We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place!”

Thien Vien Truc Lam
Ranked #4 of 88 things to do in Da Lat
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This popular working religious complex, completed in 1994, includes a shrine and a monastery.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing place!”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Beautiful gardens with pagodas, pond full of fish fed by visitors, small waterfalls, quiet and peaceful place. Find time to visit this amazing place

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Альфира Д
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    422
    262
    83
    10
    3
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Don't know how this is No 2”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I'm not sure what the big deal is here, yes the view was nice but that's where it ends. The woman on the desk was rude and very unhelpful, we got there at 11.25am and paid for a return ticket. Once we got to the other side we found out that it was closed for lunch for 2 hours. There is nothing to see or do on the other side so we had to get a taxi back to our motor bikes. So we paid for a return ticket we couldn't use and had to pay for a taxi. She could have told us we wouldn't be able to get back. Beware. It closes between 11.30 and 1.30

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Alexandra-hotel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canaan, NY
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A memorable ride to a great place”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Even though I'm terrified of heights, even I had to recognize that the cable-car ride to Truc Lam was a remarkable experience not to be missed. Each group of passengers gets its own car (up to 4 people -- I was traveling alone, so I had a car to myself), and it's a long enough ride so you see some breathtaking country as you travel. At Truc Lam, the entrance and the main temple can be quite crowded, with busloads of tourists (mostly Vietnamese when I went there, which gave it a feeling of authenticity despite the crowds). But then you can move off to other parts of the grounds for a very peaceful walk. The many beautiful plants are helpfully labeled in Latin and English, as well as Vietnamese, so it's worth making time to look carefully at the gardens if you're interested in plants. You can come and go at your own pace -- the cable car runs constantly in both directions, except for what I gather is a midday break. But if you're a little dazed by the bustle and noise of Vietnamese cities (even including Da Lat, though it's certainly milder than Hanoi or Ho Chi Minh City), then this is a place to regain your equilibrium and tranquility.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank TonyPNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
87 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Worth going”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Return ticket cost 70,000VND which we thought was very cheap. The view along the way was beautiful with pine trees within reach. We did not visit any temple when we reached Truc Lam but went straight to the lake. Scenery was good and we took many great pictures there. Didn't stay long though as we wanted to catch the cable car service back before it shut down from 1130am-130pm for lunch.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank LinusLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tataouine, Tunisia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful temple”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This pagoda is a gem to visit. The temple is lovely as are the other buildings there. If you love flowers this is your place. The grounds are beautifully landscaped with gorgeous specimen plants. It was fun to see so many we have at home. There are a number of bonsai made from a variety of trees and plants.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank kerzhak0v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thien Vien Truc Lam also viewed

Da Lat, Lam Dong Province
Da Lat, Lam Dong Province
 
Da Lat, Lam Dong Province
Da Lat, Lam Dong Province
 

Been to Thien Vien Truc Lam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing