We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Saphir Dalat Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$84
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$165
US$160
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
US$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$52
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
US$48
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$20
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Dreams Hotel(Da Lat)
US$30
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (127)
Filter reviews
127 results
Traveller rating
26
24
29
27
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
24
29
27
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssoy milkfour poster bedeuropean stylecold weatherbreakfast roombeautiful citythe ownernight marketdalat marketasia
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 127 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Stayed for 3 nights on BB basis. Got a standard room - but it was rather small. Not as many amenities as you'd expect from a hotel at the rate we paid. Breakfast was okay, service average and the cleanliness was good. The decor is reminiscent of a Victorian estate bungalow with nice touches. The hotel had some nice touches with a Soy Milk every evening and a Chicken Broth at 8pm daily which comes complimentary. Note, to anyone who doesnt speak Vietnamese - this hotel is probably not for you cos the staff doesnt speak any English. Probably why the other reviews are pretty bad.

Room Tip: Dont choose a "standard option" / Try the higher floors
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aneek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

First the good, older building, interesting layout and setup, vintage car collection parked throughout.

Then the not so good...
1. Rooms are small
2. No A/C (not by itself a problem) but top part of room windows is a grille so this is the NOISIEST night's sleep I've had for years. Also the quaint elevator is very noisy in the rooms from ~4.30am onwards
3. Sheets and bedding are nylon or polyester. Yuk. For the price this is just not acceptable.
4. The cheapest flimsiest toilet paper I've ever come across
5. Poor English skills at front desk (to be fair most of the clientele was not English speaking)
6. The nice looking Bar;Coffee lounge was closed all the time we were there, so no relaxation option.

I would definitely NOT stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

From the outside you think you are entering French royal quarters......oh but thats where it stops. The staff at the front desk would rather talk on their cell phones than assist you with any questions or help. They all look at you like they are doing you the favor so just stand there, shut up and wait till they are done talking to their friends on the phone. I'm from Canada but speak fluent Vietnamese so I know they are not talking about work related things. The rooms are nice but the walls and doors are made of rice paper. You can hear honking at all hours of the night, people opening and closing doors. The breakfast was actually not bad tasting but the stuff you in the basement to eat it. Feels like having breakfast in a dungeon. There is a coffee bar upstairs with natural light that could serve breakfast since no one goes to the bar at night there anyways. If they moved breakfast up there it wouldn't hurt as much. If you don't go to bed till 3:00 in the morning and enjoy eating in a dungeon than this place is for you!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Spadejunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Being the off season and a walk in got a room for $15.
Well priced and well appointed rooms, with all the mod-cons.
Although some of the rooms overlook the foyer it would be problem if the place ever got busy. Staff were very friendly and helpful.
We'd come again

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fred m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

I booked a superior room via telephone 1 month prior to my visit to Da Lat. The photos and info from the internet (which i found out not long before, are from the hotel staff themselves) blowned me away.

It was extremely disapointing that my room is way to small, just enough to fit one table, one bed and one chair. The TV is not older than my grand parents, no safe, no extra pillows, no pot... I decided to upgrade into a deluxe room (cost extra $25 for 1 night), which is exactly the same with the superior room except for more floor surface and a bath tub. No table, no sofa, nothing.

The bed was small, tough and coarse. But that is nothing compared to the horribly thin walls and ceiling. I could hear every single conversation and foot steps from the family who stayed in the room right above us.

The only good thing about this hotel was the vintage setting in some random areas.. well just not worth it. I'd rather pay $10 for a museum trip than this. They were lucky I paid in full while booking because I regret staying there from the very first moment I arrived.

Well I wouldnt be this mad if the hotel owner is being honest about its state instead claiming that they are a 4 stars hotel to be able to get more money. I wasted $120 for 2 nights, which is extremely over priced for this kind of hotel, or guest house, whatever it should be.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Res-chan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews