We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, few quirks”
Review of River Prince Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
River Prince Hotel
Ranked #52 of 77 Hotels in Da Lat
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, few quirks”
Reviewed 2 September 2011

We stayed 2 nights in August 2011, don't be conned by the name as there certainly isn't any river in view. Not much view at all actually. Nice clean hotel, good staff, secure parking, nice buffet breakfast. Only strange thing was there was no list of services book in the room, although once you found out the reception number, very helpfull. I wanted a wine bottle opener, they can't assist you with that apparrently?? Probably stay there again although there is better locations.

Cheers

Room Tip: Make sure you find out if the room has a double bed, most rooms we had were 2 big singles
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raider01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    13
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
5
13
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
County Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
127 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here for two nights. We originally wanted to stay in Dreams Hotel but this was fully booked, so we rocked up at the River Prince.

The room we got was huge, the biggest hotel room I've ever seen! I think they may have over estimated room sizes when they built the hotel, there has to be one tiny room at the end of the corridor somewhere!
It was like someone came in and stole some of the furniture, as the furniture in the room was lost, you could of fit another bed and couch in the room and the room still would of looked big! The room seemed to have what you need expect a safe, which I think is needed in this day and age.
Breakfast was included but it more of an Asian style breakfast rather than continental, which I suppose suited their target market. There was a small selection of continental breakfast, a little more variety would of been nice.
They had great customer service, I just think as the hotel is so new they are still inexperienced, but experience will come in time and it could be a fantastic hotel

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SazC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in June, 2011. The rooms are nice, but that is the only good thing i can say. The breakfast buffet was the worst I have had in all my travels through out Asia the food looked old and was far from appetizing. There is also no a/c in the room just a fan and it did get pretty hot. The bathtub is so flimsy that you feel like you are going to fall right through it when you are taking a shower.

The staff is nice, but very young and very limited english, so if you need help or have a question it can be difficult.

The wireless reception in the room was horrible, and there was a router just outside my door.

This hotel does have good potential, but they are definitely far away from it now. This hotel may be good for Vietnamese travelling but because of the inexperienced staff, and lack of anyone really good speaking, I would not recommend this for tourists at all

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deacs2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Da Lat hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2011

Chose this hotel from a good review on Agoda but this will never be the claimed 4 star hotel its wants to be for a number of reasons.

Design, a recently and quickly built hotel there are number of problems the most serious of which are the thin wall and windows which with cheap plastic timber and tile floors allow street noise to amplify and bounce off street facing room walls. This is not obvious in the lobby as it is 10mm plate glass but not in the rooms. Our request for an immediate move had to done on the porters mobile 'phone as the room phone didn't work!

The next room was an end of corridor back room and was less noisy. However the adjoining room door is a single one and also had a large gap under it allowing a major beam of light through plus neighbours noise.

2 power sockets were not connected to the large circuit breaker box in the room and an extension cords was provided for the TV and fan - necessary in May. Public rooms a/c but noisy, corridors a/c and carpet but uneven due to floor problems and poor carpet laying and fitting.

Bath but shower curtain and gap between bath and corner of room evidence of inexpert design plus making bathroom floor wet - plenty of hot water at least when only 6 of us in hotel.

Staff are of the smiles but not helpful variety. Asked for a map of the area, sent to the supermarket next door who didn't have the paid for map. Reception later produced the usual photocopy map.

Restaurant staff can't read their own menus in Vietnamese and brought boiled eggs for scrambled! Instead of sitting down, chatting whilst waiting for customers it seems they should be learning to read Vietnamese and then trying to get a better handle on English.

Hard bed, no flowers in room and nothing to make us book our intended 3 further days in Da Lat. We moved to a 2 star and forewent the lift for better service!

Kettle for tea provided but had to be plugged in on corner of bedside table or floor due to power socket problem.

Location over hill from Town centre opposite Peace Hotel!

Other design or yet to be finished problems included water leaking from downlighter in dining room, noisy fridges in rooms, we could turn ours off but you could hear next doors! No door between basement garage and reception above, fumes of diesel etc creep up. Heavy duty unconnected electric cable above dining room entrance. Noisy pubic area a/c.

WiFi ran out 5 rooms from ours, router hangs from corridor ceiling! No restaurant except at breakfast, lobby and 1st floor public area empty!

Room Tip: avoid or specify rear rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David_Geer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Da Lat hotels
0.3 mi away
Kings Hotel Dalat
Kings Hotel Dalat
#48 of 77 in Da Lat
26 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ngoc Phat Hotel
Ngoc Phat Hotel
#19 of 77 in Da Lat
51 reviews
0.7 mi away
Du Parc Hotel Dalat
Du Parc Hotel Dalat
#10 of 77 in Da Lat
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sammy Dalat Hotel
Sammy Dalat Hotel
#11 of 77 in Da Lat
161 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dalat Plaza Hotel
Dalat Plaza Hotel
#20 of 77 in Da Lat
226 reviews
1.4 mi away
Dalat Cadasa Resort
Dalat Cadasa Resort
#29 of 77 in Da Lat
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Prince Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Prince Hotel

Property: River Prince Hotel
Address: 135-145 Phan Dinh Phung | Ward 2, Da Lat, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Lam Dong Province > Da Lat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 77 Hotels in Da Lat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — River Prince Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your River Prince Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing