thai massages at the resort..... Prices are definitely higher than mainland Phuket but the spa experience was excellent.....
Staff were pretty good, we had a few issues over the week with our bill at the restaurant/bar... Extra drinks appearing but got it sorted out....
Spent a lot of time by the pool, Taddy looked after sun lounges, sailing, kayaks, etc and was fantastic....... If you do only one thing there, get out on a hobie and go sailing with Taddy!
Breakfast buffet was amazing...... Great selection of foods to cater for different tastes... We had dinner there a few times and while a bit expensive the quality was good.... Laem Hin seafood at the pier was only a quick boat ride away and we enjoyed eating there as well.....
Your can book a boat trip to a nearby island each day.... Highly recommended.... Nice beach and swimming there..... Beach at the resort is ok but not great for swimming.......

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan A, Resort Manager at The Village Coconut Island, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Michael,

Thank you for writing a review here on trip advisor. I am thrilled that you had some excellent experiences at the resort and very much enjoyed the quality of our Resort Spa, buffet breakfasts, and efficiency of our services. Taddy will be delighted he assisted you on the seas and created some lasting memories for you. The hoobie cats really are a lot of fun and very popular amongst all that visit here. Im glad you enjoyed the hotel suites and relaxing in your own jacuzzi. Apologioes however for the noisy AC and indeed the odd rumble of the generator.
Hopefully one day we will not have to reliy on the generators providing electricity to us...
Look forward to welcoming you back again in the future,

tropical regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

we are in total 6ppl and rent a villa house. the private pool was nice which can just jump from the bedroom. the beach just beside the house, that u can see a great sunset along the beach. that made me too lazy to go outside.

the staff was very nice. and wifi was stable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grandmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankston, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We have just had 2 weeks at this wonderful resort and we could not fault it. We had 3x Jacuzzi suites just great air con was efficient. But we did use the main pools more frequently. The Restaurant served amazing breakfast lunch and dinner and the staff were so attentive and polite. The front desk staff and duty managers were most helpful. The staff in the Spa were efficient and also very polite. Transport from the island to Phuket was always on time and to be honest nothing was a bother. We are seniors and we just had a wonderful holiday. Would recommend highly and would return again

Room Tip: Stay away from suites near the generator apart from that all accommodation was up to standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan A, Resort Manager at The Village Coconut Island, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Elaine,

Thank you for such a lovely review, i am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and all the staff made your stay faultless. We all try very hard to ensure all of our guests are looked after in the best possible way, enjoying great food along with attentive servce so that they leave us with some great lasting memories. Im glad we achieved this with you. I will pass on your kind comments to the whole team.
thank you once again and we very much look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
tropical regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phuket hotels
17.2 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
3.0 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
9.2 mi away
Amatara Wellness Resort
Amatara Wellness Resort
#3 of 12 in Cape Panwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Westin Siray Bay Resort & Spa Phuket
10.2 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
10.2 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 318 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village Coconut Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Coconut Island

Property: The Village Coconut Island
Address: 51/7 Moo 6, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 841 Speciality Lodging in Phuket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Village Coconut Island 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most exciting and unique Phuket resort, The Village at Coconut Island is the best place to enjoy your next holiday.With an excellent range of rental villas and hotel suites, matchless leisure facilities and a beachfront island location off Phuket’s east coast, The Village really is the most exceptional Phuket resort.44 beautiful pool villas with sea views116 luxury Jacuzzi suites500 metres of untouched island beachfronta complete collection of watercraftfun and exciting adventure activitiesrelaxed waterfront settingrestaurants, bars and shops onsite.On an island off Phuket, The Village enjoys undisturbed privacy and absolutely amazing views of Phang-Nga Bay.All this is closer than you think! Just 5 minutes on-board our private water taxi to the Phuket mainland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotelopia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Prestigia and Agoda so you can book your The Village Coconut Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Coconut Island Hotel Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing