We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, poor service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trung Cang Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Trung Cang Hotel
Ranked #41 of 73 Hotels in Da Lat
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good value, poor service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Trung Cang Hotel-Managed by The Sinh Tourist. You get what you pay for and this was reasonably cheap. Location is good, rooms are comfortable, our issue was with the service. Front staff, one lady in particular (?manager) was not at all friendly, upon check in, we were not told anything, not even when or where breakfast was. Luckily we got a phone call the next morning at 8am saying breakfast finished at 9am. Breakfast consisted of cold eggs and who knows what else as by the time we got there there was not much left. We hired a scooter for the day from the hotel, we got a flat tyre whilst out sightseeing, luckily some lovely locals showed us to a nearby mechanic, the mechanic showed us the problem, a previous patch up job gone wrong, we payed for a new tyre. When we went back to the hotel (old bung tyre in hand) they told us it was our fault for not bringing the bike back to the hotel to be fixed! (We were perhaps 20kms out of town) They were not going to reimburse us, untill hubby got stroppy. Then they said they would only pay half. Finally got the whole amount back, which was nothing significant, but it was the principle! We asked for a wake-up call the next morning as we were catching the bus to Nha Trang, no wake-up call. We told reception and the girl said she had tried to ring but couldn't get through. Hmmmm, maybe a knock on the door then? Would use the Sinh Tourist bus service, but not the hotel ever again.

Room Tip: We had room 101, very noisy as it is street side. We are heavy sleepers so it was okay but would no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Uncs_Aunts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    18
    23
    5
    11
See reviews for
14
29
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Perth Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

Enjoy this hotel when I stay in Dalat. Front room with bacony $20us per night for two including breakfast. Breakfast good, rooms are very clean and staff very good. Tour shop outside for tours and any future travel. eg. airport transfer.

Room Tip: Front facing room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alastair1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

We arrived here after a long and uncomfortable ride with Sinh Tourist (mentioning this here as the hotel is also a Sinh Tourist operation). We thought we had booked seats on a large and comfortable bus, and in fact we had seats assigned, but in the end it was a tiny bus with a free for all rush to grab a good seat. My partner is 190 cm and he couldn't even fit. Because there were 18 people on the bus, we also had a fight about our luggage. There was no space for it on this tiny bus, and one of the Sinh Tourist employees very rudely said that he wanted us to leave it behind and that it would be delivered later. We asked him if he would take responsibility of it if it got lost, and he said that if we didn't like it than we shouldn't get on the bus. We said we had paid for the ride and booked three days in advance and yes, we would get on that bus with our suitcases, after which the suitcases were placed in an opening next to some seats.

Anyway...when we got to the hotel, we were treated like some kind of criminals by the male receptionist and the booking agent. We had reserved and paid online from outside Vietnam, and when we showed up and gave the guy our reservation and invoice number, he looked at us blankly and said that he had never heard of us coming. He asked us for our receipt and we gave him the one which we had got online. And he said 'No', while laughing mockingly 'This is not a receipt', and he showed us the receipt one gets when one books at a booking office in Vietnam, which of course, we hadn't done. We explained this for about 2 minutes, after which he called someone in HCM to check our reservation. Then he took us to the booking office where we are asked to pay for the rest of our stay (this is also something I didn't like as you have to pay for the nights you are planning to stay immediately). Even after we had already paid, our passports were photocopied, plus our credit card (which was taken away from our sight to another room even if the guy had a photocopier right in front of him), and our passports were held by reception.
Finally, while we were sitting having lunch at the hotel restaurant, the same male receptionist asked for our payment receipt (we had only one copy and the booking agent had another). I asked if I could have a copy, and the guy starts laughing in my face. 'Why?' he asks. 'For myself' I say, and he laughs some more, as if I'm asking for the most ridiculous thing in the world (so they have our passports, have no clue who has booked and who has paid, and I'm supposed to give them my only copy of payment?).

I never saw this guy again, and he was replaced by a lovely lovely female receptionist. I have no problem with the rooms and the location and the price, which are all good, but we weren't made to feel exactly welcome upon arrival. For this reason, I wouldn't stay again, and I'd limit my time with Sinh tourist to as little as possible.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tigris330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

We didn't stay at the Hotel but we were talked into trying their 'western food' by the Sinh Cafe staff outside. After 2 weeks of Vietnamese we thought why not.

The table clothes were dirty, the staff no grasp of basic English (ok my Vietnamese is dreadful but come on, this is a hotel too), my beer was served alone as they didnt tell us they had no diet coke, despite taking our order for it for my girlfriend.

Anyway, cutlery was then served in a stained napkin, disgusting. I went outside for a cigarette and saw my food brought to the table. I had ordered Fried Beefsteak with Fries. It was served on a plastic dish in 3 separate sections. I thought I had been sent to prison! The steak was dire, the dozen fries i had were just crinkle cut fries, and in the other section was lettuce with some obscure sauce.

My partners meal wasnt far behind. We asked for fish and chips, bur were served up a plate of about 8 huge lumps of batter with some minute peices of fish inside. We then ordered some fires and we couldnt help but laugh when the young girl put down a plate with no lie, about ten crinkle cut fries on it!

Add to this terrible service, it was by far and away the worst meal of our holiday so far. We couldnt wait to get away. DO NOT EAT HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Da Lat hotels

New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

For 30 $ per room this is a very good choice while in Dalat. Rooms are quite big and very clean, staff is friendly and there's a Booking office infront of hotel, so you can get arrangment around and in the city, 2, 3 or more days trip. Rooms facing streets are noisy, but that's a common Vietnamese problem :)

Breakfast is nice, but it takes staff a while to bring more food if they run out.

Room Tip: Get a roomnot facing the street :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

Having just arrived in Dalat from Mui Ne after travelling on the Sinh Tourist bus, we were dropped off right outside the Trung Cang hotel. After the long journey, we decided to just stay there as it was so convenient. I have to say, it was an excellent choice! The room was lovely and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was absolutely fine, for the price you pay you can't really complain! The only criticism I have is that the wifi didn't work on the top floor so had to sit by reception to use (really not that much of a problem!).

Would recommend going on a tour to the waterfalls, had a nice day. We booked it with Sinh Tourist at the office right next to the hotel. Also if you do stay here GO TO THE V CAFE!!! This restaurant is so so nice (one of the few we could find in Dalat to be honest!) and its just up the road on the opposite side from the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank the-arg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

I have been there 2 nights: nice room with nice view, good location, very central, good buffet breakfast, good value.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arena092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Da Lat hotels
1.4 mi away
Giai Dieu Melody Hotel
Giai Dieu Melody Hotel
#27 of 73 in Da Lat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Chau Au Europa
Hotel Chau Au Europa
#39 of 73 in Da Lat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
1.3 mi away
Himalaya Phoenix DaLat Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dai Loi (Fortune Hotel)
1.0 mi away
Hong Mon Villa
Hong Mon Villa
#22 of 73 in Da Lat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hoang Minh Chau
Hotel Hoang Minh Chau
#28 of 73 in Da Lat
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trung Cang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trung Cang Hotel

Property: Trung Cang Hotel
Address: 22 Bui Thi Xuan St, Da Lat, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Lam Dong Province > Da Lat
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 73 Hotels in Da Lat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Trung Cang Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Trung Cang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing