We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would DEFINITELY stay there again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Thanh Thuy Hotel Dalat
Ranked #57 of 79 Hotels in Da Lat
RI, USA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Would DEFINITELY stay there again!”
Reviewed 6 March 2008

After staying in one of the many budget hotels in Dalat on our first night, we wanted to get away from the noise and chaos of the market area and find a quieter spot. Someone recommended the Empress.

First impression is excellent. The hotel sits on a hill overlooking the lake. There was a very friendly porter at the street level garage who directed us up the stone steps to the front lobby. As we entered, we saw a gorgeous courtyard with a view of the lake.

Lucky for us, there were three rooms available. We asked to see the rooms and loved them. They are cozy and quiet, with dark wood trim and tile floors. The bathrooms are gorgeous, with wooden shutters on the windows and granite shower stalls. The place feels very old world, which makes sense given that it began life as a French Colonial villa.

We loved our stay at the Empress. Breakfast was included in the price and it was simple, but lovely. There were noodles, egg dishes and breads, along with various little Vietnamese tidbits. My only disappointment was that they didn't serve the fabulously intense Vietnamese coffee. But the coffee they did serve was quite delicious.

I loved the room. It had comfortable beds and tasteful decor. There was a beautiful little handwoven rug between the two beds and, a rarity in Vietnam, a reading lamp!

It is true that when we first checked the room out, it smelled a bit musty. The woman showing us the room said that it was mosquito spray and would dissipate by the time we were ready to come back that afternoon. She was right.

Our favorite part of the hotel was the beautiful courtyard. We spent a lot of time just sitting around drinking tea (or wine!) and enjoying the view. The gardens were well kept and lovely and the staff efficient and friendly.

We would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and look forward to staying there again.

  • Liked — The courtyard and gardens
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachelWin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    25
    25
    15
    9
See reviews for
11
35
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Flint, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2008

We stayed at the Emrpess for just one night which I have to say was a relief. The location is good opposite the lake and only a short walk into the main restaurant area. However our room was dark and felt damp. The only lighting was fluorescent and these buzzed continually when on. Brealfast was quite limited.

  • Liked — Check out!
  • Disliked — Dark room
  • Stayed December 2007
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbiesam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Da Lat hotels

Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2007

We enjoyed our 3D2N stayed at Empress Hotel. Our room is clean, big & cozy. This little hotel is well situated next to the lake, only few minutes walk to the town center.

Empress provide the basic, room + breakfast. Not much facility, anyway I don't have much time to stay inside the hotel room as Dalat have so much for me to explore!

I would recommend it to those who like simple, quite place to stay!

  • Liked — Location, value for money
  • Disliked — TV channel limited!
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank apii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2007

Absentee owner evident in poor management and uncared for gardens, unfriendly place. Rooms quite dark because of Swiss style and use of dark wood but a good size.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank letgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2007

We stayed here for 4 nights.It is a good hotel with a couple of problems but a lovely location by the lake within easy walking distance of the centre.The first night we stayed in a regular double room - we had to move to the upper floor as the downstairs room smelled damp.The room we moved to was great $48 & very comfortable.The breakfast was below average but not bad.The next night we moved to a $70 which was similarly nice & had a lake view.It was a bit noisy from the street. In hindsight we should have stuck with the cheaper room.
My main complaint about this hotel is the price of laundry/minibar/food - it's so expensive that we just handwashed everything & bought drinks from town to the hotel. The internet in the lobby is charged & useless.Use an internet cafe in town. Having said that I would stay here again it is very charming,clean & cosy & the room rate is good.If you stay ask for a room on the top floor.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Gecko-Toes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2007

The hotel sheets were pretty dirty. However, the staff was very good, waiting after hours until we returned to give us a verbal message from our Aunt. We chose to stay at this hotel rather than Sofitel because it was the only one in the city that had showers. Despite the good staff, I would not stay at this hotel again due to the dirty sheets. Next time I would just play it safe and stay at the Sofitel.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — Cleanliness, which is always a HUGE factor
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank man910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2007

We picked this hotel from the selection on the net at short notice and were very pleased we did. Small, reasonable and central, it is away from the rush of traffic and overlooks a pleasant view of the lake. Restaurants are within easy walking distance and the courtyard feel to the place (taking breakfast there if you want) is excellent. Rooms are well proportioned if a bit dark; but who wants to sit in the room here? Helpful staff. If you are an Internet person this could be a minus. You have to pay (or eat a lot of their food for free coupons!) to gain access. It's a simple place but a great base.

  • Liked — Location and view
  • Disliked — Darkness of room
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Coalface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Da Lat hotels
0.3 mi away
Saphir Dalat Hotel
Saphir Dalat Hotel
#56 of 79 in Da Lat
116 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trung Cang Hotel
Trung Cang Hotel
#39 of 79 in Da Lat
68 reviews
0.3 mi away
Du Parc Hotel Dalat
Du Parc Hotel Dalat
#9 of 79 in Da Lat
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Chau Au Europa
Hotel Chau Au Europa
#42 of 79 in Da Lat
75 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dalat Plaza Hotel
Dalat Plaza Hotel
#30 of 79 in Da Lat
227 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dreams Hotel
Dreams Hotel
#1 of 79 in Da Lat
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thanh Thuy Hotel Dalat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thanh Thuy Hotel Dalat

Property: Thanh Thuy Hotel Dalat
Address: 05 Nguyen Thai Hoc St | Lam Dong Province, Da Lat, Vietnam (Formerly Empress Hotel)
Region: Vietnam > Lam Dong Province > Da Lat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 79 Hotels in Da Lat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Thanh Thuy Hotel Dalat 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Thanh Thuy Hotel Dalat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empress Hotel Dalat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing