We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveller rating
18
20
4
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
18
20
4
5
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 49 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2015

Stayed here for 1 night before heading through to the airport, with this idea in mind it's fine. Our room was 'upgraded to the larger room' - hate to think how tiny our room would have been otherwise. No cats or cat smell when we were there, nor mosquitoes thankfully. Place was clean, decent shower. Good location to head out and wander around. Read someone else's review about lonely planet tip and have to agree this does not meet the description, would definitely not define this place as 'exquisitely' renovated (haha!)

Don't expect service, just book, come in, pay and leave. Be aware that there is also no pick-up service form the pier. Made the mistake of not enquiring precisely enough as when I asked this the owner said she would arrange pick up, which she did, it only ended up costing us an atrocious 400 baht (!!)

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Poppetjes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2015

Stayed here with my parents, wife and baby son. If you are used to hostels and/or like historic homes, you should be fine here, but my father is older, pickier, and had a lot of problems with it. His first room had AC that barely worked, and when he moved to a second room, the toilet didn't flush and one light bulb was burned out. When he asked them for more toilet paper, they looked at him like he was asking a strange question and then gave him a small packet of tissue paper. One night he could hear the owners talking/arguing in their room late at night. I on the other hand thought the place was just fine, especially considering the price.

Pros: Fantastic location right on the most beautiful street in Phuket town, historic old house, clean and well maintained rooms, soft beds, good water pressure in showers. Many people complained about the cats in other reviews, but we love cats and chose this place partially because they have cats. And I didn't notice any smell from the cats.

Cons: The owners have a very ho-hum attitude towards the place. They'll help you out with basic things if you ask, but they are not the super smiley, accommodating, "friendly local family" that we all hope for when staying in a budget home stay, and they aren't always around in the lobby. There's a number on the front door to get in touch with them.

Basically this place is perfect for budget travelers who are independent and don't need a lot of help, and want to be in the center of town and stay in a cool old house.

Room Tip: On the website one room is cheaper than the other. There's not a big difference; both have a window facing the street, though the more expensive one is slightly bigger because it has a hallways with a chair and window at the end. We didn't really use the hallways or need that extra space, though. We also noticed that the hotel has one or two rooms at the back with no view of the street.
Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank nickkembel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014

We stayed here for two nights on our travels around Thailand. When we first arrived we were waiting for hours because the owner didnt want to come and let us check in because it was raining...bit of a joke really, half the time the owner was never there to help us and we had to organise everything ourselves..which we didnt mind but the owner seemed like she didnt know anything about what we could do in Phuket. The room was nice though and clean. however, we would not stay there EVER again due to the staff

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank luciamayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We needed one night stay in Phuket before heading to airport. This was a cheap budget option, and we did not expect much. Rooms were simple; but everything worked (a/c; hot water etc) but hallways, entrance area, and "cafe" area smelled horribly like cat pee. I have 2 cats, hence am familiar with scent. I saw that at the end of the hallway was a large cage and counted about 5 cats...not sure there were cats and kittens everywhere. Smell was so bad we ate breakfast outside since we could not bear it. Owner lady is nice, but speaks only tiny bit English. If they get rid of stink then this is good budget option. Location is great in the heart of Old Town Phuket.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank calmomof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I was only here for one night so keep that in mind. The owners were nice and helped us book our ferry to Phi Phi (the only reason we were in Phuket in the first place was to get to PhiPhi). The room was small and very basic. For the price, you can't really go wrong but don't expect a lot of frills and extras. There was a hole in the wall in our room and I think that's how the mosquitos got in- so we spent a good 30 mins killing mosquitos but wore bug spray to bed anyway just in case. There are lots of cats around which are super cute but it does smell like pussies in the main reception area. Note: if you want breakfast you'll have to give them advance notice so that they can arrange/make it. It's not set out daily as we thought. They people running the place are very nice :)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews