We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location-walk to the market”
Review of Sammy Dalat Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sammy Dalat Hotel
Ranked #11 of 78 Hotels in Da Lat
Certificate of Excellence
Clifton Park, New York
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great location-walk to the market”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Da Lat is one of my favorite places so I'm a little prejudiced but this hotel is as good as any I stayed in while in Viet Nam. The lobby is comfortable and cool, has a gift shop, a bar which is a rarity in Viet Nam), and a restaurant. The rooms are average, they offer no more and no less than other hotels. We had dinner in the restaurant which was very good when they stuck to Southeastern Asian dishes. It was one of the most Western dinners we had and not great otherwise. Breakfast was ok, not great. I opted for pastries which were delicious but I skipped all the other usual fare.

Room Tip: Da Lat is a fairly quiet town so any room will do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy0619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    64
    31
    9
    2
See reviews for
40
51
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Stoke On Trent, England
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

Spent 2 nights here as part of organised tour. rooms were large and clean with tea and coffee making facilities. Breakfast OK if a bit limited for western tases , fruit, fruit juice and toast were what I opted for. you could have had bacon, egg cheese, ham etc. We had one meal in restaurant which I wouldn't rate very highly even allowing for different cultural,tastes, not much meat in the meat dishes. Supposed to be 4 star, but not by my standards.....

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank KatyPh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida, USA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

This hotel is beautiful and the rooms are extra spacious for a Vietnam hotel? flowers and fruit in the rooms . every
Thing was great except no heat in the wiNter or air in the summer. It is in the beautiful mountain are so it may be cool in the summer but it was freezing in the winter. Had to sleep with my sweatshirt on. Breakfast was good but dinner was fair

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Floridagirl006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
1,131 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 510 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

The hotel exudes colonial architecture and decor. The rooms are large and have a good safe, WiFi and a tea kettle plus standard bath amenities and a mini bar. The service is good.

There are a few downsides. The plumbing is not perfect in all respects but functional. The breakfast is less than stellar. The local Vietnamese food is not as tasty as it could be and the baguettes are too airy when a crusty chunk of bread is preferred. The drapes admit light and if your window faces the downtown area, that means it is a little too light at night. The beds are solid, perhaps a little more than some would prefer.

The positives outweigh the negatives. You will enjoy staying here.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjrg59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

It was a average hotel, nothing great!! Rooms were spacious but did not have enough light!! TV's were very small. The breakfast was good but the same thing was on the menu everyday!!

Overall, it was a okay stay but not good enough.

It should have been called a 2 star hotel, not a 4 star hotel

Room Tip: Rooms facing the front are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dhruv M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We enjoyed our stay here but did not love it!
Hotel was quite noisy because of the neighbouring houses, but that's not the hotels fault just unlucky in where our room was situated.
The rooms it self's great, spacious, clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was average and the staffs really need to work on their English, as it was very hard to communicate and get information about Dalat and where to go and see. Overall, the stay was pleasant and given the chance we would return again here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarleeWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

I Stayed 1 night at this hotel during my Vietnam inspection trip this July. The room is very clean and huge with 02 double beds, 1 comfortable chair and a lovely balcony. The sightseeing around this hotel is very nice, green and romantic. The staff were helpful, friendly but the breakfast is just so so. As this hotel is quite big and not many tourist there, I felt a little bit cold and quiet.
One disadvantage point is the location. This hotel is quite far from local market for walk (where I really loved and enjoyed many local foods) and city center, Xuan Huong Lake. Anyway, I have had a comfortable stay there.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bao-Oanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Da Lat hotels
0.4 mi away
Du Parc Hotel Dalat
Du Parc Hotel Dalat
#9 of 78 in Da Lat
537 reviews
0.5 mi away
TTC Hotel Premium - Ngoc Lan
0.3 mi away
Saigon -  Dalat
Saigon - Dalat
#12 of 78 in Da Lat
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
ZEN Valley Dalat
ZEN Valley Dalat
#7 of 78 in Da Lat
117 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tulip Hotel
Tulip Hotel
#5 of 78 in Da Lat
232 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Vista Hotel
Villa Vista Hotel
#2 of 78 in Da Lat
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sammy Dalat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sammy Dalat Hotel

Property: Sammy Dalat Hotel
Address: 1 Le Hong Phong Street | District 4, Da Lat, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Lam Dong Province > Da Lat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 78 Hotels in Da Lat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sammy Dalat Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sammy Dalat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing