We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting market” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dalat Market

Dalat Market
Ranked #10 of 85 things to do in Da Lat
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This enormous market is where the locals shop for vegetables, fruit and wine.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Interesting market”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

Visit local market definitely one of my favourites in journey. Lots of things to try over here like foods or strawberry! Local goods and bargain

Helpful?
Thank wongw882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    129
    41
    12
    4
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Incredible place to discover the local food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Local market are always my favorite place to to check out the local produces. The market is huge, many shops sell the same thing but price may be vary. Just patiently to check out the price and bargain.

Local fresh produce such as artichokes, dried fruits, vegetables, flowers, local wine, candies, coffee and lots more are available here throughout the day. The market will full of enjoyment during the festival season. We was so lucky to see the lion dance to every store for fortune wish on a day before of Moon cake Festival.

Tips:
- Min 1 to 2 hours stop.
- Always survey the price on every store. Some store will not display the price tag on the products they sold.
-Always look for a store available for taste test. So, you will definitely buy the right products according to your taste.
-Recommended: Artiso flower tea (The product have two grade available, look for the first grade) and roasted lotus seed.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shya83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coolum Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Incredible presentation of produce”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

I love the way the broccoli and cauliflower is presented at the market. There is no foul odour at this market (the same throughout Vietnam) and everything is fresh. Make sure you go upstairs where there are eateries. The food is great.
Because Dalat is 1500m elevation, some vegetables are grown here that aren't grown in most of Vietnam. The cuisine is a little different. Frogs are on the menu readily in Dalat.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shivo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Dalat surprise (The Lat tribal people)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Whilst in Dalat in September this year Footprint (our tour organiser) organised a visit to the Lat people. The Lat people as it turned out are a beautiful kind people who once lived in the mountains in the Dalat area however were moved to the outskirts of Dalat for their protection during the Vietnam war. They were given a parcel of land and started market gardening as they still do today. We were not only welcomed into their world through traditional dance and song but included into their dancing. What an absolute delight it is watching these wounerful people (mostly young) take us back to their world centuries old through their traditions and customs. We were given food and a large vat of their home made wine/spirts (or such like) was placed near us and long straws of plastic with thin bamboo were forced through the solid material inside the vat and we were invited to partake of the contents before us. Dance we did sing we did interact (through our interpreter Mr Hoan) we did and loved every bit of this tour. However something had me confused their traditional tribal dress, their dancing their customs did not to me seem Vietnamese and they did not look Vietnamese and as it turned out they are polynesian and made Vietnam their home centuries ago and held true to their culture in their homeland.
Such a beautiful friendly people we walked around their village, visited their school bought traditional Lat items from their shop and all agreed this was one tour that was a ten. Naturally as they had entertained us, before we sadly departed they insisted one of us sing them a song and the tour group all pointed to me since this was a spiritual encounted i had the Mr Hoan explain the song i selected to sing to them and sang Royal Telephone and they loved it (however not so me).
Mark this short half day tour as a must do what a honour to be in the presence of such a wounderful people and i for one will return to visit the Lat people of Dalat.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very big market”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

Many shops, souveniers, flowers and lot of food to buy. Good icecream. No toilet and lot of beggers.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank BinoSucie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dalat Market also viewed

Da Lat, Lam Dong Province
Da Lat, Lam Dong Province
 
Da Lat, Lam Dong Province
Da Lat, Lam Dong Province
 

Been to Dalat Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing