We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different Style of Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dalat Palace Heritage Hotel
Ranked #10 of 74 Hotels in Da Lat
Certificate of Excellence
Aude, France
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Different Style of Hotel”
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Dalat is one of the most beautiful cities we have ever come across in South East Asia, and it was a joy simply to be there, the fact that it was during the Tet celebrations just increased our enjoyment.

The Palace Hotel dominates the lakeside, and we have no doubts that it is something special. If you are looking for an international clone, then it is certainly not that. In fact, you can go through the list and it doesn’t fit into any category.

Almost Art Deco on the outside, with superb views across their gardens and the lake, the interior is straight out of early 20th century Versailles, reinforced by all the (rather poor) copies of French painting on the walls. Reception and public rooms are dark wood, quiet and attractive in their own way, the rooms something from the last century (I wonder if they still light the open fire in the room, or if “Elf & Safety” has reached even this outpost). The bathrooms almost defy description and do not meet any of the current demands, poor lighting, a shower that puts more water on the floor than in the bath, and decor out of an old film.

All in all, a throw-back - and we loved it.

Remember we were there on vacation, so were looking to enjoy our experiences, and this was certainly one of them. The staff were superb, the room extremely comfortable, and, an almost impossible ask in many parts of Vietnam, extremely quiet, although we didn’t have a lake view, a pity as it meant we missed the New Year’s Eve firework display over the lake.

It was within easy walk of Dalat centre, and the lake, and we had a pleasant interlude sitting on one of the recliners in front of the hotel, enjoying tea and ice cream.

Due to it being New Year’s Eve, we ate one night in the hotel. Horrendously expensive for Vietnam, but a reasonable choice, both for the food and winelist, well served and very tasty.

The only less than superb part was the breakfast, which was not up to the standard we experienced in other hotels in the country, with a small choice and less than rapid service, but that may simply be down to the time of year, and the low occupancy level.

In conclusion, the Palace was an extremely enjoyable experience for us, but I can understand the frustrations of some of the previous reviewers who were obviously looking for something less eccentric in an hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank briangb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    74
    35
    15
    6
See reviews for
42
103
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Bamberg, Germany
Level Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We stayed in this hotel only one night on our tour through whole Vietnam during Lunar New Year.
There was great regret when entering the room, that we could only stay here for one night.
The view is fantastic, the rooms are big, have high walls and the beds are comfortable. When seeing the furniture, bathroom and telephone you feel set back into time. While having a hub phone on the desk, the Wi-Fi connection in the room and around the hotel is fast and quick to connect.

People in the hotel were generally quite friendly and tried to help whenever they could.

The breakfast buffet was also very rich and had any thing you would need for breakfast, as an Asian visitor or as a Western visitor.

The price for the room was relatively high for Vietnam, however normal for a 5 star hotel.

One thing where I felt the style of the French Colony was followed too strictly, was in the bathroom. The shower place was a bathtub, which however did not have any things to completely cover the tub when showering, so when not being too careful the whole bath was flooded.

The rooms did not include any air conditioning, if you like it really cold (20 º cold) during the summer, however because of the high walls and the good building structure you do not really need an AC in the room. The temperature stays constant at a comfortable room temperature around 24º C.

Room Tip: Choose the room facing the lake side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lulu10007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We spent one night at the sumptuous Palace Hotel, as a bit of a luxurious treat after staying in $20/night hotels everywhere else in Vietnam. I am often skeptical about the true value for money of 5-star, exorbitantly expensive hotels, but the Palace Hotel seemed to defy expectations.
The defining characteristic of the Palace hotel, in comparison to other equally-starred establishments, is the feeling of genuine heritage. Almost everything about the hotel harks back to its glory days in a French high-altitude retreat.
It is located in the centre of Dalat, with views over the lake. About a ten minute walk from the Dalat markets (highly recommended) and the central city.
The beautiful wooden furniture was—if not original, then—very tastefully styled, as was the bathroom with its delicate ceramics, and brass fittings. The service was impeccable, and the amenities well-provisioned; our continental breakfast, while (of course) overpriced, was delicious and substantial; the linen provided was clean, rich, and comfortable.
The library was a highlight, while it did not contain many books, it was a comfortable place to read and ponder, as was Larry's Bar with it's informal feel and possibly the smallest pool table I have ever seen in my life. Shame it was so deserted—we were the only people in there (that was mostly the case in every bar we went to in Dalat).
We did not try the lauded Rabelais restaurant. It does not seem to offer any vegetarian options, and to be honest, I don't really enjoy the overly rich haute cuisine served in such places.
Also, just in passing, WiFi in our room was patchy, at best. Better access can be found in the lobby or business centre.
Overall, a nice stay. Would recommend to those who are fond of luxury, and interested by the hotel's (and Dalat's) history.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Olliex3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
211 reviews
205 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

This hotel has been around for almost a hundred years but its original beauty and glorious past seems to be well maintained and kept up by the current management team! All rooms are furnished with the original furniture and fixtures...up to the shower head! They're all positioned such that each of them has the best view of the Xuan Huong lake below or the surrounding resort town! From the hotel, it's a short 10 or 15 minute leisure walk to Dalat central market or the French Indochina governor mansion. The service has been as good as ever and the staff try their best to make sure the guest has the most comfortable and pleasant stay possible. Staying at this hotel, you would enjoy the history that comes with it as much as the art works and all the mahogany furniture left over from the French colonial past!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathantran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

This place is not cheap by Vietnam standards but it is old world luxury through and through. The French restaurant is excellent though again pretty expensive but if you are in Dalat and want to splash out you have to try it. Worth coming up for lunch or drinks just to have a look around.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sparklehorse68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Excellent location, meters from the Ho Xuan Huong lake. The breakfast was very nice and the private dining room was a nice setting. Good memories from the Palace Hotel. Da Lat is famous for its dried flowers, these make a very nice gift that can last up to 5 years.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donger9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

There comes a time when a building moves from being functional to being a museum if it is not kept updated, regretfully, this is what has happened to this stunning building. The building itself is stunning but no longer fit to be a 5 Star hotel.

We stayed here for 2 nights on the 1st December. This hotel has no heating or air conditioning. Which is not really an issue, normally. However, our room had a window next to the bed and it was very windy outside. The curtains were blowing so hard they were moving 10 -12inches blowing wind across the bed. We window has a 2 inch gap between the upper and lower case which allowed the wind to blow in, it also allowed the continues blasting of horns all night constantly from the very busy junction close by. For people not used to Vietmanies driving, you honk your horn when ever you pass another vehicle or pedestrian, so noise almost 24/7

The room door has a 4 inch gap which does nothing to help the noise of people walking up the hardwood floor outside complete with the moving floorboards.

The bathrooms are a complete joke with fittings so outdated they no longer function. Their are no showers in this hotel. The bath tub has a spray head which could be used as a shower but you end up filling the bathroom floor with water as it is a roll top tub open 360 degrees with only a curtain to cover the front.

Breakfast is dreadful with cold coffee, cheap selection of cuts and very poor selection and grossly over priced and manned by staff who are more interested in calling you Sir and not looking at you, than providing a service.

I forgot to mention, the pillows all have a bad smell. We asked for them to be replaced and they had the same sweaty head smell...yuk

We have spent 6 weeks in hotels in Vietnam and this was the most expensive per night and thought it would be a treat, how long we were. We have stayed in hotels half the price which were cleaner and more functionable than this hotel.

It really needs to closed as a hotel and made into a museum

Currently, putting the history of the building to one side and basing my rating on it being a hotel, it would certainly be pushing it to maintain 2 stars

Room Tip: Choose another hotel. This is a museum with un functional rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stewartwebr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Da Lat hotels
0.1 mi away
Du Parc Hotel Dalat
Du Parc Hotel Dalat
#7 of 74 in Da Lat
519 reviews
0.8 mi away
Saigon -  Dalat
Saigon - Dalat
#14 of 74 in Da Lat
244 reviews
1.4 mi away
ZEN Valley Dalat
ZEN Valley Dalat
#6 of 74 in Da Lat
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Villa Vista Hotel
Villa Vista Hotel
#2 of 74 in Da Lat
122 reviews
3.8 mi away
Binh An Village Dalat
Binh An Village Dalat
#17 of 74 in Da Lat
38 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dreams Hotel
Dreams Hotel
#1 of 74 in Da Lat
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalat Palace Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalat Palace Heritage Hotel

Property: Dalat Palace Heritage Hotel
Address: 2 Tran Phu Street, Ward 3, Da Lat, Vietnam (Formerly Sofitel Dalat Palace)
Region: Vietnam > Lam Dong Province > Da Lat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Da Lat
#4 Family Hotel in Da Lat
#4 Romantic Hotel in Da Lat
#5 Spa Hotel in Da Lat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Dalat Palace Heritage Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Dalat stands a remarkable residential address – Dalat Palace. Built in the early part of the last century, in 1922, Dalat Palace offers luxurious elegance, gracious service and French colonial charm.The Hotel is located right in the city centre, within walking distance of the Dalat Market, shops, restaurants and tourist attractions. It is 30 minutes drive from Lien Khuong Airport.43 rooms of elegant colonial style feature ornate furnishings, wood floors, floor-to-ceiling French doors, chandeliers, cast iron bathtub, a working fireplace, luxurious bathroom amenities and high-speed Internet access. Each room offers a Xuan Huong lake view or Dalat Cathedral view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dalat Palace Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Dalat Palace
Sofitel Dalat
Dalat Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing