We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel but needs renovation”
Review of Amora Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amora Beach Resort
Ranked #391 of 781 Hotels in Phuket
Reviewed 10 August 2010

We had a great moments and we have good memories of our stay in AMORE. Christmas Eve dinner was perfect and very rich variety of dishes. staff very friendly like all people in Thailand.
The hotel has excellent private beach but I would rather be


The hotel has excellent private beach but I would prefer to have better rooms, renovated bathrooms and better equipment on the terraces and swimming pools (chairs, tables, umbrellas). in such a beautiful environment not matching plastic and non-looked after.


:

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank calderamemories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

43 - 49 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2010

When we arrived we found most of the staff to be friendly although the porter didn't know how to smile. Maybe he would have if there was an elevator. The place is old and requiring a lot of work. It has a musty smell to it and marks on the walls from water. The room was passable the floor and furnishings were clean, but it's the age of the building that was a let down. The pools were good, and the main one was huge. The beach was disappointing and had rubbish everywhere, and there is a sign that said 'no swimming'. We arrived at the start of the wet season, so I think that is why the beach was dirty and isolated. It is probably lovely during the main tourist season. There wasn't much around this resort. The food we bought at the restaurant was average, although we did a cooking class and the food they cooked was delicious, and we thoroughly enjoyed the class. The internet access is a joke, so slow. There is a restaurant next door called 'Sugar Cane' and it won't disappoint, they cater for tourists although their thai food is very scrumptious. They are reasonably priced as well. All in all this place was passable, but we got bored as there wasn't really anything to do.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jac-star78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2010

We went to the Amora Beach for a long weekend with some friends and our 1 and a half year old baby. The rooms were fine - they are dated and I would not describe the bathroom as clean to say the least but since we did not plan to spend much time in the room this was not a big issue.

The real problems were the staff and the food. I cannot believe how rude and unhelpful the staff were. They would not even look at us when we spoke to them and refused to book us a taxi to the airport when we were trying to leave - nor did they help us with our bags - despite the fact that I am pregnant and had a young baby with me!

The food was also terrible - we avoided eating in the hotel after the experience we had on the first day. There was nothing suitable to feed our one and a half year old unless we wanted her to live on plastic sausages and chips!

So I would not go back!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JEF81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2010

We live in Asia, so a little jaded about beach hotels since we visit so many. Was leary about staying here due to mixed reviews, but was booking late and looking for something away from Patong, near airport. First choice of hotels were booked. So, the beach is fantastic. Wonderful. the best. The pine trees make a wonderful shady area between the pool and the sea Awesome!- which was a non-negotiable for us (our criteria included: on the beach, pool, some shade). The breakfast is not amazing, but it is very large, with large choice of foods, and stuffed us. So thumbs up on the breakfast, as well as the breakfast area - I love eating outside. Ditto on the cheap and pleasant beach cafes. Room was roomy - lots of space! Outside of buildings aesthetically bad - lots of water marks and ACs sticking out and creating heat and noise (and are ugly of course). I knew from reviews we'd be isolated, and that was no fun. The walk to the Tesco is fine, but not possible with a 5 year old in tow, and dangerous for child (no shoulder in several areas). Its a long hot walk..night market near Tesco is cool for local foods and tourist junk/clothing. We liked the temple as well (if Tesco is behind you, turn left on the main road and its on your right very soon.) Rented a car for one day to see Gibbon place, and do mangrove kayaking (jeez was it boiling hot!). So not a horrible place, but I wouldn't particularly recommend it. Cheaper and better I woudl guess in Kata and Karon? It was quiet. We like that.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grammarcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2010

This was our fifth visit to Rydges/Amora Hotel. The rooms are very nice and the cleaning staff are very obliging and always happy. We find the breakfast to be a great start to the day and the 'Egg Man' is so nice and always smiles even though he is over a hot pan in the hot sunshine. There are two pools and these are only a few paces from the rooms. The location of the hotel could not be better. A short walk through the garden to a fantastic Casuarina tree-lined beach of white sand stretching in both directions. There are several beach bars and restaurants that are a few steps away. Our last trip was somewhat spoilt by the amount of young Russians who feel it is necessary to play their oversized CD machines at high volume around the pool ans on the beach. Although the pool is out of bounds at night the young Russians decided that they would swim and drink lots of beer at the poolside until late. We did ask that security patrolled the area but did not see too much evidence of their presence! This had not happened on our previous visits to Amora.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank guggah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2010

Situated on what is really a lovely beach, and with two very nice pools, this hotel could be great if it was not for the following: 1) the staff are appalling, the 'couldn't care less' attitude is absolutely apparent from almost everyone 2) the interior is probably about 30 years old - and not well looked after 3) the food is dire, inedible pig-swill.

Most of the guests are Northern European pensioners and probably paying 350 Euros for a two week package, and for that the value is great, however for my wife and I who usually stay in 4/5 star hotels on our 26th trip to Thailand we were very disappointed indeed. This is at best a 2 star hotel for anyone with the smallest experience at all travelling in Thailand (or indeed anywhere).

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2010

My wife, son and I satyed at the Amora Beach Resort from 31st Jan to 2nd Feb 2010.

Its a simple resort really, but just the place for relaxation and some sun.
How good is it? Just go there and ask the many repeat long-stayers (eg. 3 weeks to 3 months!)

There is also a night market on Mondays (about 4pm to around 8pm), at the entrance of the resort.

For good cocktails and a laid-back time, go to Saky's Bar, a small stand, with beach chars etc. From the hotel, head to the beach and turn right, about 50 metres. Khun Saky really makes good cocktails! (again, many repeat customers)

Somchai, Cindy, Thanong (from Singapore)

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank somvira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phuket hotels
0.3 mi away
Arinara Bangtao Beach Resort
Arinara Bangtao Beach Resort
#12 of 36 in Choeng Thale
586 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunwing Bangtao Beach
Sunwing Bangtao Beach
#2 of 8 in Bang Tao Beach
605 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Premier Bangtao Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
0.6 mi away
Chivatara Resort Bangtao Beach, Phuket
0.6 mi away
Andaman Seaside Resort
Andaman Seaside Resort
#5 of 8 in Bang Tao Beach
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amora Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Beach Resort

Address: 322 Moo 2, Srisoontorn Road | Bangtao Beach, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #391 of 781 Hotels in Phuket
Price Range: £48 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amora Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Amora Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing