We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful amateur service from inexperienced Ben and his skivvys”
Review of Cam Ly Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cam Ly Homestay
Ranked #4 of 327 Da Lat B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We booked a room online but it wasn't ready for us despite us arriving after the stated time. Ben seemed friendly enough but didn't check our booking and gave us a double instead of twin room. The room was cold, only had a blanket no sheets! Bathroom was soaking wet with hairs everywhere. Sink falling off the wall and water poured all over the floor everytime tap was turned on! We told them about it and one of Ben's friends came in to 'fix' it and just made it worse.

Ben offered us his tour, we found it cheaper in town for a private tour in a car with a great guide. When we didn't book with him he was offish with us for the rest of our stay. Quite immature. Also funny (and annoying) he thinks he's a dj playing really loud dance music in the hall in the late afternoon just for himself?

We booked a bus through the hostel, had to keep nagging him to give us our tickets. He told us the wrong time for pickup and the taxi turned up wile we were having breakfast (no tea!) and started shouting at us. The receptionist who didn't speak English woke Ben up who came downstairs and got really angry with us when we said he'd told us the wrong time. He was shouting and swearing at the top of his voice in his own hotel first thing in the morning - so amateur and embarrassing.

Don't fall for the reviews about a 'secret tour's it's just his lame way of selling it. Our tour (bike or car)was cheaper, longer and included a great lunch.

Overall a bad memory of a great place in Vietnam - stay elsewhere!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ajbdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
There are newer reviews for Cam Ly Homestay
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2013

Arrived in Dalat and planned to stay for just two days. This was until i arrived at Bens villa and realised just how amazing the people and place truly was!

Ben and the staff at Cam Ly Villa could not do enough for you. The slogan 'home away from home' was certainly the case here as the rooms were meticulous and extremely comfortable and cosy. Cable tv with flat screens in all the rooms, en suites and amazing surround sound music in the outside area of the hostel for when the socialising starts. If travelling alone I certainly recommend this place as it is not right in the hustle and bustle of the town centre but located 10 minutes away in a beautiful setting. Ben makes everyone feel so welcome, introducing you to his 'home' and his family and friends! This hotel was like none others I have ever stayed at across Asia, the motorbike tour that Ben offers was fantastic and showed the real side of Dalat and Vietnamese culture that I found no where else.
Cleans rooms, comfy rooms, value for money, very friendly staff, home like feel, great social side if travelling alone, and just an overall amazing place!!!

HIGHLY RECOMMEND. DON'T MISS OUT ON DALAT 5*!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

nice and cheap place to stay in da lat,closeto the tơn center.They ofer good day tours ás well. Friendly staff. I went here alone and you have the chance of meeting a lot òf solo travellers. I strongly recpmmend you this place specially ìf you are a backpacker

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amarmil1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We were greeted at the hostel by some of the friendliest staff I've found in a hostel over the last year of being away. My friend was sick so they got him into a room as quickly as possible and made sure he was okay. Ben who runs the hostel is a top guy and will really go out of his way to help you with anything. I'm not sure what the last few people writing reviews problems have been but i would really recommend this hostel to anyone. Rooms are clean at good price and it is only about a 10 minute walk into town. Great place to chill and meet both backpackers and locals. Thanks for the stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luke f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

I have been travelling for 2 months now and this is the worst place i have stayed.
On arrival (15 min walk out of the town) the welcome fruit was strawberries presented in a soggy cardboard box, growing mould with fruit flies.
Then our room was not ready so we were offered another, which was basically a bed in the hall with a partition wall. The room was not only dirty but had empty beer cans all over the place, and no plug sockets.
There was no lock on the bedroom door and no towels. When we asked for towels we were given one wet one..!!
It was late and raining so we stayed regardless and anyway trying to tell the lady on reception that we weren't happy was pointless as she understood no english but used google translate to communicate with us.
Breakfast: stale bread and coffee with gone of milk-it was served to us with a thick skin over it.
We could not wait to get out of here!! Mr ben was no where to be seen, this place was certainly NOT a home from home. I'd go as far as to say that the previous comments are fake. Very disappointed and people need to know how bad it is.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Smurffette2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We booked three nights at Cam Ly Villa online and as it was described as 10 minutes out of town we walked there. It took us 30 minutes to reach the hotel as it's no-where near the town centre and not that close to anything to do either. When we arrived motorbikes were parked all across the entrance and we had to take our backpacks off to get to the front door as we couldn't get through with them on. When we entered we found what a few guys who later turned out to be staff sitting around. They said hello and we made our way to reception to check in, but they had no record of our reservation so they said they didn't have any clean rooms available for us (even though it was 6pm). We agreed to wait and after 10 minutes were shown down to the basement to a room with unclean bedding (body hairs on the sheets and head-shaped dints in the pillows showing it hadn't been touched since the last occupants left). The room was okay but not brilliant, with no mattress on the spare bed. The bathroom was filthy, with dirty footprints all over the floor and used toiletry sachets in the shower's soap holder. We decided we no longer wanted to stay and went back up to reception to tell them we were leaving. The guy at reception was friendly and apologised for the inconvenience, offering an alternative room which we declined as we were feeling a bit put out by that point. As we were leaving one of the guys sitting around stopped us to ask why we were going. We explained and he said we had no right to just walk out, but we said we wouldn't stay somewhere uncleaned. He started shouting at me (after my boyfriend had left) that we should try to resolve the problem instead of just walking out, as if we were being unreasonable for not wanting to stay somewhere that tried to offer us a dirty room! He then threatened to charge us for the full stay anyway as he said he could do that because he had our credit card details from the online booking. We left anyway and contacted the online booking agent to complain. They liaised with the hotel and we weren't charged. The hotel apologised through the booking agent.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vicky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Home away from home is a very true description of this place! Ben is a lovely guy who speaks good english and the rest of his team of staff are good fun. The atmosphere is very relaxed, you can help yourself to tea or coffee whenever, use the internet and chill with some beers with the guys in the evening.
We stayed in the dorm room, great and practical but not ideal if you hope to get to bed early (well not the nights we were there anyway, music and fun happening downstairs which you can hear clearly, but much better to just get involved!).
Dalat is beautiful and Ben and friends have lots of tour options available for you to do to explore this incredible area. We did a day canyoning which was amazing! And then a motorbike day tour which was stunning....also if you're not confident riding a motorbike they'll sort guides to go with you for the day.
Breakfast (eggs and toast) included in the price!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucinda b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Da Lat hotels
0.3 mi away
Hai Long Vuong Hotel
Hai Long Vuong Hotel
#1 of 327 in Da Lat
227 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tulip Xanh Dalat Hotel
Tulip Xanh Dalat Hotel
#10 of 327 in Da Lat
127 reviews
1.0 mi away
My Dream Hotel
My Dream Hotel
#7 of 327 in Da Lat
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Villa Pink House
Villa Pink House
#12 of 327 in Da Lat
246 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dalat Xua va Nay Hotel
Dalat Xua va Nay Hotel
#170 of 327 in Da Lat
13 reviews
1.2 mi away
Authentic Family Homestay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cam Ly Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cam Ly Homestay

Address: 62 Hoang Van Thu, Ward 5 | 62 Hoang Van Thu, Ward 5, Da Lat 670000, Vietnam (Formerly Villa Cam Ly Dalat)
Region: Vietnam > Lam Dong Province > Da Lat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 327 B&Bs / Inns in Da Lat
Price Range: £7 - £10 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cam Ly Homestay is located in Dalat center around 1.1 km, close to Crazy house, Vegetarian restaurants, Groceries, cathidral, Cam Ly water fall, and Market. With a nice atmosphere and reasonable prices will bring to guests a comfortable and satisfied. Private rooms and Dormitory are provided at this homestay. English and Vietnamese speaking . Services: - Free city map. - BBQ outside dinner everynights. - Free pool table, footsball and Dart. - Laundry. - Motorbike for rent. - Free bicycle ( Limited bikes so guests might ask a request before borrowing). - WI-FI and hot water are always available in each rooms. - Satellite TV. Tour services: - Easyrider tours. - Canyouning tour. - Trekking. - Mountain biking. Free pick up (10km around Dalat center). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cam Ly Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing