We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cafe makes a nice burger”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pier 42 Boutique Resort & Spa
Ranked #228 of 754 Hotels in Phuket
Certificate of Excellence
Kathu, Thailand
Level Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Cafe makes a nice burger”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Be sure to get there early! They run out of pork and beef fairly quickly.

The upstairs dining area is beautifully furnished. There's a flat screen TV for sports/news. The chairs look like something out of a seaside catalog. Very relaxing atmosphere. The food is great for lunches and breakfast.

There are a ton of dive shops around this location. In addition, boats launch about 200 meters away to take you to all the islands surrounding Phuket.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank USNA2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    41
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
27
53
24
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chalong, Thailand
Level Contributor
141 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

This place is a 'hidden gem', tucked away, quiet but so close to so many attractions and eating places.

The pool is small, but cool and intimate, as are many of the alcoves in this Boutique Resort. The rooms are 'Eco Friendly', they use recycled materials to great effect. In-house they have a Spa and Shop - I learnt a lot from there, in particular I thought "Organic" was the way to go, and buy products, as it turns out this means that up to 5% of additives may be added.

Natural, means exactly that - 100%, we had great massages, food and a relaxing time there. As a matter of fact we stayed an extra couple of days.

Room Tip: Chalong is NOT a tourist destination, however the location and facilities are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AoNangDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

I stayed here in April 2014. Lovely quiet, relaxing place, the staff are friendly and very helpful. The pool was clean and surrounded by well maintained gardens. The spa treatments were money well spent. Walking distance to the pier for day trips. All in all I would highly recommend this resort. A ++++

Room Tip: Over looking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traceyford1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
96 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

From the moment I received prompt email confirmation from the pier 42 team I was looking forward to our stay. We arrived quite late for just 1 night stay and were greeted by the owner Wolfgang with a refreshing welcome drink. And then ushered to an adorable room that was simply appointed with cute decor and most importantly powerful air conditioning!

Pros
-Located literally 200 meters from the chalong pier made it perfect for our stop over before a multi day cruise.
-The all natural spa products promoted by the hotel are amazing, true commitment to healthy safe products and the most adorable complimentary shower kits for guests.
- the staff are so kind, they provided free transport to the pier so we didn't have to haul our heavy luggage.
- Breakfast at the cafe is included and makes you feel like you are in a charming urban coffee shop that could compare to any big city. You can only choose from a limited menu but it was tasty and very fair portions.
- The grounds are very cute and give the feeling of a sanctuary, rather than being only steps from busy dive shops and pier.
- Right across from a 711 store which basically has anything you could possibly need in Thailand from phone cards, booze, snacks etc

Consider:
- I would not consider this a "con" that is the fault of the hotel but it is worth noting that the street pier 42 is on has limited number of nice restaurants - there are a few which had great draught beer and looked welcoming, including the lighthouse restaurant about 500 meters away on the pier. However the majority of the bars along the street surrounding the hotel seemed dirty and specialized in "female companionship" for European tourists if you know what I mean.

Overall it was an excellent quick stay, great value and a welcome oasis, we loved it so much that I spent another afternoon there later in my trip.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madeline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Pier 42 is a really beautiful boutique hotel. Whoever decorated the hotel should be commended. The location can't be beat - close to the pier and on a fun and interesting street. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and the food was delicious.

However, there were a few things that really disappointed us about our stay. First, the "breakfast buffet" should be discontinued or converted into a real buffet - it was pitiful. The breakfast items on the menu, however, were really good but the options were limited. Also, they should search for better coffee options - the drip coffee they serve is barely drinkable and even the promising french press in your room isn't able to enhance the terrible coffee you are provided. The worst part, however, was the spa (which was really surprising considering the other reviews on here). My wife decided to get a pedi which, according to her, sounded heavenly. The reality was quite the opposite - the foot and leg "massage" was applying Jergens lotion (why they do not use the truly awesome products they sell for this is beyond me) for 30 seconds, followed by some painful attempts at nail care, and then a 40-minute application of nail polish. I took them up on a free 30-minute massage offer and I had a similarly below-average experience. While my massage wasn't painful or unpleasant, there just wasn't much to it... It was essentially a 30-minute light rubbing, which was very unfortunate since I was considering a more involved massage and was completely put off with the half-hearted back rub that was provided.

Overall this was a very good option and we certainly don't regret staying here. We think that if they can get a few more details right this would be a not-to-be-missed resort.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

A beautiful boutique hotel by the Pier. The rooms on the ground floor are perhaps the best (look into the pool).

The art decor and the flora by the pool brings in a soulful personal charm to the place.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sushilthaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

While the gardens are beautiful and it offers a quiet relaxing area away from the busy roads, the rooms themselves are extremely over priced. The bathroom is very basic and to be honest I have had better rooms that what their Deluxe offers for 1000 baht per night in places like Hua Hin, Cha-am, Bangkok etc. at book in your are given a parcel of some type of "eco" soap / shampoo which is totally useless and your room is not topped up with soaps at all. Went down to 7/11 to buy my own soap and shampoo.

To sum it up: significantly over priced!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanooksabai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pier42, Owner at Pier 42 Boutique Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Thank you for your feedback and your compliments on our resort and surroundings.
Every guest receives our premium amenity gift pack of Siam Botanicals products which includes Honey & Rose Shampoo, Lemon Grass Hair & Body Wash, Natural Ginger Soap, Kaffir Lime Shampoo Bar and Siam Roots Body Oil. Refills of these products are available free of charge on a counter next to our reception (or if requested the housekeeping will refill in the room.)
We feel very strongly about impact on the environment and the health of our guests which is the main reason for our choice of premium 100% natural products.
As of April 2014 we will be installing additional dispensers in all of the bathrooms which will contain a natural combination body wash and shampoo.
We believe we offer our guests good value for money, reflected in the rooms, surroundings, service and amenities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phuket hotels
2.4 mi away
Phu NaNa Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Ao Chalong Villa & Spa
Ao Chalong Villa & Spa
#2 of 12 in Chalong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palm Garden Resort Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
RaTaNa Apart Hotel
RaTaNa Apart Hotel
#27 of 42 in Rawai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
3.3 mi away
Palm Oasis Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Chalong Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier 42 Boutique Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier 42 Boutique Resort & Spa

Property: Pier 42 Boutique Resort & Spa
Address: 42/5-6 Viset Road, Phuket 83130, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #228 of 754 Hotels in Phuket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pier 42 Boutique Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exceptional and intimate 24 room boutique resort & Spa in Chalong, Phuket, distinguished by first rate service & an eclectic style which features renovated hardwood floors, retro furniture + contemporary urban design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pier 42 Boutique Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing