We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel is nice, room is comfortable and clean”
Review of Dalat Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dalat Plaza Hotel
Ranked #36 of 85 Hotels in Da Lat
Reviewed 31 July 2014

My family stayed for two nights. The hotel was a short distance away from Dalat center Market, post office, ATM, Ho Xuan Huong lake.
Hotel is nice, room is comfortable and clean

Best Western Dalat Plaza Hotel, I will come back on next trip.

Room Tip: look to the park outside the windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Kenshin_Nguyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

60 - 66 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

We visited Dalat on a multi-city visit to Vietnam, and we selected the Best Western Dalat Plaza Hotel based on the reputation of the Best Western brand and experience of being Best Western Rewards Platinum members. We were hesitant after reading a few negative reviews, but decided to go ahead and give it a try.

First, the location is excellent! The hotel is located across from the lake and the market area. Shopping and restaurants are just steps away. Local area tourist sites are easily accessible by taxi or hired driver. Breakfast was included, and we ate breakfast daily in the hotel. There was a good variety of Vietnamese and Western-style foods. No complaints with the breakfast food or property location. We considered the menu for lunch and dinner, but due to the many restaurants and food options in the market and the rest of the city, we did not eat anything other than breakfast at the hotel.

Now the negatives. As soon as we walked in we noticed that half the lights in the lobby were not turned on. We discovered the same in the hallways upstairs, and in bathrooms within the guest rooms. It is possible to be a conservation or cost-savings practice, but it was definitely uninviting. We had three rooms reserved for our extended family vacation. We checked in and got keys-actual metal keys-not key cards, to our rooms. The first rooms we accessed all smelled of mold, and we asked for different rooms. These also smelled of mold. There is no air conditioning in this hotel, and to be honest, a/c is not really needed, as the climate is generally cool enough, but they do not have any method of circulating the air, but there is a significant lack of cleaning and maintenance. It appears that the hotel has deferred maintenance as we found mold in the bathrooms, on walls in the guest rooms, even the bedding smelled of mold.

We complained to the hotel staff, and even contacted the regional Best Western offices. The hotel manager apologized, the regional office apologized and promised to follow up. The management brought us some fruit plates, but that was sadly deficient. It would have been more helpful if they sent a housekeeping team armed with some bleach. The smell and stagnant air was unpleasant for some of us, and others in our group actually became ill.

The hotel appears to cater to tourist groups who come in on buses and stay a night or two, and some of these groups were very loud in the hallways at night. The staff was aware, but did not assist.

Although hotel staff had some English fluency, it was limited. We were fortunate to have several in our party who were fluent in Vietnamese to communicate effectively. The hotel was a great disappointment, as our visit to Dalat was delightful in many ways. We definitely plan to return to Dalat in the future, but we will definitely not stay at the Dalat Plaza Hotel unless there is serious renovation and cleaning. This is a real shame because the property is perfectly located for tourists. We strongly recommend that you have a backup reservation at another hotel if you reserve a room at this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask ahead of time if your room is renovated...and good luck. Please consider a back up reservation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank jamelp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

My family stayed here for 4 nights. The room were ok with 2 double beds for family that have childrens. There were no air-conditioned so we had a hard time trying to get some air into the room. Or else you could call the reception for a electric fan. The hotel is quite near the market and Xuan Huong lake, like just 2 mins away. 80$/per night for 4 person was not that expensive. But the breakfast buffet that came long with our room was disappointing with not much choices. And they didnt refill the food!?
It was ok. Not so bad, but not so great either.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Bay X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this best western for 3 nights in May. This motel is across from the bridge in Dalat. The motel is nothing extraordinary. The rooms are not air conditioned. The breakfast was quite ordinary. We hired scooters from a lady that the hotel recommended but it was cheaper directly through her. The hotel staff didn't know much about where to eat and were not very helpful.
The best Western is a world chain but this is a separate business. I recommend this hotel for its location but that's about it. We did not do our research and I am sure there are other hotels that are better.
Thanks
Ronnie.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ranjit s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The Dalat Plaza Hotel was part of the Best Western chain, and it did n't disappoint. It is within walking distance of downtown Dalat, right near the lake. Around the corner is the large Roman Catholic cathedral and the old Palace Hotel is near that. The hotel has clean rooms, and the people at the front desk could hardly have been kinder. The breakfast wasn't particularly attractive; you're much better to get a loaf of french bread and some nutella or jam and laughing cow cheese.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tommytompkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights, and were very disappointed with the rooms. Strong smell of cigarette smoke in all non-smoking floors. Mouldy showers, dingy windows and no a/c. The staff were very helpful however and did try and find us a room that did not smell of smoke.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

stayed for 2 nights in Da Lat and can recommand this hotel! It is situated in the center of the town - walking distance to the main attrations (crazy house, botanic garden, market, cathedral). Like all the hotels I experienced in Vietnam there is free wifi available and staff is very friendly. Here they spoke a quite good English too.
Around the hotel you find lots of restaurants with very different offers from exotic seafood to the familiar small cookshops - especially on your way to the market you'll find a broad choice. For Da Lat is in the mountains you should bring warmer clothes with you.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StefanDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Da Lat hotels
0.1 mi away
Du Parc Hotel Dalat
Du Parc Hotel Dalat
#9 of 85 in Da Lat
551 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ngoc Phat Hotel
Ngoc Phat Hotel
#22 of 85 in Da Lat
55 reviews
1.9 mi away
La Sapinette Hotel Dalat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
TTC Hotel Premium - Ngoc Lan
0.2 mi away
Marguerite Hotel
Marguerite Hotel
#40 of 85 in Da Lat
22 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sammy Dalat Hotel
Sammy Dalat Hotel
#10 of 85 in Da Lat
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalat Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalat Plaza Hotel

Address: 19 Le Dai Hanh Street, Ward 3, Da Lat, Vietnam (Formerly BEST WESTERN Dalat Plaza Hotel)
Region: Vietnam > Lam Dong Province > Da Lat
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 85 Hotels in Da Lat
Price Range: £20 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dalat Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dalat Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing