We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible warmth from the delightful hosts of this special place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of YK Home Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
YK Home Villa
Ranked #40 of 266 Da Lat B&B and Inns
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Incredible warmth from the delightful hosts of this special place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2010

My husband and I just returned from 4 days in Dalat and were delighted with the YK Home Villa. In particular, we were delighted with Lys who could not have been a more wonderful, professional and endearing hostess.

Even before we arrived, I experienced touches of her examplary service as she emailed me to confirm the reservation which had been phoned in by a friend, then wrote a few days later to say that a larger room had become available and she would like to offer it to us at the same cost since we were staying four nights.

While the location of the YK (pronounced "eek-ah" by the Vietnamese -- good to know for taxi drivers) is listed as being a little out of town, it takes no more than 20 mins to walk there and is located in a beautiful area.

Our room was very large, as promised. There was a king-sized bed with fluffy comforter, large bathroom and a balcony which looked out onto stunning views of the countryside.

The only negative we experienced was the unfortunate positioning of a local church which sounded their bells at 4:45am every morning, providing a very early awakening (before going back to sleep again). So, if you're a light sleeper or tend not to fall back to sleep after awakening, you may want to bring earplugs or cotton balls.

Breakfast at the YK is also really good and I loved the pancakes which I had almost every day, as well as the delightful service and warmth of Duc, Lys' husband, who is the perfect partner by being equally hospitable.

In the lobby, there is free use of the computers and Lys was great in making honest suggestions about where to go and what to avoid in Dalat. She was always one step ahead of what we needed and, as she often said, wanted us to feel at home.

It was actually quite sad saying goodbye to our new friends and, since we had an early pre-breakfast departure, Lys said she'd give us some bread to take for our trip. We bid farewell, waved to her and Duc until they were out of sight, then noticed that the bread was warm. Inside the packet was a breakfast of freshly scrambled eggs tucked inside a crispy baguette.

A perfect reminder of service and kindess that went above and beyond our expectations.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    37
    16
    4
    2
See reviews for
18
79
15
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2010

Very elegant villa/hotel also lived in by the proprietors. We arrived after a long taxi ride in the dark from Dalat airport and couldn't have been made more welcome. The rooms were very large and well appointed. Breakfast was good. Tours were booked, maps supplied and taxis were booked on request. Advice was given about the local sites and restaurants all of which proved to be very useful.
All in all fantastic value and highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ernieslad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2010

We stayed here two nights and we're pleasantly surprised at the quality of the hotel and the service offered. It's a family run hotel, and they continually exceeded our expectations in offering specific and helpful advice on anything we inquired about.

The breakfast is one of the best we've experienced, and if you stay here, try the home style Vietnamese cooking for dinner - you will be delighted!

The layout of the home is quite spacious, modern and very tidy, but one minor criticism is that there can be a bit of an echo as people move around the house - we consciously tried to keep our voices down when inside our room, so the noise wouldn't travel too much.

It takes approximately 10-15 minutes to walk to the city centre, and it's uphill most of the way there, but of course downhill on the way back. This means that it's a quite street and away from the hustle and bustle of the city zone. A taxi costs around 25000d one way.

YK is basically a family home that offers 12 guest rooms, and being as such, you'll get a very personal and genuine home-stay experience with personal and genuine hospitality from the owners.

Do yourself a favor and stay here when in Dalat, we will stay again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5-in-50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2010

Great customer service! Lys is very accommodating. She helped me with my travel bookings.

The place and its facilities are fairly new. Rooms are big for a budget rate. Comfortable mattress and pillows.

I like the homey environment. Simple yet with pleasant people.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IvanRey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2010

We just stayed here for three nights and both agree that it is the best place we've stayed in Vietnam. Hands down. Amazing views over a nice corn field and just a short walk or scooter ride into the main town. The Hotel also arranged a scooter for us and helped us out in too many ways to list here. Super friendly and very accomodating. This is an absolute must for anybody travelling through Dalat.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamSedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2010

We stayed at this family-run hotel during a family visit to Vietnam in August 2010. It is about 2km from the centre of Da Lat, on the outskirts of the town, which means a 25-minute walk (or a taxi) to get downtown, but also means much more peace and quiet at night! We had a double room and a triple with a balcony; both had en-suite facilities, TV, fridge, aircon and even built-in mosquito nets. The hotel provided a simple breakfast (fruit, eggs, bread and jam or beef noodle soup). The price was under $30 per room per night; and the hotel staff were very helpful, even posting on (without charge) some clothes that one of my daughters left behind. There are country lanes on the doorstep, one of which takes you through flower and vegetable farms to the old wartime airstrip, complete with derelict control tower. Da Lat itself is noisy and rather kitsch, but is worth the visit, not least because of its situation about 4500' up in the hills. The 3-hour bus ride down to Nha Trang is on a new road with stunning views.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJP1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Higham Ferrers, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2010

An excellent hotel, the staff there are so so friendly and helpful.

The room was very very good for $20 a night, breakfast too was extremely good.

Very very much worth a visit if you are planning to go to De Lat.

Thank you YK – Home for such a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick-and-Olivia2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Da Lat hotels
3.8 mi away
Terracotta Hotel & Resort
2.6 mi away
ZEN Valley Dalat
ZEN Valley Dalat
#6 of 74 in Da Lat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sammy Dalat Hotel
Sammy Dalat Hotel
#11 of 74 in Da Lat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hong Mon Villa
Hong Mon Villa
#23 of 74 in Da Lat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa Vista Hotel
Villa Vista Hotel
#2 of 74 in Da Lat
5.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.7 mi away
Authentic Family Homestay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YK Home Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YK Home Villa

Property: YK Home Villa
Address: 49 Yet Kieu | Ward 5, Da Lat, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Lam Dong Province > Da Lat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 266 B&Bs / Inns in Da Lat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — YK Home Villa 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Dalat city, only 1.7 km from Dalat Market, near Domainne De Marie Church, Ana Mandara Resort and Tran Le Xuan Palace, YK – HOME Luxury Villa has 15 spacious unique rooms, a cozy bar and restaurant, a modern kitchen to bring the feeling of “being at HOME” for guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your YK Home Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yk Home Villa Hotel Dalat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing