We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable but strange atmosphere”
Review of Saigon - Dalat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Saigon - Dalat
Ranked #12 of 80 Hotels in Da Lat
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
“comfortable but strange atmosphere”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

This hotel gave me a weird feeling. It must be due to the time of year. Just after their New Year but I seemed to be the only person in this hotel. Very weird!
Check in was smooth. Very large reception area with access to pool. My room was large as was the bed. Would of got lost in this bed.
The room was clean, spacious and had everything I needed. Even a balcony which over looked the entrance.
The pool was clean and the water warm. It is indoors. I went for a swim and again, the only person there. From checking in, to room to pool and back. I saw nobody but a few staff.
The hotel is situated just on outskirts of the centre and takes about 10 minutes to walk. Go and visit the market and sample some of the food. Amazing flavours. I purchased a stack of treats for my journey as most of it was dried.
The bar is weird as well. Décor from the 70's and seemed like I was the first person to step in there since that decade.
Did not eat in restaurant but did have breakfast which was good. Please try the Vietnamese coffee whilst in Dalat. Excellent.
Good quiet hotel but would stay nearer the town centre if given the choice again but this is no reflection on the service or staff. Just personal preference.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    100
    50
    10
    11
See reviews for
51
122
10
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

My wife and I booked a deluxe room at this place recently and as it was the last room available (and almost the last decent room in the whole town at that time) we had to settle for 2 large single beds.Undeterred we pushed them together and that worked out OK for us.
I couldn't fault any aspect of the hotel except for the fact that I would have expected a 4 star establishment to supply a spare roll of toilet paper.Having said that,they were very quick to respond to our emergency request for same and any other requests we made of them.Breakfast was good with a wide selection but some mornings it was a bit hard to get a table.
Location was good and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pratts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Washington, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Feel like macarthur when i say I will return! Anyway, this hotel is well worth returning to.

Good service, though not always friendliest. Some of staff should smile more. They are doing excellent job in an excellent hotel, with excellent food.
Only fault was the number of weddings. I'm sure this helps pay for the place, but it detracts from the guests, as weddings seem to take over the pool area.
As someone complained. breakfasts didn't offer much variety, but food was good A la carte in dining room was much better.
Some on staff had problems with english, or american. However their english was much better than my vietnamese, despite the time uncle sam spent teaching me vietnamese forty five years ago

Room Tip: for view over city, face south
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

The location is nice easy to get round and far enough away from the back packer area to feel authentic. The rooms where very nice and clean the house keeping staff where very helpful with the few problems we had. But reception was not as helpful and the security really did understand why I wouldn't leave my beloved push bike in the parking areas... I will not have been the first person in this hotel to request this. There was a lack of spa which was needed after 80 mile ride. Breakfast was nice, but they could have done so much more with it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InsaneLoveChild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
1 review
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel overall is good. The rooms are pretty good. But the equipments in the bathroom were very bad. We went as a group so we had three rooms. In oolne of the rooms the bathroom door won't lock and in the other the butt washer won't work. The food is just simply awful. Breakfast is everyday the same. It is mostly pork but I don't eat pork. We went to eat dinner with the voucher. But after our first bite we chose to eat something else(cheese pizza). But that was awful too. The hotel has pretty good facilities like gym, table tennis, tennis court, heated pool.But it is not actually a 4 star hotel. It is more like a 3 star. Plus do not try their food.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank fhaque19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I was there in the January low season and there were few guests, and the rate was astonishingly low for this quality of hotel. But the hotel is great. Large, comfortable rooms with every convenience, all in perfect condition. The bed was huge, as was the bath. Fine TV with a lot of channels. Staff kind and considerate.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xxxMaugham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Good convenient location. Rooms were quite comfortable although my bed was saggy in the middle and I woke with a bad back. The hotel is clean, comfortable and convenient and the staff are very helpful. The woman at the tour desk was particularly knowledgeable and helpful. The breakfast was disappointing. I was expecting an exotic fruit display as DaLat is the food bowl of Vietnam. Also the pasties were stale. The coffee was weak and grainy so the second morning we waited to go to one of the local cafes for coffee. Apart from these negatives it presented good value for money

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marg000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Da Lat hotels
0.6 mi away
Du Parc Hotel Dalat
Du Parc Hotel Dalat
#9 of 80 in Da Lat
544 reviews
0.5 mi away
TTC Hotel Premium - Ngoc Lan
2.4 mi away
La Sapinette Hotel Dalat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Terracotta Hotel & Resort
9.8 mi away
Muong Thanh Holiday Dalat Hotel
2.2 mi away
ZEN Valley Dalat
ZEN Valley Dalat
#7 of 80 in Da Lat
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saigon - Dalat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saigon - Dalat

Property: Saigon - Dalat
Address: 180, 3 Thang 2 Str, Da Lat 84 63, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Lam Dong Province > Da Lat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Da Lat
#5 Family Hotel in Da Lat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Saigon - Dalat 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Saigon - Dalat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saigon - Dalat Hotel Dalat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing