We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Living modern in the past” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dalat Palace Heritage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dalat Palace Heritage Hotel
Ranked #9 of 73 Hotels in Da Lat
Certificate of Excellence
Western Md
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Living modern in the past”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

What fun to stay in this marvelous hotel. The fabulous old elevator, the wide lobby, the furniture, all take us back to colonial days. How nice to couple this with relatively modern facilities. Staff is cordial and helpful. Hotel is well situTed for walking throughout Dalat and has a lovely setting on a hill. Don't miss the nearby Crazy. House.

Room Tip: Front rooms show off a lovely view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barba753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tram Anh N, Public Relations Manager at Dalat Palace Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thank you for your nice feedback on your recent stay at Dalat Palace Luxury Hotel & Golf Club. We are delighted to know that you were totally satisfied with the hotel location, facilities and the services rendered by our staff.

It will be our great pleasure to welcome you back in the future.

With warmest regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    74
    35
    15
    6
See reviews for
42
103
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Having had a look at some of the other reviews I was expecting a lot less than what we encountered.

First of all - Da Lat - I love this place. No wonder people came here for summer. The French have left a really positive legacy around here. It is a picture.

The approach is impressive - easily the premier piece of Real Estate in Da Lat - Art Deco exterior and French Colonial interior of the style (of which there is heaps) of the turn of the 19th / 20th century.

So if you want modern glass tiled floors stainless steel plumbing and bling this is probably not the place for you.

It is a bit like a London Club only French themed, there are women and the premises are bigger. Olde Worldy - high ceilings long wide internal corridors. While the knock off Toulouse LeTrec style paintings may not be everyone's cup of tea I thought it appropriate. The presence of a large Budhist altar in the foyer didn't faze me one bit - this is Vietnam after all.

The climate is a relief after the hot and steamy lowlands so while there is no aircon you don't really need it. While we were here it rained hard like clockwork every day at mid day for about an hour so don't plan on being out and about at that time or you'll get wet.

From our perspective the Hotel was wonderful. Having changed our booking from a budget hotel with nylon sheets we were going to be easily pleased, but this exceeded all of our expectations in spades. ('We' are a party of 12)

It oozes serene understated class. From breakfast on the balcony taking in the superb views, to the quaint bathrooms with original plumbing fittings (ours worked fine by the way) to the ground floor gym, the regal dining room - we loved this to bits. There were 50 or so people staying here at the time (we were a party of 12 so we did bulk up the numbers).

Larry's Bar is intriguing - as is the history of the hotel and his role in it. It is less the style of a British pub and more like a German cellar bar.

The outlook from the front rooms is stunning - right across the Lake.

Breakfast was excellent - price was inclusive in our rate. The balcony is superb - just the way to start the day. Orders for eggs are taken and prepared in the kitchen rather than at an omelette bar as is more often the case.

There is a great little cafe on the street behind the hotel that is owned by it - ideal for snacks lunch and we dined there as well. It is on a corner facing the Hotel du Parc.

Location - best of both worlds. The view is the best in town. An easy walk to the town centre - the flower markets are really worth a look.

There are no elevators so if you are 2nd floor and above it's a hike. There are goods lifts - I am sure you can sneak a ride if you really need to.

So if you are something of an aesthsetic have a sense of history, appreciate a bit of rustic olde worlde elegance , like a wonderful view and like the retro look book here with no hesitation.

Room Tip: Get a front room on the first floor. Great view and fewer stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tram Anh N, Public Relations Manager at Dalat Palace Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for taking your time to share your experience during your stay at Dalat Palace Luxury Hotel. We are pleased to know that you were totally satisfied with our hotel, from its architecture, location to the services.

We strive to provide a luxurious service experience for every customer at the Dalat Palace, so your feedback is very important to us and highly appreciated.

We look forward to having you as our guest again in the future.

With warmest regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambria, California
Level Contributor
112 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

If you are a history buff, you will want to stay at this property near the city center in Da Lat. Like politicians everywhere, French and Vietminh officials chose a resort city to conduct their (unsuccessful) negotiations over Vietnam's future. This is a beautiful hotel, restored with an American's wealth to replicate the colonial period. Rooms are spacious, many with views over the lake and surrounding hills. Staff are semi-formal but very attentive. Dining is superb, both with respect to quality of food and ambience. Because Da Lat was "off limits" to fighting during both the French and American Wars, the hotel and other villas around town are little-changed from when they were built.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cambriariter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tram Anh N, Public Relations Manager at Dalat Palace Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Dalat Palace Luxury Hotel & Golf Club. We are pleased to hear that you were totally satisfied with your stay with us.

We strive to provide a superior service for every customer at the Dalat Palace Hotel, so your feedback is very important to us and highly appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warmest regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
797 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 394 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

We checked in coming from Nha Trang in the early afternoon. No smiles, very little English and other than a military conference going on in the conference centre - very few guests. The room was on the second floor and when I asked for a room on the first floor because I have difficulty climbing stairs, I was told that the hotel was full and there were no rooms available - which was an untruth to avoid them rearranging the paperwork. The girls behind the reception desk were very snooty and didn't once come out from behind it There was a general feeling of indifference to guest relations. The room was a good size full of antique furniture with a view of Duparc Hotel Dalat. This is where we should have stayed, and if we hadn't pre-paid we would have moved to that hotel. (People we met during our stay in Dalat were staying there and were very complimentary of the hotel.)

The bathroom has to be seen to be believed and another reviewer has included some photographs on the fittings. Hot water is a problem and we had to run the water for a full 15 minutes before any hot water came out for a shower. This is just what you want when rushing to keep an appointment or catch a plane.

Another reviewer had also mentioned the long stairways between floors because of the high ceilings but we were not offered the use of the goods lift. The room we were allocated had paint peeling off the walls and there were bad water stains on one of the walls.

Breakfast was adequate (I rarely eat a full breakfast) but nowhere near normal 5 start hotels like the Sheraton have on offer. This is not a 5 star hotel and barely gets over the 3 star rating. Based on the prices quoted for lunch or dinner, the hotel seems to think that it is on a par with The Ritz in London by comparison with other Vietnamese establishments. Luckily, there are a few normal priced restaurants in the vicinity. I can see why the Sofitel Group has deleted it from their stable of hotels.

The hotel looks impressive, but it is one of the most unwelcoming and uncomfortable hotels we have stayed in. It is like staying in a museum after all the staff have gone home for the night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AntarcticBound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tram Anh N, Public Relations Manager at Dalat Palace Heritage Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Dalat Palace Luxury Hotel & Golf Club. We are very sorry that most of your experiences did not meet your expectation, please allow us to express our sincerest apologies.

We strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer at the Dalat Palace Hotel, however, I have to admit that the unfortunate incidents you encountered during your stay reflect some weaknesses we do have to correct.

We are very sorry that you did not feel welcome by our receptionist and your request to change the room were not taken care of. Kindly understand that these were not our usual practice. Our Front Office Manager was made aware of your feedback and he will take immediate action to improve this aspect.

As you know that our hotel is a historical hotel which was built in 1922, it has some limitations that modern hotels do not have. Our Management does have plans to renovate the hotel and improve its facilities, especially those in the bathroom. However, we are totally agree with you that the problem with the hot water was unacceptable. Our Housekeeping Department was informed of this matter and they will fix it immediately to make sure this will definitely not happen in the future.

We can not change what happened and we apologize once again for that. We greatly appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

With warmest regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

This is a beautiful colonial building with great rooms and helpful friendly staff. The location is great with views over the lake. Our only criticism was that breakfast (additional cost) was very poor value for the high charge involved.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room with a balcony overlooking the lake - good value for the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

The Dalat Palace Luxury Hotel is, on many levels, lovely. All those original or replica fittings, together with the old Citroen in the forecourt, are lovely touches. The restaurant boasts a high tea (330,000 d) every afternoon which was, however, a disappointment. Tea in tea bags.... Yep, I can manage leaf tea at home), the lovely little selection of crust free sandwiches unfortunately toasted (and brought out about twenty minutes after the tea); and only a few of them. The little cakes were a delight, but the nine or ten of them were too much - more (untoasted) sandwiches would have been better, or perhaps a bit of a choice). then the 'traditional Vietnamese scones'(1 per person) with pre sweetened possibly mock cream, with a single strawberry, was a disappointment. When we asked for more tea (the long delay between tea and cakes was thirsty work) we got our tea pots refilled but with the same Dilmah bags.

Ah well, the ambience was fine, but at the price we did expect something a little more in keeping.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Jang53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Third hotel we stayed at on this Vietnam vacation. I have always wanted to stay here so I was really looking forward to the hotel. I booked a deluxe room with balcony through Qantas travel and the hotel gave me the best deluxe room they had. Great views straight down to Xuan Huong lake overlooking the gardens. The room was spacious, clean and furnished French colonial style. Good all around and a large balcony to enjoy a drink or two.

Room was well serviced and breakfast most enjoyable. Wine was a bit pricey though for the quality if drunk by the glass.

You must visit the library and check out all the whole hotel to enjoy the atmosphere. Great architecture, beautiful paintings and furniture. Don't forget larry's bar as this is a great place to enjoy a drink.

While not a regular golfer, I did sneak a round in at the golf course. Fantastic course, great caddie and really enjoyed this excursion. Strongly recommend you have a round of golf if you have the time.

Only comment is while this is a five star hotel and charges a five star price, it does not provide five star service. Reception staff could be more engaging with guests by asking if they need any help, etc. This cannot compare with other five star hotels in Ho Chi Minh city such as the Park Hyaat, Caravelle, Asiana Intercontinental, Sheraton, etc.

Also, not sure why there is large buddha statue in the lobby? Does not relate to the French Style.

Room Tip: Book a deluxe room with balcony if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VietnamLoverCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Da Lat hotels
0.1 mi away
Du Parc Hotel Dalat
Du Parc Hotel Dalat
#7 of 73 in Da Lat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
1.4 mi away
ZEN Valley Dalat
ZEN Valley Dalat
#6 of 73 in Da Lat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.8 mi away
Saigon -  Dalat
Saigon - Dalat
#12 of 73 in Da Lat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Binh An Village Dalat
Binh An Village Dalat
#16 of 73 in Da Lat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villa Vista Hotel
Villa Vista Hotel
#2 of 73 in Da Lat
5.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.3 mi away
TTC Hotel Premium - Ngoc Lan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalat Palace Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalat Palace Heritage Hotel

Property: Dalat Palace Heritage Hotel
Address: 2 Tran Phu Street, Ward 3, Da Lat, Vietnam (Formerly Sofitel Dalat Palace)
Region: Vietnam > Lam Dong Province > Da Lat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Da Lat
#4 Family Hotel in Da Lat
#4 Romantic Hotel in Da Lat
#4 Spa Hotel in Da Lat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Dalat Palace Heritage Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Dalat stands a remarkable residential address – Dalat Palace. Built in the early part of the last century, in 1922, Dalat Palace offers luxurious elegance, gracious service and French colonial charm.The Hotel is located right in the city centre, within walking distance of the Dalat Market, shops, restaurants and tourist attractions. It is 30 minutes drive from Lien Khuong Airport.43 rooms of elegant colonial style feature ornate furnishings, wood floors, floor-to-ceiling French doors, chandeliers, cast iron bathtub, a working fireplace, luxurious bathroom amenities and high-speed Internet access. Each room offers a Xuan Huong lake view or Dalat Cathedral view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your Dalat Palace Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Dalat Palace
Sofitel Dalat
Dalat Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing