We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phuket - the next level!”
Review of Phuket 346

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Phuket 346
Ranked #391 of 1,034 Phuket B&B and Inns
World
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Phuket - the next level!”
Reviewed 9 October 2009

On one hand, we keep going back to Phuket and one of its stylish resorts because it's convenient to get to, and affordable;on the other hand, everytime we go back there's this sense of deja-vu and 'been there done that' one gets when seeing a place very often.

So whilst strolling around the Bang-Niew temple area in Phuket town one day we stumbled across what looked like an art gallery offering B&B. And that's exactly what Phuket 346 is. Simple but incredibly - yes, incredibly - tasteful, and clean! This was truly so refreshing and different for the jaded tourist ghetto that is Phuket that we even decided to stay the night.

The gallery presents some thought-provoking artists (no shallow brain-dead jet-set small talk here!), and the cafe food is 'Thai home cooking' which you will NOT find in any hotel in Phuket. Really, you won't! The staff are so personable and friendly it feels like you're at home.

Kudos to Phuket 346! This is way ahead of its time for Thailand because it dispenses with any of the touristy Thai cliches that Phuket sells by the bucket load. It would really be spot on in cities like Bangkok or Chiang Mai, or even overseas - so if you're occasionally tired of triangular daybed cushions, watery Tom Yang Kung, breakfast buffet queues, tour coaches & beaches where peddlers tout massages every 5 minutes then this is truly and definitely something for you!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Globetrottingourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    16
    4
    5
    2
See reviews for
8
23
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2009

I felt like home after checking at this place. The place is gorgeous inside and staying here felt like I was staying in my own house. From the contemporary style design and settings of all the rooms, to the courteous and extremely friendly staff at this place. I will stay at this place again next time I visit and recommend it to anyone who is into arts and care about the way people treat you.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adventurous09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2009

Amazing that I am the furst place to write about this place !!

I discovered the place not because I was looking for a place to stay, but because I was interested in the artwork they were showing at the gallery.

But my partner and I were most happy to have seen the rooms - they have 3 only, and each is done in a really simple, and really cool. I would even call it stylish. The price was about $1000 baht, or US$32, and frankly, it is a great deal. I saw a few other places around town, and although there are some cheaper - at about 500-800 Baht, they are no where as close in feel, comfort and style. I stayed in room 6 (they have 3) and each is done in a similar style, minimal without being bare, clean, quite spacious, and plenty of character. They have cable TV (could catch BBC World) and air-con. Bathroom has a hot & cold water shower, and they provide clean towels, but no toiletries. In fact, the place is more like a private home as opposed to a hotel - 'guest' house is the right name. Staff are friendly and helpful.

On the ground floor, in the cafe, and a sort of living room/lounge, which leads to the white gallery room in the back, there are also a couple of PCs to check email and surf the net. But the place has Wi-Fi too, which I only found out on the second day, but you will need to ask them for the password.

For breakfast, they gave us toast, tea/coffee, a juice and a basket of dim sum - surprise surprise ! This, we found out later, is normal in Phuket town, due to its Chinese settlers in the 19th century that arrived during the tin mining boom of the time. It was, amazingly, included in the price of the room.

No hesitation in recommending it - a bargain really, for a really cool place, and located in Phuket Town, so very easy to get to just about anywhere in Phuket in my rented car, which they will arrange for you if you ask.

And incidentally, the art is very good - every few months they host a new show with a different thai artist.

Check it - you won't regret.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bebinca65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trad
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2009

I had been in Phuket town and found this lovely place. Room was clean and HIP style (only 3 rooms). Love staff, very friendly and helpful. They are in Phuket town, I spend long day with my camera and enjoy with city tour and yet Phuket local around near them.
Was wonder with beautyful gallery....
I would recommend this people who something ordinary holiday.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thaitravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phuket hotels
0.2 mi away
Chino Town Gallery Guesthouse
0.0 mi away
99 Oldtown Boutique Guesthouse
0.1 mi away
Mbed Phuket
Mbed Phuket
#20 of 218 in Phuket Town
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Rommanee Classic Guesthouse
The Rommanee Classic Guesthouse
#11 of 218 in Phuket Town
43 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thalang Guest House
Thalang Guest House
#5 of 5 in Talat Yai
41 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chino Town Gallery Hostel
Chino Town Gallery Hostel
#27 of 218 in Phuket Town
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phuket 346? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phuket 346

Property: Phuket 346
Address: 15 Soi Rommanee, Talang Road | Tambom Taladyai, Amphur Muang, Phuket 83000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #391 of 1,034 B&Bs / Inns in Phuket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Phuket 346 - 3 rooms only. All rooms are simple in their design,but not wanting in creature comforts, with local hardwood floors, high ceilings, white walls, with a wall of yellow or black where appropriate,and art. Each has a bathroom with shower,fresh towels and bed linen and each has views over the busy Bangniew junction of Phuket town,and its green-red changing lights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Phuket 346 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing