We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok for the price”
Review of Phuong Hanh Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Da Lat
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Phuong Hanh Hotel
Ranked #82 of 285 Da Lat B&B and Inns
Helsinki
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ok for the price”
Reviewed 18 December 2011

We ended up in this hotel, as the bus dropped us right outside and the Pink Villa, where we wanted to go, was full. Didn´t read any reviews beforehand, and don´t think we would have stayed in this hotel, if we had. We paid 6 dollars for the room, which is quite a bargain, and got a room with a nice view over the city at the back of the hotel. There´s also a TV and occasional hot water. The room was delightfully quiet.

Unlike others, we found the staff to be very friendly and smiling. When we left for dinner one night, I pointed out to the young girl at the reception that Dalat is very cold. She asked if I´d like to borrow her jacket, which I happily accepted, as I have no warm clothes on this trip at all. Quite a sweet gesture, if you ask me.

Lots of people seem to have had money stolen from their rooms. We always had all our money on us, so luckily no experience of theft. Hopefully, they´ve learnt their lesson.

THe downsides of the hotel are that the pillows are quite smelly and the hot water comes and goes. Also, there´s no wifi in the rooms, but downstairs has computers for guests to use for free.

I´d recommend this hotel for someone on a budget for a night or two. The room was ok clean, though a bit smelly (the window was stuck, so you couldn´t open it). The rates are very cheap.

Room Tip: Rooms at the very back have nice views over the city and are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tulsi_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    18
    9
    8
    9
See reviews for
6
20
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 October 2011

Based on the LP review I decided to give it a try.

The room sice was ok and the price seemed reasonable.

But the staff (especially the older lady, most likely the boss) was very unfriendly and quite obviously house keeping stole money from my room! As I confronted them with this fact they just told me they won't do anything about it. Not even talk to the house keeping staff.

Thus, don't stay there!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pkleppert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Da Lat hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

We caught a bus from mui ne to dalat after having pre booked to go to Dreams Hotel. I think the bus line was Duch hahn or similar. When we got to Dalat, the bus stopped outside the Phuong HAHN hotel and an employee jumped on board asking everyone to just have a look at the rooms $10 15 dollars a night, people started to get off and we needed to stretch the legs, we got off , turned around and the bus was gone and all our bags on the footpath - we had been right stitched up (beginers mistake), so its late, were tired - they got us when our resistance was diminished had a look at a larger room , looked just okay but not as clean looking as it should be, next thing the bags brought into the room and the hard sell started, assured no street noise, spent the night like sleeping beside a freeway, place not clean at all and every time we moved out of the room hammered about tours, left at 0600 hrs next morning and went the sanctuary of goodness in Dalat which is Dreams Hotel.
So obviously a scam set up with the bus company to deliver unsuspecting smucks like us into there evil clutches. AND NO BLOODY WIFI as promised

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oneil o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hue
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Because of the LP review we decided to try the place, but after the first night we decided to move and find another hotel. The room is okay, but there was a terrible smell comming from the bathroom. The wifi didin't work and when I told them about this they didn't really seem to care. The lady was just really really impolite (rude). Never again will we stay here! Although the price is good and the room okay, everything around it just gave us a very bad feeling.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2011

Note that there are two hotels in Dalat with the same name. My review is about the one uphill, next to the pinkhouse.

Cheap hotel, cheap and nice tour we did here as well. The staff is very friendly too.
The room ok but the beds are not so good, but for an budget hotel i found out this is normal in vietnam.

When you want to stay here, note that some money was stolen from our room. So dont leave any valuebles in your room....

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FredFromHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2010

Arriving in the evening from our hanh cafe bus from Mue Ni we were dropped off at Phuonh hanh.
We were not greeted with smiles or introductions, rather shown immediately to the rooms and asked for our passports. The only effort they made to talk to us was offering us tours, which was everytime we went into the lobby which got very tiresome.
The bedsheets were ok, i wouldnt say unclean but didnt smell fresh and we were given a single sleeping bag unzipped for 2 people which was only big enough for one.
We are by no means hotel snobs, being backpackers we've stayed in a few holes.
This by no means was one of them but it wasnt one of the nicest.

Its ok for a night or two stop over and id only recommend it for backpackers on a budget rather than any other guest because i dont think it would be suitable for any one with a high standard of accommodation.

I dont know if we were just unlucky with our room or if it was the case with most, but outside the window we were directly opposite another building but in between was corrugated metal roofing, in Dalat where it often rains day and night earplugs are certainly recommended. The location is right on the main road too, so when its not raining the noise of the traffic and movement in the building is very noticeably loud.

The bathroom was clean, but the water pressure bad and hot water showers were rare. we also had a mouldy bathroom where the coving was crumbling so it just made it feel rather dank.
We read in the lonely planet guide that they often here good things about this place about 'the friendly atmosphere' but we cant really say the same. The staff seemed reluctant to help and were only really interested in pushing tours. (which in fairness are some of the cheapest we've managed to find)
The room had a fan (which at this time of year certainly wasnt needed) a fridge and tv.

Not near many restaurants, though there are more up the hill you'd be better off placing yourself in one of the quieter,friendlier hotels closer to the tour operators and backpacker eateries.

Bearable for a night but not recommended for more

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ecogrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Da Lat hotels
1.0 mi away
Du Parc Hotel Dalat
Du Parc Hotel Dalat
#7 of 77 in Da Lat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Phuong Hanh 2
Hotel Phuong Hanh 2
#75 of 285 in Da Lat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ana Mandara Villas Dalat Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
My Dream Hotel
My Dream Hotel
#13 of 285 in Da Lat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
2.3 mi away
ZEN Valley Dalat
ZEN Valley Dalat
#6 of 77 in Da Lat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hai Long Vuong Hotel
Hai Long Vuong Hotel
#1 of 285 in Da Lat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phuong Hanh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phuong Hanh Hotel

Property: Phuong Hanh Hotel
Address: 80 - 82, Duong 3 / 2, P 1, Da Lat, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Lam Dong Province > Da Lat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 285 B&Bs / Inns in Da Lat
Number of rooms: 28

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing