We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over Priced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pier 42 Boutique Resort & Spa
Ranked #228 of 763 Hotels in Phuket
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
“Over Priced”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

While the gardens are beautiful and it offers a quiet relaxing area away from the busy roads, the rooms themselves are extremely over priced. The bathroom is very basic and to be honest I have had better rooms that what their Deluxe offers for 1000 baht per night in places like Hua Hin, Cha-am, Bangkok etc. at book in your are given a parcel of some type of "eco" soap / shampoo which is totally useless and your room is not topped up with soaps at all. Went down to 7/11 to buy my own soap and shampoo.

To sum it up: significantly over priced!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanooksabai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pier42, Owner at Pier 42 Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Thank you for your feedback and your compliments on our resort and surroundings.
Every guest receives our premium amenity gift pack of Siam Botanicals products which includes Honey & Rose Shampoo, Lemon Grass Hair & Body Wash, Natural Ginger Soap, Kaffir Lime Shampoo Bar and Siam Roots Body Oil. Refills of these products are available free of charge on a counter next to our reception (or if requested the housekeeping will refill in the room.)
We feel very strongly about impact on the environment and the health of our guests which is the main reason for our choice of premium 100% natural products.
As of April 2014 we will be installing additional dispensers in all of the bathrooms which will contain a natural combination body wash and shampoo.
We believe we offer our guests good value for money, reflected in the rooms, surroundings, service and amenities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    42
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
27
53
24
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Stayed for 4 nights and first impression was wow! Its got some real character, old wooden structure but made into a chic modern hotel. Sometimes there's some noise as it's basically a wood structure but not enough to moan about It's close to the pier, great if you are doing trips to Islands or diving. The cafe serves beautiful fresh food. The spa is not cheap but is excellent. The staff are so friendly. Breakfast is not bad, certainly plenty of it. The place is clean and I would certainly go back as it's in a relatively quiet area but near great restaurants but near enough to get a taxi into the nightlife. Pool was a bit smaller than I expected and very shaded but great for cooling off. Beds were on the fun side but I like that so no complaints there! I loved the place!

Room Tip: Rooms near the back might be quieter. No single beds although they can put in an extra bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieHeron17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennington, South Africa
Level Contributor
63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

This hotel is a oasis in the chaos of Ao Chalong. The rooms are large and simple, the pool is lovely and it is close to the pier and waterfront. Very good base for sea activities. The Thai style breakfast, with everything pre-cooked, is not great but there are options including fresh fruit. Staff are friendly and accommodating. Spa is very good.

Room Tip: Choose the upper lever (2nd Floor). On the ground level you can hear your upstairs neighbor walking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikejnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Firstly, this hotel is an oasis of calm in an otherwise Phuket style area of bars and bustle. Very much an Eco friendly place with a quirky style, very retro. The rooms are comfortable and a good size. The pool, though small, is lovely with plenty of shade if you need it. Now, to get to the reason I am writing this review, I'm afraid myself and friend are probably what you could call the guests from hell! We are very demanding and fussy and expect 5star service even when in a 2star! Well no matter what we asked for, what we requested, what we moaned about, the staff here were absolutely unflappable, they saw to our every need including contacting our next hotel on our trip and arranging transport, pick ups, supermarket visits etc. they did everything with a genuine smile, and even offered to do things without us asking. All of the staff were wonderful, from restaurant to reception to room cleaning, in particular Domenica (who's English was excellent), where nothing was too much trouble.
The staff really helped to make our stay a happy, fun time and if we ever return to Phuket we will definitely stay at Pier 42.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I stayed for a week here for base of day-diving boat trips. The marina is only a few minutes walk, and a nice restaurant is also closely located. The room was clean and sufficient for night-stay only. The service of the stuff was satisfactory. A big home center with supermarket and restaurants is located at 15 minutes walk in the opposite direction of the harbor beyond an intersection four-forked road.

Caution! The localization of this hotel on the tripadvisor web site map was inncorrect.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ginmokusei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PHOENIX
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

This is the second time we've stayed here and left for a live-aboard diving trip from Chalong Pier. My partner/wife and I love it and now love the spa too. It is a great place for a short trip with comfortable rooms and a great little cafe attached to it. The only complaint is the very hard beds. We don't like platform beds. Everything else is wonderful. All staff are very helpful and many speak English quite well.

Room Tip: Take a room overlooking the pool on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LISA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

The hotel was lovely - It was about average, maybe slightly overpriced, but worth it to get off of the busy street and into the garden lined halls. BUT! The real reason to go to the hotel - the spa. Best I found in all of Thailand. The Thai massage was incredible - professional (the two ladies that were massaging my husband and I didn't talk to each other the whole time - as is the case in every other spa in Thailand). Also, it was clear that these women had very specific training - not just a one hour training session when hired. I also had a facial - phenomenal. The products they use - their own organic line - is amazing. I have troublesome skin and am very wary about what I use - this was amazing.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allice222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phuket hotels
0.6 mi away
Ao Chalong Villa & Spa
Ao Chalong Villa & Spa
#2 of 15 in Chalong
261 reviews
0.8 mi away
Chalong Beach Hotel and Spa
0.9 mi away
The View Rawada Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Palm Garden Resort Phuket
2.4 mi away
Phu NaNa Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
RaTaNa Apart Hotel
RaTaNa Apart Hotel
#29 of 43 in Rawai
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier 42 Boutique Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier 42 Boutique Resort & Spa

Property: Pier 42 Boutique Resort & Spa
Address: 42/5-6 Viset Road, Phuket 83130, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #228 of 763 Hotels in Phuket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pier 42 Boutique Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exceptional and intimate 24 room boutique resort & Spa in Chalong, Phuket, distinguished by first rate service & an eclectic style which features renovated hardwood floors, retro furniture + contemporary urban design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pier 42 Boutique Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing