We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but poor wifi and loud wedding party”
Review of Sammy Dalat Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sammy Dalat Hotel
Ranked #11 of 80 Hotels in Da Lat
Certificate of Excellence
Hillerod
2 reviews
“Nice hotel but poor wifi and loud wedding party”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed 2 nigths at this charming hotal centrally located in Dalat. The rooms are big and nice. the breakfast OK, but not the best we have had so far at similar hotels in Vietnam. It is clean and as allways the personnel are kind and friendly. It is within working distance to central market (15 min.).

Wifi at the hotel is free but very poor - too slow. The capacity is not for modern usage (even small videoclips cannot be viewed).

The first nigth we were kept awake by a couple of dogs barking constantly from 3am until we got up.

The last night we stayed at the hotel there was a wedding party in in dining room and it was very very loud. I asked if they could keep the doors closed, but they didn't. the party went on from 5 pm until 8pm, so we did manage to get sleep. But we came to Dalat to relax and not to be disturded by noise.

we did not try to use any of the additional service but would expect a pool to be available at a 4 star hotel. I did not find that.

If you are ok with a noicy wedding party or barking dogs and 3 star breakfast at this so called 4 star hotel, then go for it.

In my view this is only 3 star hotel and I will not stay here again

Room Tip: ask for rooms in the wing opposite to the dinning room facing the stree not the backyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bent N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    65
    33
    10
    2
See reviews for
42
52
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

See yourself in the 30's of last century and enter the Sammy hotel. Look around in de big entrance and go by elevator to your spacious room. Sit in the chairs and enjoy the fruit on the table. Then take a shower or bath after a hot day and use the benefits of 2013, like Wifi, good airco, or a cool beer or wine from the fridge. Overlook from your balcony the city that is on walkingdistance of only 10 minutes. The climate is like in France in spring and that's the reason why the French discovered 100 years ago and probably build this hotel. We enjoyed our stay very much and could hardly find any negative remarks. Breakfast was excellent and in a big room, that felt like we were Royalty. Don't miss this experience!

Room Tip: From the back you have a view on the city, but ask for a higher floor to see more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ad W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

We were amazed by tripadvisor's ratings and review and therefore we booked this hotel. We booked hotels on hotels.com and the hotel did not recognized our reservation for 2 adults and 2 children. Quite unprofessional that we needed to wait more than 45 minutes and several calls to hotels.com that we had a room for 4 and we paid for it.

The most disgusting about this hotel is that we found a dead cockroach in the room. We placed on a paper and left it on table outside the room. It took the staff more than a half day to clear this. How lazy can you be?

Normal conversation in English is a must for a 4 star hotel, the staff did not have these skills.

Location is really bad, it takes about 15 minutes or 5 minutes to go to city center.

We tried the restaurant and pretty amazed that the food was pretty ok, but pricy compared to others in town.

Breakfast is rather good due to a good variety of Vietnamese and continental.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel in the city center. They have approximately the same price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CloudStrife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massillon,Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Hotel is older but has nice larger rooms. Good breakfast. Well located. I knew not to use the spa from other reviews-- however someone else in my OAT group had a bad experience. The massage was done while the girl was texting-- then aggressively demanded a tip.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank clsned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pine Bush, New York
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

I stayed here for three nights in March 2013. I found the hotel and rooms to be clean, large and well maintained. The staff was friendly and helpful. The WiFi work well in my room which was well appointed and comfortable. I doubt you could find better in Dalat.

I could walk to the central area and enjoyed visiting the "Crazy House" which was a short walk away. While many areas to visit were a distance away, a casual and pleasant stroll would get you to the market area and other locations worth visiting.

I'd stay here again, if I would find myself back in Dalat

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Exciteableboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balfour, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We stayed at this hotel in March 2013 and we quite satisfied with the accomodation and service. The only gripe was that there was no safe facility in our room, although it was advertised as being available. Nevertheless there was a facility available at reception. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the city centre, so if you are planning on going to the market, hanging out where everything is happening,food, drink, entertainemnt wise,you may wish to look for something better situated. Regardless the walk was not too bad and there are always taxis available late at night if you are not up to the walk, it costs about 25000 dong for a one way trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosetta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We stayed for two nights and loved it. The lobby is elegant. Our room was large and beautifully furnished. The porch was lovely and the breeze through the sheer curtains was divine. Breakfast was good and the restaurant where it was served is, again, elegant. Service was prompt and courteous. The only drawback was the roosters crowing early in the morning, but I can't blame the hotel for that....

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baronginger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Da Lat hotels
0.4 mi away
Du Parc Hotel Dalat
Du Parc Hotel Dalat
#9 of 80 in Da Lat
545 reviews
0.5 mi away
TTC Hotel Premium - Ngoc Lan
0.3 mi away
Saigon -  Dalat
Saigon - Dalat
#12 of 80 in Da Lat
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
ZEN Valley Dalat
ZEN Valley Dalat
#7 of 80 in Da Lat
119 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tulip Hotel
Tulip Hotel
#5 of 80 in Da Lat
237 reviews
2.3 mi away
La Sapinette Hotel Dalat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sammy Dalat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sammy Dalat Hotel

Property: Sammy Dalat Hotel
Address: 1 Le Hong Phong Street | District 4, Da Lat, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Lam Dong Province > Da Lat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 80 Hotels in Da Lat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sammy Dalat Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sammy Dalat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing