We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely not the best”

Trong Dong Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 260 Restaurants in Da Lat
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$7
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Trong Dong - a homey place for your meals! Dear valued customers, Every year we close our beloved restaurant 2 weeks for vacation. This year our schedule is from August 20 to September 5. We will reopen our service on September 6, 2015. We would like to thank you very much for your great support and hope to see you all again :) Cheers!
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Definitely not the best”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I stopped in here for dinner with friends and we were a little disappointed at how western it felt. Not such a big deal, but while I don't mind fancier local cuisine, I prefer that the atmosphere doesn't change to accommodate the homesick traveler. I agree the chicken was good, though.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank topwithme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    80
    50
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Only 2 days in Dalat, but 3 times in Trong Dong”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Looking for lunch, we stepped into Trong Dong and we discovered a world of very fine cuisine. Both the pumpkin and tomato soups were splendid. We went back that night for dinner and the marinated chicken skewers were tasty and moist. The shrimp paste wrapped onto and then cooked on sugarcane introduced many sublime flavors. The fish fillet crockpot dish continued to delight. Tonight we had the Vietnamese salad with shrimp and pork on shrimp crackers. The sweet, salty and crunchy made for a terrific dish. Make sure to try the homemade yogurt for dessert. The menu is varied. Sorry we can't go back for a fourth time. Great staff.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Delicious vietnamese food on white tablecloth”
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

The menu is medium big but with everything sounding yummy! Try shrimp paste on sugar cane for a starter!!! Very caring staff and relaxed atmosphere - we could have eaten there for three days straight!

Helpful?
2 Thank arck84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northwood
Level Contributor
416 reviews
304 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“Very good food, good pricing , very nice staff.”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Tidy clean, western style catering mainly for tourists but serving good quality viet food. English speaking staff very friendly and very helpful .

It's a bit out of town and difficult to walk to but well known locally.

The chicken dishes were good, as was the veggies and the starters. The 2 of us had 5 dishes and 2 drinks all for 300,000 dong, exceptional value for this type of western style place.

Menu well printed in good English and all staff are well trained and will adjust the cooking to suit your taste. You feel comfortable here.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank peterah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svendborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best we found in Đà Lạt”
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile


Probably the best place for a meal in Đà Lạt. The staff are all, without exception, friendly, attentive and good at their jobs and on top of that their command of English is first class. The establishment including the toilets is very clean and tastefully decorated. The food we had, and we ate there several times, was well prepared, tasty and nourishing. All in all a enjoyable experience.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank TanteTutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trong Dong Restaurant also viewed

Da Lat, Lam Dong Province
Da Lat, Lam Dong Province
 
Da Lat, Lam Dong Province
 
Da Lat, Lam Dong Province
Da Lat, Lam Dong Province
 

Been to Trong Dong Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing