We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Thanh Thuy Hotel Dalat
Ranked #59 of 86 Hotels in Da Lat
Reviewed 6 November 2011

What I most like about the Empress Dalat Hotel is that it is a good value for the money and close to Dalat market which has lots of things to eat, see, and buy. The size of the our room at the Empress is alot larger than rooms at other hotels, while the price of our room is lower. For the most part, the hotel is nice and quiet, while the staff is excellent. But Dalat has lots of mosquitoes, should have mosquito nets.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

32 - 38 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2011

The whole property is tired and run down, with old fittings and not well maintained - especially my bed. It was very musty and not fresh at all, and not very clean. The biggest problem was the overpowering smell of poor drainage. It almost made me sick many times.
Then the wifi closed down completely, with no explanation or apology.
The only saving grace was a nice breakfast. We left as soon as we could!

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ross11-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2011

Always difficult to judge a boutique hotel, as price and star rating don't completely match with standard hotels. Pro: stunning location above the lake, nice viewas. Spacious rooms and good bathrooms, though both are a bit dark - windows towards the stairway and not the open air. Good heating in rooms (really needed). Not so good: limited breakfast, much walking on the stairs, sometimes noise from the cafe part on the (lovely) atrium coming into the rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenhermant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2011

We arrived at the Empress hotel to find our room was dirty (hairs on the floor everywhere), the bathroom none to clean (detergent stains on the floor and rusted taps), no air-conditioning (contrary to what was advertised) and to top it off a totally rotten minibar fridge which almost made me vomit with the stench upon opening it.
The manager offered to upgrade us tot "the" suite, but we refused and had our travel agency get us a room in another hotel.
This place is supposedly rated at 3 stars, I'm not sure who rated it as such, but I can assure you he or she has never crossed the threshold!

Room Tip: Don't bother...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DenIos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2010

Excellent location but hotel staff speak very little english, Room was tired, dated and bedlinen was disgusting. Pillows were dirty and smelt of stale hair. Replacement pillows were requested but this was ignored. Very expensive drinks and laundry facilities which are all quoted in american dollars. Buffet breakfast when available is ok but alternative 'a la carte' breakfast turned out to be toast, jam and pineapple juice. A disappointing two night stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vietnam52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2010

We stayed at the Emrpess for just one night. However, we are not really regret about this hotel at all. The staffs are very friendly people, doesn't have much knowledge about other top destination in Vietnam but they know about Da Lat in quite details.
The location is very good as it is opposite the lake and only a short walk into the main restaurant area.
The room is decent, quite dark. but what we had was clean enough and we had definately a very good sleep at this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allouard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2010

We slept 3 nights in this hotel en we were not happy.
We changed the deluxe room to another room after one afternoon because of the noise. No airco so you have to sleep with the windows open and that is very noisy behind the road.
The other room was very big but quiet because of een small window. No hairdryer, many mosquitos.
Staff who speak bad englisch, not helpfull.
1 computer that was very old.
And after all this we had a discussion about the price for the room. They said 65 usd and we thougt we arranged 35 usd. So that is a big difference and because there was no signature on the bill we paid 50 usd for the deluxe room/ suite.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marisnetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Da Lat hotels
1.1 mi away
ZEN Cafe & Villa
ZEN Cafe & Villa
#10 of 86 in Da Lat
122 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marguerite Hotel
Marguerite Hotel
#42 of 86 in Da Lat
22 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dalat Plaza Hotel
Dalat Plaza Hotel
#33 of 86 in Da Lat
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kings Hotel Dalat
Kings Hotel Dalat
#57 of 86 in Da Lat
35 reviews
0.3 mi away
Du Parc Hotel Dalat
Du Parc Hotel Dalat
#11 of 86 in Da Lat
562 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sammy Dalat Hotel
Sammy Dalat Hotel
#9 of 86 in Da Lat
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thanh Thuy Hotel Dalat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thanh Thuy Hotel Dalat

Address: 05 Nguyen Thai Hoc St | Lam Dong Province, Da Lat, Vietnam (Formerly Empress Hotel)
Region: Vietnam > Lam Dong Province > Da Lat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 86 Hotels in Da Lat
Price Range: £25 - £30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Thanh Thuy Hotel Dalat 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thanh Thuy Hotel Dalat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empress Hotel Dalat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing