We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“dull, sad food and difficult service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nhat Lien

Nhat Lien
Ranked #80 of 255 Restaurants in Da Lat
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“dull, sad food and difficult service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Writing this having just visited and after reading the other reviews I almost can't believe we ate at the same place. To begin with our order of vegetarian spring rolls (nem chay) came out as something completely different, resembling square packages of what I presume was mock beef. The staff seemed to suggest that the other variety of spring rolls on the menu (listed as egg rolls) were the ones we may want. Bizarre as I have ordered spring rolls all over Vietnam and the world and have never seen anything like that before.

It goes on, the tofu lemongrass chilli dish that so impressed other reviewers was served sans sauce and made for one of the driest dishes I've eaten. The salted mock fish rice was bland and uninspired, where the necessity to appropriate meat dishes and serve them vegie style comes from confuses me. What happened to utilising good ingredients instead like so many fantastic vegetarian Indian dishes do so well? The sauteed greens and mushrooms was fine but there hardly room for error there.

Yes the decor is lovely and the staff do try. however after having tried these and a couple other dishes I could not recommend this restaurant, in fact, I'd instruct you to avoid this place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BenjaminAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    11
    2
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Definitely worth the visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

I'm not vegetarian but reading reviews I decided to try this one out. I dragged 2 reluctant dedicated meat eating relatives as well, and we were all pleasantly surprised.

The owner, Nathan, was there making sure everything was running smoothly and that we were being looked after. He helped us select dishes from the menu, and we ended up with a tasty variety.

The restaurant has interesting art/artifacts around the place, nice tables, and with the great food we had an overall very positive experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GoneWandering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Ireland, Papua New Guinea
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Truly a bad experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

We had read about this place and really wanted to try out some veggie food. The service Food is quite slow for Vietnam and lacks finesse. Atmosphere too isn't great and lots of local on phone in the restaurant during your meal. In the end we left as they didn't seem overly bothered I've ate or not! I have to say, that this has been the only place were we have had a bad service experience, so good luck to those who go,as obviously many people have managed to enjoy the food here.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank bamboo n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binghamton, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“one of the best meals in Vietnam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stopped here after visiting crazy house because of all the good reviews we had read. We were not disappointed. They gave us a huge pot of tea for free, the staff is very nice (offered to take pictures of us), owner speaks perfect English and is willing to answer any questions. The menu is large and very cheap. We ordered the tofu fried in lemongrass, Indian rice in a clay pot, and spring rolls. All were fantastic. Probably the best Indian flavors I've had since leaving the states, and that was the only Indian dish on their menu. Cute decorated place, with three black birds out front that make some interesting calls. Highly recommend this restaurant when visiting Dalat. Crazy house is a must do as well, directly down the street.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tara k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

This restaurant is on the same street as the Crazy House, so we made a point to stop in. The grounds of the restaurant are really nice and very pretty and inviting. A huge pot of tea was given to us as soon as we were seated, and the owner came to take our order. He speaks perfect English, my guess is he spent some significant time in the US or Canada. He was really friendly and helpful; when I ordered pho he told me it wasn't their specialty and suggested another soup on the menu that was just phenomenal. We also ordered chili lemongrass tofu and spring rolls. Everything was really delicious; it was one of our favorite meals in all of Vietnam.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank lindayolid00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nhat Lien also viewed

Da Lat, Lam Dong Province
Da Lat, Lam Dong Province
 
Da Lat, Lam Dong Province
Da Lat, Lam Dong Province
 

Been to Nhat Lien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing