We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful old (but expensive) hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dalat Palace Heritage Hotel
Ranked #48 of 86 Hotels in Da Lat
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We stayed at the Dalat Palace for three days at the beginning of September. The hotel is situated on top of a hill overlooking the lake--a beautiful spot. The hotel looks like something you would expect from the grand hotels of the past.

The service is excellent, and they always have someone on hand to assist you with whatever you need. The breakfast is wonderful, and you can dine on the terrace with a view of the lake. There are fried eggs on the breakfast buffet, but they will make you any style upon request.

Some previous reviewers complained about the retro-fitted shower that flooded the bathroom. In our room, that problem seemed to have been rectified, as they have put up some partial glass walls around the tub and a floor guard to prevent the water from spreading to the entire bathroom.

Everything in the hotel really is five star, but at times the hotel felt a little big and empty. If you go to Larry's Bar in the basement, you are usually are there alone. I imagine you would dine alone as well, as the set menu was around $75/person. I think the hotel might attract more visitors and feel a little warmer if the prices were lowered somewhat. At around $200/night, I would have a hard time justifying staying here again with so many other affordable choices in Da Lat. That being said, we did have a wonderful time in Da Lat, and our stay here was lovely.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruisenor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

145 - 151 of 273 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2013

I have ever been to a more wonderful and grand hotel. The grounds are beautiful, the view is amazing, the building is stunning and the rooms were just wonderful. I highly recommend this for anyone that once a touch of luxury on their holiday. It has a very old world 1920's feel, but in perfect condition. The beds were firm, but not like the typical hard beds in Asia. The pillows were incredibly comfortable, I wish I had gotten the brand name so I can buy some! The furnishings are lovely. The ensuite is just beautiful and luxurious. Breakfast was delicious also. I felt like royalty here and only wish I could have stayed longer. You will not regret staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HannnahF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

A Beautiful Old Hotel, with a fun and comfortable Bar in the basement.... You will enjoy your visit, it's well worth the trip... Dinning in the large stately dinning rooms is a exciting pleasure... The View from the front of the hotel will Ahaa you... Loooking out on the lake...

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BobZ9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

a very nice restful vacation
the golf course just nearby was a very nice course with great sceneries matched with a very cool climate. The hangouts at the lakeside was relaxing as well. The place is perfect for honeymooners as it is a romantic spots with plenty of colorful and beautiful flowers. A visit to other parts of the lake nd forest reservations makes you want to stay for extended period of time.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank volviven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Our recent stay in the Dalat Palace Hotel was amazing. The grandeure of this beautiful old hotel was very special. The staff were attentive and very helpful. The rooms are huge and fitted out with beautiful old furnishings, and a wonderfully comfortable bed with crisp linen. The claw foot bath sumptuous. The restaurant served delicious French food, just the breakfast had little variety. Our golf package executed perfectly. A great weekend all round.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank happytravellers444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

This hotel was certainly grand in its day but unfortunately really needs an upgrade now and it certainly should not be recognised as a 5 star establishment. I recognise the need to retain its french colonial heritage but some modernisation in guest rooms is necessary. Perhaps they should visit both the Saigon Morin Hotel, Hue and theSofitel Legend Metropole Hotel, Hanoi, as both these hotels are of colonial heritage and have modern guest rooms and bathrooms, and elevators. On the plus side, it has a panoramic view to Xuan Huong Lake and that in itself is one of the must see places in Dalat.
The time we stayed it was dry season and it rained in the afternoon and evening, the rooms do not have ac and due to the Mosquitos you have to keep windows shut. Our room had a very noisy fan but this only moved the humid air around the room, it was hot trying to sleep. The pillows supplied were very soft and there were no other choices.
There are no showers in the luxury suites, only a a 1930's style claw foot bathtub holding a hand shower, however water floods the bathroom when trying to wash with this hand held shower in the bath, not sure that the water outlet of the bath was connected properly. Couldn't even get to the toilet without getting feet wet.
The digital clock in the room was very old and didn't work, so impossible to know the time or set an alarm
Our room was on the second floor and the stairs become a very tireing, there is no elevator. Our room also faced a main highway and the convergence of 4 roads the consequence that it was very noisy all night from trucks, cars and motorbikes using this road and the incesant use of their horns. Very disturbed sleep.
The main Le Rabelais Restaurant is very expensive for a family with children to eat there. The alternative bistro style restaurant, Le Cafe De La Poste is outside the Hotel 2-3 minute walk away and impossible to get to when its raining. For dinner we decided to eat in-room and ordered a Pizza which arrived quickly in about 20 minutes. One pizza on a tray with a knife and fork only, no plates for three of us, so we had to resort to trying to eat off two saucers as the pizza crust was very thin, impossible to eat it in our fingers as it just collapsed. Also there was no milk for the tea or coffee in the room.
Thw welcome letter warned about closing windows at night and that there were Mosquitoe plugs in the room that could be turned on, searched our room for these to no avail, only supplied when we requested from reception.
Staff speak limited English so difficult to communicate.
The breakfast buffet was adequate, eggs made to order but no bread toaster, small heating oven to warm bread and croissants only.
Certaily not a 5 star hotel by any means imaginable, have stayed in 3 star hotels of better quality.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tasmanian_Peccadillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Really great! It has a panoramic view to Xuan Huong Lake and it self is one of the must-see places in Da Lat. It is very near the Cathedral, Parks, just 10 walking minutes from hotel. The staff very friendly. Nothing to claim about it!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mervyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Da Lat hotels
0.1 mi away
Du Parc Hotel Dalat
Du Parc Hotel Dalat
#10 of 86 in Da Lat
559 reviews
3.8 mi away
Binh An Village Dalat
Binh An Village Dalat
#15 of 86 in Da Lat
49 reviews
0.3 mi away
TTC Hotel Premium - Ngoc Lan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Villa Vista Hotel
Villa Vista Hotel
#2 of 86 in Da Lat
142 reviews
0.8 mi away
Saigon -  Dalat
Saigon - Dalat
#12 of 86 in Da Lat
268 reviews
1.7 mi away
La Sapinette Hotel Dalat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalat Palace Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalat Palace Heritage Hotel

Address: 2 Tran Phu Street, Ward 3, Da Lat, Vietnam (Formerly Sofitel Dalat Palace)
Region: Vietnam > Lam Dong Province > Da Lat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Da Lat
#4 Romantic Hotel in Da Lat
#11 Luxury Hotel in Da Lat
#11 Spa Hotel in Da Lat
Price Range: £98 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dalat Palace Heritage Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Dalat stands a remarkable residential address – Dalat Palace. Built in the early part of the last century, in 1922, Dalat Palace offers luxurious elegance, gracious service and French colonial charm.The Hotel is located right in the city centre, within walking distance of the Dalat Market, shops, restaurants and tourist attractions. It is 30 minutes drive from Lien Khuong Airport.43 rooms of elegant colonial style feature ornate furnishings, wood floors, floor-to-ceiling French doors, chandeliers, cast iron bathtub, a working fireplace, luxurious bathroom amenities and high-speed Internet access. Each room offers a Xuan Huong lake view or Dalat Cathedral view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dalat Palace Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Dalat Palace
Sofitel Dalat
Dalat Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing