We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Living in a fairy-tale.”
Review of Crazy House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crazy House
Ranked #2 of 319 Da Lat B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tomsk, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Living in a fairy-tale.”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Stayed in the hotel for 3 days. Wanted to try as much rooms as it was possble - so changed rooms everyday - as a result 3 rooms visited.
The first was "honeymoon room" which is a detached building and that's why it was really noisy though no complaints - we knew what we were chosing.
The other two rooms were in the main building - less tourists trying to break in.
The beauty and amazingness of the hotel can be seen at the pictures: i see no need to axplain it again. The only thing i want to express is - to visit it as a museum would be definitely NOT enough. To feel the fairy-tale and yourself as a princess (or a prince) you should spend at least one night in this unbelievable place. Please relax and set free a child inside yourself.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anastassia_Sokovets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    92
    45
    14
    12
See reviews for
57
127
23
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This place is certainly interesting and I felt like I was in a Tim burton movie! The hotel staff are all helpful and friendly. However when we arrived the room we had booked was under construction so we were given a different one. Unfortunately the room we stayed in, which was the tiger room,was not very clean and I found it to be too dark and dingy for my liking. I can't comment on what the other rooms are like but it didn't feel comfortable at all. Also not such a great place to sleep! There were weird sounds from outside that kept us awake all night. And then in the morning lots of tourists start to arrive so it's not a great place to stay if you want a bit of a lie in. The staff were great though and allowed us to cancel our booking to one night as we didn't want to stay any longer. For what you get it is really overpriced and not worth it but certainly worth a just a quick visit to see the quirky design.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abisamra27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This place has real character, it felt like Alice in wonderland, we were surprised there were rooms available as it is probably the busiest tourist attraction in dalat! We arrived in the afternoon just as they were closing for visitors and the staff were so kind and helpful giving us a private tour around the whole building. The rooms are fabulous, mirrors on the ceiling and log fires come as standard. I imagine it is slightly inconvenient to have bus loads of tourists walking around trying to peek in your room but we were up early and out all day touring dalat on scooters. The hotel arranged these and also our onward travel the following day.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade - we were surprised to be offered the honeymoon suite for the same price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markman67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

Found this difficult to score as visited it as a tourist sight, not a guest house to stay in. Unfortunately we were disappointed with our experience due to all the construction going on (Wednesday 19 March) - felt like we were walking round a building site most of the time! Think it will be worth a look when that building work has finished, and if you can have the peace and space to walk around when there aren't any tour groups visiting...

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hils5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 6 Contributor
1,099 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 714 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I loved the house from the first minute! I came in the late afternoon, so the last visitors were leaving and the house was left almost alone for me to research all the wired, fantastic places. That, you can do only if you stay there overnight, as during the opening hours there are just too many people to admire the masterpiece in peace.. I really loved it. The history of the house and its arhitect is also interesting and she even lives in the central part of the house and her sun with his family downstares. Real fun for big and small kids. It was a special and unique experience and I would love to spend more nights there.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank izi f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
688 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

A very interesting and unusual place to spend the night. Why? Because it is a hotel and a tourist attraction. Buses are there every day. This must be a consideration if you decided to stay there.
For TravelinAlan, it was an easy decision. I stayed 2 nights, one in the Bear room ($20 US) and one in the Kangaroo room($25 US). What a remarkable experience for me. 2 unique rooms in this crazy, and I do mean crazy, environment at perhaps the most unusual hotel on the planet. The photo ops are amazing.
On the downside are those tourists each day, no restaurant and an a not very central location.

Room Tip: Go to their web site and decide for yourself. It's all there. The rooms are more for couples tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelinAlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We didn't stay but visited during the day. This place was nuts but so much fun climbing up and over the big bridges to check out all the rooms. I would totally want to come back and stay in one of these 'alice in wonderland" style rooms. It was really pretty with all the bright flowers surrounding the houses.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
Helpful?
3 Thank Ingrids24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Da Lat hotels
2.0 mi away
ZEN Valley Dalat
ZEN Valley Dalat
#7 of 80 in Da Lat
119 reviews
0.6 mi away
Du Parc Hotel Dalat
Du Parc Hotel Dalat
#9 of 80 in Da Lat
545 reviews
0.6 mi away
TTC Hotel Premium - Ngoc Lan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Binh An Village Dalat
Binh An Village Dalat
#16 of 80 in Da Lat
42 reviews
2.4 mi away
La Sapinette Hotel Dalat
0.9 mi away
Ana Mandara Villas Dalat Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crazy House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crazy House

Property: Crazy House
Address: 03 Huynh Thuc Khang St | Ward 4, Da Lat, Vietnam (Formerly Hang Nga Guesthouse)
Region: Vietnam > Lam Dong Province > Da Lat
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 319 B&Bs / Inns in Da Lat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Crazy House 1.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Ctrip TA, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Crazy House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hang Nga Guesthouse Hotel Dalat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing