We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Highlands Escape”
Review of Dalat Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dalat Plaza Hotel
Ranked #30 of 80 Hotels in Da Lat
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great Highlands Escape”
Reviewed 22 March 2013

The Best Western is not the most expensive hotel in Da Lat, nor is it the most luxurious. What it IS, is a nice little hotel in an ideal location, that is economical and very pleasant. Within a 5 minute walk of the main square, market, and central city park and lake area, the hotel provides large rooms and a quiet atmosphere. The front desk staff are very professional and the concierge/tour support can easily provide tours within one of the most historically famous areas of Vietnam.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank araxas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    89
    67
    20
    6
See reviews for
49
107
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night before our 3 days easyrider trip to Nha Trang. The hotel is located in the center with view over the city and a park. Walking distance to everything. A bit noisy staff-elevator since they are using it all the time. The room and hotel was fine but the restaurant was horrible. The worst food so far in 6 weeks tour around Asia. Mashed potatoes was like sauce and beef was another animal and extremely chewy! We never eat at hotel restaurants but since we only had a few hours in Dalat we didn't have time to look for a good restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patsto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benalla, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

We stayed here for one night on booked tour. The hotel is well situated overlooking the city and lake. there are a number of eating places close by and by walking across the bridge you can also find plenty of quality eating places and cheap market stalls, the market is well worth a visit. Night market as well.
The hotel has good quality rooms however the room we stayed in was very musty and moulding smelling This was on the 4th floor. There is no air con and no fresh air is able to enter the room.
Breakfast was good for the locals and the only western style food was eggs cooked by the chef and bacon from the buffet. The fresh fruit was only water melon and bananas which should have been tossed out days ago plus Asian fruits
The floor of our room was very dirty. Walking around bare footed the soles of your feet became very dirty very quickly

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, null, Vietnam
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2013

This hotel is one of the best values around. We stayed there 3 Mar - 10 Mar. We had 2 rooms and the upgraded us to better rooms. Free parking, Free Internet. The hotel was remodeled just 2 years ago. Very friendly staff, they go out of their way to help. Their English isn't great, but we are in their country and they try hard..
Food in the restaurant was good and quite reasonable. Rooms were large, clean and on the no-smoking floor there was no smell of smoke.

Only negative is that because Da Lat is in the mountains and the evenings are cool they have no A/C, which means the evenings require window open and with only 1 window hard to get a cross draft. We spoke to the Hotel manager and they said that they are considering adding A/C over the next 2 years. We'll see.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

We stay there 2 nights and it was really ok. We get what they promise and even more, breakfast was great buffet and you could order eggs any kind , friendly servise and clean big rooms. In bathroom there was little smell of smoking.. but not too much we just realice it.
I can really recommend this hotel, also has garace for your car, motorbike or.. for free and free internet too.

Room Tip: Lake view 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattitii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

The best thing about this hotel is the location. Not even a 5 minute walk to the lake and easily takes under 10 minutes to walk to all the nearby shops and restaurants. The view from our hotel room (standard room) was fantastic of the city and the park across the road. The reception staff were helpful and provided plenty of assistance. The breakfast was very average, however there were plenty of choices and the food tasted decent enough. The restaurant at the hotel was a bit pricey. The hotel room was clean and comfortable and everything worked well. I have read some other reviews on here about the absence of air conditioning, we stayed here in January and not once did we ever wish we had air-con. Seriously, it is COLD in Dalat - you do not need air-con! Some people whinge about the smallest things. I gave this hotel 4/5 because this was one of the least expensive rooms we payed for throughout our trip across Vietnam and it certainly delivers for the price you pay, definitely great value. There is no major flaws with this hotel and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keelan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013 via mobile

Reasonable hotel.good location. Can be noisy if on lower floors as it has no double glazing. Breakfast average.reception staff helpfull. Tour desk very good. Hotel driver took us on a city tour. He was very good.

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChrisH125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Da Lat hotels
0.1 mi away
Du Parc Hotel Dalat
Du Parc Hotel Dalat
#9 of 80 in Da Lat
545 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ngoc Phat Hotel
Ngoc Phat Hotel
#18 of 80 in Da Lat
52 reviews
0.2 mi away
TTC Hotel Premium - Ngoc Lan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Saigon -  Dalat
Saigon - Dalat
#12 of 80 in Da Lat
255 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marguerite Hotel
Marguerite Hotel
#40 of 80 in Da Lat
22 reviews
1.9 mi away
La Sapinette Hotel Dalat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalat Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalat Plaza Hotel

Property: Dalat Plaza Hotel
Address: 19 Le Dai Hanh Street, Ward 3, Da Lat, Vietnam (Formerly BEST WESTERN Dalat Plaza Hotel)
Region: Vietnam > Lam Dong Province > Da Lat
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 80 Hotels in Da Lat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dalat Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dalat Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing