We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3.5 star is pushing it.”
Review of Sammy Dalat Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sammy Dalat Hotel
Ranked #11 of 80 Hotels in Da Lat
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“3.5 star is pushing it.”
Reviewed 25 October 2012

service horrible. no one here seems to know what they are doing. at 1:30am they decided to fix water in one of the rooms near us. yelling and screaming and more yelling and water running was all we could hear for about half hour before we had to call reception. the guy said `can you wait one hour` WAIT ONE HOUR?? FOR WHAT!!! it`s almost 2am we want to SLEEP! not even a sorry. HORRIBLE SERVICE. so glad our stay here was free. haha! room service horrible too. closes at 9pm or something...lame! the only thing that was good was the rooms were clean.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akaran10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    65
    33
    10
    2
See reviews for
42
52
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We spent there two nights.
The hotel is a bit far away from the center.
15 minutes walking.

Staff is OK.
Service is very good.
Rooms are comfortable and warm.
The room we had was with a very nice view to the city.

Breakfast was very poor.

Will be happy to stay there again

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shiri_Sh_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasant Hill, California
Level 6 Contributor
570 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

I just spent 3 days at this hotel in Dalat, Vietnam and I recommend it highly for location, internet service and large clean rooms.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelwithpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012 via mobile

I recently spent 3 nights at the Sammy Dalat Hotel. I was very pleased with the amenities, good breakfast and super friendly staff. I too visited the Crazy House. Nice morning adventure. The tram to the Temple was a trip well worth taking. When standing next to the rail outside of the station of departure to the right of three is a large field with a single yellow building on it at the far end; well, that was the location of an American artillery battery during the war. It is over, but thought folks who are history buffs would like to know.

I was unaware there was no A/C. The temp at night during my stay was around 58 so we slept well.

Dalat is my favorite city in Vietnam. Clean and welcoming. Well worth the visit.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MrPig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Hotel on the whole was fine, clean, nice rooms and close to the town!
Service was abrupt and very unhelpful! Mainly I think due to their lack of English!

I booked myself in for a body massage and steam in the VIP room! The girl offering the massage was only interested in earning extra money for services that were not wanted! She walked in whilst I was showering. During the massage she kept offering extra and grabbing. Really very unpleasant! The eventually removed my towel totally and tried again. I got dressed and comained to the hotel. They could not be less interested! I know this happens in Vietnam and as someone who lives in HCMC you sometimes expect it to happen. This however was something that totally wrong! Will never use the hotel or it's brand again. Such a shame!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank GJG79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

The hotel was nice, except no AC. You must walk 10 minutes and see Crazy house!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Handywoman9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Gatos, California
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Sammy's is an upscale hotel for Vietnam--about 4 years old, but made to look vintage French in its architecture and design. The room itself was very large and well-decorated. Our only complaint was the plumbing in the bathroom. It flooded before the shower was even turned on! There must have been water leaking out of the walls or floor. Also, there was no Wifi in the rooms, as advertised by the hotel. There were 16 in our tour group, and this was universal. There was Wifi in the lobby, though, so those with smart phones or laptops could check email down there. The breakfasts were adequate, but not super in any sense. The typical strong Vietnamese coffee was wonderful, though.

Dalat city is beautiful and off-the-beaten-track in terms of tourists. It is mainly a cooler climate where Vietnamese go to enjoy a weekend or vacation. We were there right before the Tet (Lunar New Year). Since Dalat is renowned for its flower-growing economy, the flowers were plentiful and wonderful.

The spa in the hotel basement offered a great massage, although the prices given at the hotel reception were different from what the spa tried to charge us. We eventually bartered the massage place down to the hotel's quoted price. We had 8 different massages in various Vietnam locations, and this was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireWilson36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Da Lat hotels
0.4 mi away
Du Parc Hotel Dalat
Du Parc Hotel Dalat
#9 of 80 in Da Lat
545 reviews
0.5 mi away
TTC Hotel Premium - Ngoc Lan
0.3 mi away
Saigon -  Dalat
Saigon - Dalat
#12 of 80 in Da Lat
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
ZEN Valley Dalat
ZEN Valley Dalat
#7 of 80 in Da Lat
119 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tulip Hotel
Tulip Hotel
#5 of 80 in Da Lat
237 reviews
2.3 mi away
La Sapinette Hotel Dalat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sammy Dalat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sammy Dalat Hotel

Property: Sammy Dalat Hotel
Address: 1 Le Hong Phong Street | District 4, Da Lat, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Lam Dong Province > Da Lat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 80 Hotels in Da Lat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sammy Dalat Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sammy Dalat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing