We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great budget hotel by lovely family” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hai Long Vuong Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hai Long Vuong Hotel
Ranked #1 of 261 Da Lat B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great budget hotel by lovely family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013 via mobile

You can't find better for this price! In over three months of traveling SE Asia, this was by far the cheapest accommodation we stayed in and the room was just as nice, if not nicer than some.

Sure, it isn't located right in the center of town but it was a 10-15 minute walk or a $1 taxi ride. We ended up taking taxis because it was so incredibly cheap and so easy to get lost in those winding roads.

The room itself was pretty spacious with two double beds and a massive window that overlooked the street. It also had a wardrobe, table, TV, hot shower, fridge and even extra toiletries which was a really nice touch considering it's a zero star hotel. We were on the third floor so we weren't bothered by any noise.

The family who own this hotel are so incredibly nice and friendly and helped us with everything we needed. They helped us book tours, gave us a map, showed us all the great places to eat at local prices, etc.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Da Lat. At $10 a night, it's a steal of a deal!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank krixie333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaiLongVuong_Hotel, Owner at Hai Long Vuong Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2013
Thanks my friend. I don't know what to say. I'm so happy to have so sweet reviews like this. every body here wrote so good about us. I just want to hold you all, say thanks to every body who gave us good reviews, honesty advise, good tips to help us improve our service... It's so so lovely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    49
    15
    2
    2
See reviews for
11
110
17
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dortmund, Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

We spent five or six nights @ Hai Long Vuong Hotel.

First of all, it's more like a big Homestay, since the family lives in the same building ;)
The owners are extremely nice and helpfull, and over the time of our stay they have helped us out numerous times (sightseeing, transportation, food etc.).
By the way, their english is very good :)

So, for the first two nights we had a room with no windows to the outside, so we asked if we could switch to a room with windows. As soon as one was free (as I said, after two nights) we switched rooms and got a really big room (two double beds), and an awesome big window for the same price!

The rooms are cleaned every day, I think, if you leave your keys at the reception when you leave the hotel. Something I wouldn't have expected that from a hotel that's so cheap, but I guess that's one of the advantages of being the guest in a family-run hotel :)

Yes, the rooms are a little bit noisy, but I never had problem with sleeping (both our rooms were on the first floor), and as far as I know they are soundproofing the rooms in the next weeks (the sound-proofing material is already there ;) ).

After all, I had a hard time deciding if I'll go with four or five points.
I went with five, since this is probably one of the cheapest (if not THE cheapest) hotel in the area, but you still get room-service, reasonable-sized, clean rooms, a helpful couple if you ever need something and so on.
They also rent out bikes and have one of the fastest laundrys I have ever encountered on my ongoing trip through Asia.

While this hotel might not be perfect, I have been to so much worse, and the value for money is unbeatable. That's why I went with five points.

By the way, yes, it's a little bit outside of the city, but we walked there in about 15 minutes and there's enough stores and restaurants close, so that you don't have to walk too far on a rainy day.
Would definitely go here again, if I'm on a budget in Dalat :)

Room Tip: As some people said, it is a little bit noisy in the first floor (but like I said, I never had a pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FerdinandizZzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaiLongVuong_Hotel, Owner at Hai Long Vuong Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2013
Lol so sweet and lovely review.
Thanks my friend. we will try until you give us 5 without wonder about 4.5 or 5 ^_^
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

I read all the reviews be4 booking this hotel and perhaps that' s why I am disappointed.
- the location is a bit far from the centre. Dalat is very small which make it seems like we are so far away from the fun.
- the room looks clean but I was welcomed by 2 cockroaches when I arrived. Ok, no big deal!
- the room is very basic . But for that price, it's actually ok.
- a big negative point is the noise. In such a quiet surrounding, any noise seems to be much more annoying than usual. The room has absolutely no sound proof system. You can be waken up by your neighbour closing their door or flushing their toilet in the middle of the night.
- the hotel owners are very friendly- that's true! But they were not very professional. We asked them for help with the taxi arrangement 4 hrs before our flight. He told us that it's not necessary to do that in advance. So we trusted him and waited. 2 hrs before our flight, he couldn't help us to find an available taxi. I understand it wasn't his fault that all his taxi partners were fully booked. But instead of helping us out or saying anything, he just went away and did something else, leaving us waiting at the reception, thinking that the taxi is coming. His wife helped us to call the local taxi at the end. Results: what we had to pay for the trip was equal 1 extra night. We were at speed limit and almost missed the flight (it was the last flight of the day).

Anyway, even without the last minute incident, I think I would not return here. I would be willing to pay a bit more for a better room in a more vibrant area (it's a matter of personal taste).

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrangNRotterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaiLongVuong_Hotel, Owner at Hai Long Vuong Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
so terrible you are when you said like that after every thing we do for you.
we tried our best to find taxi for you.
we ordered a shuttle bus in the early morning for you, and the bus would come at 1:00 pm(2 hours before you depart) to pick you up, you did agree but after that you changed your mind and cancle because you still want to go arround dalat. It is not our fault if you was late when you came back to hotel at 1:30pm.
you asked us hurry call a taxi for you and we tried to do.
in da lat, there are 3 taxi company and there are less than 150 taxi. if you book a taxi 4hours before you go, they could accept but after that they will not come because nobody waste 4hours to wait for you just because of some money from you.
the cheapest company was over book when we called.
i tried to call for some one we know in the third company to ask the best price for you but you did not agree and ask for the second company. and i called for them as you want. you were late because you came back late so please don't blame on another one
it is heavy rain day, we have some problem from the terrace because some customers did not close the door so that water every where in the room. they asked my husband to come and help them, so that is not his fault if he could not help you to call taxi for you while i was doing it.
if every helpful from us is nothing for you so you can't never feel any helpful from any body else
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hue, Vietnam
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

We wanted to like this place so much, for the absolutely lovely, helpful, and English speaking couple that runs the place. No bad word about them.

The room was also good for the price. Little worn, but good enough for the basic needs. Location is really nice, out from the inner city hazzle, but totally walkable.

However, there is so much noise, that sleeping was not comfortable. To our first floor room, we could very clearly hear the other guests talking and laughing around in the lobby till 11pm and the talk started again after 6am. When the purpose was to relax at the highlands after busy cities, this just was not comfortable.

We turned down the kind offer to stay in the lobby for free, since they were full for the next night, and found a lovely, quiet hotel just next door.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aj e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaiLongVuong_Hotel, Owner at Hai Long Vuong Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2013
Thanks my dear friend.
i hope next time when you come here, you will see that all the room are better.
Thanks for you honesty review. It is really good for us.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

We arrived at the hotel a little later than expected, and unfortunately the owner had given our room to another guest, so we agreed to stay in an internal room for the first night and then move to a double room with window for the remaining 3 nights of our stay. The internal room was clean and comfortable, however, as it was on the first floor and next to the stairwell to reception it was noisy and we did not sleep too well that night. The owners are, however, making some improvements to the hotel, including looking at noise reduction.The following day, as promised, the owner moved us to a lovely spacious double room (with two double beds) at the front of the hotel on the third floor. This room was really lovely and much quieter, so we slept very well from then on. They even moved our luggage for us. As other reviewers have commented, the couple running the hotel are really lovely and welcome you as friends. The husband gave us a great recommendation for a walk from Bo Dai Palace to Datanla falls which was really wonderful and one of the highlights of our stay. The hotel is about 10 minutes walk from the centre of Dalat which did not bother us as we really enjoyed the walk, especially in the evening walking back after dinner in town. The Crazy House and Bo Dai Palace are also within walking distance of the hotel.The owners also recommended a nice cafe nearby for breakfast called Tomato which was good value. We went to another local cafe another morning and nearly got scammed by boys offering a shoe shine service, so please be aware of this. Overall, a lovely hotel which we would stay in again if we return to Dalat.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaiLongVuong_Hotel, Owner at Hai Long Vuong Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2013
my sweet friend. thanks for your review. hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

Our first night was a shaky start as the room we were in was very noisy and the light from the hallway came through an internal window. We did not sleep at all well.
We were moved the next day to room 304 which was lovely. It was quiet and there was no hall light keeping us awake. The beds are comfortable, not hard like a lot of beds in Vietnam,although the nylon pillowcases a bit hot. The first room just had a blanket, no top sheet, but this room had a duvet in a cotton cover.
The owners are very friendly and helpful and we left feeling that we have new friends, rather than just having left another hotel.
The couple are refurbishing the noisy rooms and working with designers to see how they can make quieter and more relaxing. I think they will succeed.
At present there is no breakfast, but they are planning on having a breakfast area in the large reception. They may also create a lovely relaxation place on the balcony.
I believe that when they have finished their plans, this will be scoring 5.
It is a little out of town, which I was concerned about the first day, but after that I loved teh walk into town for dinner and the walk back to let it settle. it wasn't far, besides which, it was a lot quieter than the hostels and hotels in town. It was also handy for the Summer Palace and Crazy House as you could walk uphill to them in the cool of the morning and then walk downhill into the town when it started getting hot.
It was certainly good value for money.

Room Tip: Not 101 until they have refurbished, but 304 was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Val-Director
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

A little ways from the center of town, but an absolutely lovely proprietress who was very friendly and eager to be helpful with all our questions. Clean room, great bathroom, we were very happy, especially for the price we paid.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bawaga98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Da Lat hotels
0.7 mi away
Tulip Hotel
Tulip Hotel
#5 of 73 in Da Lat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ken's House Backpackers
Ken's House Backpackers
#31 of 261 in Da Lat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.9 mi away
My Dream Hotel
My Dream Hotel
#13 of 261 in Da Lat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sleep In Dalat Hostel
Sleep In Dalat Hostel
#8 of 319 in Da Lat
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cam Ly Homestay
Cam Ly Homestay
#5 of 261 in Da Lat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
1.4 mi away
Authentic Family Homestay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hai Long Vuong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hai Long Vuong Hotel

Property: Hai Long Vuong Hotel
Address: Log 6 , Tran le Street, Ward 4, Da Lat 61000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Lam Dong Province > Da Lat
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 261 B&Bs / Inns in Da Lat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hai Long Vuong Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hai Long Vuong Hotel provides the friendliness of a Hotel with the Dormitory rooms and private rooms . Guests can always be found chatting over tea with the staffs in the front lounge. The hotel is always happy to provide free information to help guests plan each day activity. Whether walking under the Elephant Waterfalls, relaxing by the pristine hillside lakes, or even sampling a local delicacy at the Cricket Farm, the staffs have all the local knowledge you need to see the best of Da Lat. The guests may be able to join us on our visits around town or into the countryside to relax. The hotel staffs often dine with guests at the places all the locals go to eat! There is free, very fast and consistent Wifi in all rooms and public areas. Skype friends or enjoy the complimentary satellite TV in the rooms. Located in a beautiful four-storey terrace, the modern rooms are clean and quiet, with powerful hot showers to help guests recharge after a long day of adventures in the beautiful city ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hai Long Vuong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing