We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grotesque Must-See in Da Lat but not recommended for staying”
Review of Crazy House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crazy House
Ranked #4 of 285 Da Lat B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Grotesque Must-See in Da Lat but not recommended for staying”
Reviewed 15 April 2012

When I tried to make a reservation for this hotel thru a local agency, he emailed me with his own feelings of this hotel as below;

"Grotesque rooms. Dirty with so many visitors. Dangerous for kids. Few staying there."

'Grotesque'... that is what attracted me to like to stay there with my wife and 2 kids, but 'dagerous'... that is why I changed my mind to stay in other 4-star hotel in Da Lat downtown, which was one of the best decision ever I made during stay in Da Lat.

Interesting and even funny to visit and look around and very unique in Da Lat city, but bad for staying over night.

Rooms are dirty and smell varnished. Bed sheets seem dampish. Considering the Da Lat temperature, I feel like at night it might be chilly and it would be easy to catch a cold.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Seung_Min,Paek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    91
    44
    14
    12
See reviews for
56
124
22
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We are a mature couple and stayed at the Crazy House for one night. Having read reviews we knew what we were letting ourselves in for but the place is much bigger and more amazing than we imagined. Ok the room was not exactly large ( we had the bamboo room ) but the bed was comfy and there was a mirror on the ceiling! There was a wooden bench and a coffee table laid out with tea for us.The bathroom was quite large - more like a wet room. The breakfast was two fried eggs plus fruit and bread. So you dont get a safe, a TV, a bath, egyptian cotton sheets etc. If you want all that go to a 'normal' hotel. But if you want a unique quirky experience go to the Crazy House.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank forevatravellin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Im curious how many people really stay in the hotel as the rooms dont look extremly clean, but definitly a must see day trip.
Difficult to describe. Its a unique maze of stairways and rooms. You have a great view of the city. If the sun shines like when we went, its not creapy at all, but some dark clouths or your own imagination may make it a different experience :-

Entrance is 35k dong, and besides the ceazy architecture there are some shops ( with the usual souvenirs) and you can enjoy a vietnamese coffee for 20k dong.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DutchGirl80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We just visited the crazy house without staying the night. It makes for a couple of hours of strange buildings and yes, crazy rooms. It is easy to get ost since the complex is huge and is being expanded at the moment. From the top you have a nice view over Dalat.

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Calle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We stayed at the Crazy House Guesthouse for 2 nights. For the quality of the accommodation and facilities it is fairly expensive for Dalat and there are better options for lesser cost. I wouldn't bother staying there again, as the beds were rather dusty, the pillows were ancient, the blankets didn't fit over the entire bed and the sheets were torn. Very little hot water was available in the bathroom so having a shower was a very quick event. Unlike every other place we stayed at in Vietnam, there was no bottled water provided, although a flask of hot water and some herbal tea was left in our room upon arrival. Breakfast was fine and the staff were very helpful in assisting us with tours.

While you are paying for a unique experience - it's like being in a hobbit hole - you would probably be just as well off coming here for a visit and staying somewhere more comfortable. It is also located a little out of the town centre, so unless you are up for a 20 minute walk to get to the tourist attractions in the middle of the town (the lake, flower garden, central market, etc) you will need to grab a cab.

The Crazy House is well worth a visit for its completely over the top weirdness. It is an amazing place and great fun.

Room Tip: If you have any difficulty climbing stairs, I would not recommend anything other than the termite ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lyn057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

A very interesting house to visit, quite incredible. However don't bother staying for the experience of staying overnight - very dusty, beds are a bit grim and feel like they've been sweated on. This place could still keep it's wierd and wonderful air and upgrade with new bathrooms and it wouldn't ruin it.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CBtravellerB430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
470 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2011

This is also called The Crazy House. A quirky hotel of sorts with rooms reminiscent of a childhood fairytale. Each room has a different theme and access by funky stairs through tunnels and over little bridges. Can't comment on the residential experience but it worth a little visit.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScambusterSZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Da Lat hotels
0.6 mi away
Du Parc Hotel Dalat
Du Parc Hotel Dalat
#7 of 77 in Da Lat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
2.0 mi away
ZEN Valley Dalat
ZEN Valley Dalat
#6 of 77 in Da Lat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
3.4 mi away
Binh An Village Dalat
Binh An Village Dalat
#16 of 77 in Da Lat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tulip Hotel
Tulip Hotel
#5 of 77 in Da Lat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Vista Hotel
Villa Vista Hotel
#2 of 77 in Da Lat
5.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hong Mon Villa
Hong Mon Villa
#22 of 77 in Da Lat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crazy House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crazy House

Property: Crazy House
Address: 03 Huynh Thuc Khang St, Ward 4, Da Lat, Vietnam (Formerly Hang Nga Guesthouse)
Region: Vietnam > Lam Dong Province > Da Lat
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 285 B&Bs / Inns in Da Lat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Crazy House 1.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crazy House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hang Nga Guesthouse Hotel Dalat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing