We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for!”
Review of Trung Cang Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Trung Cang Hotel
Ranked #43 of 85 Hotels in Da Lat
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights on our visit to Da Lat.

After arriving off the Sinh Tourist bus from Nha Trang, we were greeted by the grumpiest hotel staff I have ever encountered - not even a smile!

POSITIVES
- stayed in room 5 in the basement which was reasonably quiet in comparison to what other reviewers have said
- good location, run by Sinh Tourist Co so this is where the bus stops should you travel with them. Also only a short walk from the lake and town centre

NEGATIVES
- no air conditioning/fan in the room, essential when it is as warm as it was on our visit
- breakfast below average (over-cooked eggs, some cold Vietnamese dishes, toast and fruit). Also, saw some of the staff helping themselves to the fruit - probably out of boredom since there were about 4 of them sitting around a table looking miserable!
- saw what looked like some bedbugs crawling out from under my pillow so spent the entire night in fear of being bitten by them
- tables in the dining room are very low, so if you are of average height, watch your knees! (I cracked my knee off the table in front of the waitress may I add, who didn't even ask if I was ok!)
- wifi very weak/non-existent in bedrooms and sporadic at best in public areas

overall I would say only stay here if a) you are on a budget and b) you leave it to the last minute to book and can't get anything else!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Callum R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 21 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2014

Hotel was nice, a part of the Sinh Tourist tour, my room was on third floor, no elevators facing street. You heard every beep of horns, scooters going by. Breakfast was okay. They had special water heater in bathroom to get hot water fast to shower. Across the street was Escape Bar at Blue Moon Hotel, good live music. Short distance from center market place. For a few dollars more, a better place can be had.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Very basic hotel and service run by The Sinh cafe/tourist company. We walked in straight off the bus, it stops there! Basic room, no air con or heating but not really required. The breakfast was very basic buffet(mainly asian but the cakes were nice)but on the day of leaving we were allowed to order and not pay!!. Biggest issue was no coffee in room, had to get a thermos from downstairs, only green tea in room and thimbles for cups!! The bed was comfortable and shower hot, some people seem to not know about turning the electric water heater on! Dinner at restaurant reasonable. Good position for walking to some places. BigC ( think coles/woolies) has opened there...it's underground! Trippy supermarket. Staff helpful and friendly. Balcony (shared).

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I have stayed here on multiple occasions and the hotel has fallen in quality in my opinion. The place is owned by Sinh Café/Tourist and is always booked as part of any tour that you may get through them to DaLat. I am sure there are better places to stay in this city, and next time I will find a better place for sure. While the rooms are still clean and well maintained the quality of the breakfast remains as it always has been, just a bit weak. Not much offered in the way of food. On the second day of my stay I went next door to the V'Cherry restaurant for breakfast, much better and very cheap as well. In my opinion Sinh Tourist is no longer what it used to be. They do not care about their customers and deliver only shoddy service at best.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnnie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

NOTE: I got this as part of a tour package with Sinh Tourist who I recommend for travel and some hotel stays but not this particular place imho. Because it was part of a package I'm not sure how much I paid but I was asked to pay an extra $20 for an upgrade to the family room because they ran out of normal rooms. I stayed 2 nights in a double room and a family room.

Pros:
Location - very convenient to get to most places by foot if the weather permits (which it often does). Sinh Tourist office is situated next door.
English speaking reception - not perfect English but good enough to communicate.

Cons:
Mosquitoes - there were at least 3 I counted in the bathroom. Under normal circumstances I wouldn't fault a hotel over this but in this case there was a hole in the wall of the bathroom (like a few bricks missing) which is where the bugs came from.

Cold water with no pressure - the water tank for a shower was damaged and taped by vinyl flooring (??) and there was very little water pressure and no hot water. The weather in Da Lat can get a little cold.

There was a lizard running around the room and lizard droppings all over the furniture (including the bed sheets).

Single glazing windows - if you're a light sleeper you will hear ALL of the traffic and people noise and it is on a busy main road.

Food - breakfast was always finished when we came down (at 7:30ish). There was an okay selection but I saw flies which put me off.

Final words:
No AC - Da Lat although sometimes cold, is sometimes hot and there is no A/C (this is more of a warning than a Con).

No elevator - if you're disabled or find stairs difficult to climb, there is no elevator and the stairs do get tiring.

I looked up other hotels and saw 3 and 4 star hotels for very cheap. If I hadn't already paid as part of my package I would have looked elsewhere and would recommend you do the same. This place is unfortunately a bad representation of Sinh Tourism so I genuinely hope they improve.

Room Tip: Don't go for the top floor because the stairs get tiring after a while and the bathroom wasn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rajdsingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013 via mobile

We booked through The Sinh Tourist and stayed 2 nights. They only had a family room available on the second night so made us pay an extra $20. The hot water is hit and miss, mostly miss, was forced to have a cold shower (its cold in Da Lat at night). The bathrooms are disgusting, visible yellow stains and dirt. The crevices are extremely dirty and the furniture dusty. There are yellow stains on our sheets which look like cigarette burns. The towels are hard and the bins were not empty. If you are unfortunate enough to have a front street view, the single glazing will ensure that you hear everything that happens on the busy main road all night long. The staff were okay, 1 was helpful but others were not. There was a lizard ripening around the room too. There is no lift so if you are on the third floor is quite a walk up and down. By 7.30 the 6.45 breakfast is no more. You would be lucky to get a piece of fruit and a toast perhaps with cold bowl of noodles. There was a fly on the fruit that we did get to see. Do yourself a favour, don't stay here. This place is miserable. The only good thing about it is location, they have a TV and toiletries in the bathroom. 10/10 would never stay here again unless utterly desperate with zero other options.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MiniRobot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

This hotel is great value and pretty central to the main areas of Dalat. The rooms are clean and comfortable and for $25 a night you can have city views and a large balcony. It is owned by Sinh Tourist which has a booking office on the premises which makes arranging tours and bus tickets very easy.

Room Tip: City view rooms have a good balcony but are a little noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheath27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Da Lat hotels
1.4 mi away
Giai Dieu Melody Hotel
Giai Dieu Melody Hotel
#25 of 85 in Da Lat
32 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hong Mon Villa
Hong Mon Villa
#19 of 85 in Da Lat
85 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vu Thanh Hotel
Vu Thanh Hotel
#45 of 85 in Da Lat
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Himalaya Phoenix DaLat Hotel
0.4 mi away
Tulip Hotel III
Tulip Hotel III
#32 of 85 in Da Lat
18 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dreams Hotel
Dreams Hotel
#1 of 85 in Da Lat
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trung Cang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trung Cang Hotel

Address: 22 Bui Thi Xuan St, Da Lat, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Lam Dong Province > Da Lat
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 85 Hotels in Da Lat
Price Range: £11 - £18 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Trung Cang Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Trung Cang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing