We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service, not so great room” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Chau Au Europa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Chau Au Europa
Ranked #39 of 73 Hotels in Da Lat
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great service, not so great room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2009

By far this hotel is memorable for the service. The owner and his wife run the hotel and it has a friendly, family feel about it as in the mornings you see their children go off to school and the whole family hangs around the lobby in the evenings. As soon as we got off the cab the husband and wife greeted us and insisted on carrying both our bags and showing us to our room, they also provide you with any information you need and recommend you restaurants.

Unfortunately our great first impression that the owners gave us was dampened slightly by the room. The price was good and for 15 USD we got a spacious room with a balcony and two beds as well as all the extras like wifi and cable TV, no breakfast though. But what really got to us was how the room looked, it was sparse with old-looking furniture and there were lizards at night which kinda freaked me out. The toilet was worse, though there was hot water with good water pressure, there was a strange hole in the wall that they partially covered with a piece of metal. The room also felt slightly dirty, not that there was trash lying around but the walls could have been scrubbed. Overall the room could have been better and we have definitely experienced smaller but way cosier and more comfortable rooms at other budget hotels in Vietnam.

Location-wise we had no complaints, Dalat is a small town and our hotel was within walking distance to the market, lake and a great and cheap restaurant named Tu Anh's Orginal Peace Cafe where we had dinner twice.

As for safety, Dalat was less crowded than Ho Chi Minh City and we felt safer on the streets. Nevertheless we kept our valuables with the hotel safety-deposit box at the reception and everything was in order when we left.

As a whole we would recommend this hotel for its fantastic service, price (one of the bigger budget hotel rooms in Vietnam), location and safety, but for those who prefer a more comfortable room you ought to consider another place.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pekoebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    28
    13
    3
    4
See reviews for
6
32
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Paradise
Level Contributor
231 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2009

We stayed three nights in Hotel Chau Au Europa in Dalat. The hotel is not brand new, and some things even look a bit out-dated, but overall it was a nice place to stay. We had a big room, with two double beds and a balcony overlooking the street. And that for 18 USD.

You can order the breakfast with any item you like for a reasonable price.

The hotel is a few hundred meters from the central market.

Laundry was clean and on time. There are three Internet computers in the lobby (free), and free wifi throughout the hotel.

The hotel staaf is uber-friendly. The son plays the piano very well.

If you arrive after 22:00, the hotel fence is *almost* closed and you should knock on the window. The fence is completely closed after 23:00, but so is Dalat, so no big problem there.

And: "Chau Au" is Vietnamese for "Europe". So, if the touts are shouting "Hey, where do you come from", you can now say "Chau Au". ;-)

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva-Quirinius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2008

Nice place, and really lovely man who runs it, but the family who live there (mainly the women, it has to be said...sorry!) continually woke me up around 6.30am every day by shouting loudly up and down the stairwelll, right outside my bedroom. This wasn't just a one off, i stayed for 4 nights, and everyday it was the same story. While it is a nice, clean guesthouse with good showers and (very slow) free wifi, i'd recommend staying somewhere else if you value your sleep.

  • Liked — clean rooms, lovely manager, good shower
  • Disliked — the continual shouting and screaming of vietnamese women and children!
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jopheza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vietnam
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2008

We we're really unhappy with this hotel!! they supposably have an 11.30pm lock out but we arrived back at the hotel one night at 10pm and the doors we're cadged shut.we bashed on the doors and called the hotel reception constantly for an hour before they finally opened the doors an a hour later!! this is not the kind of hotel i would reccommend to young people or anybody that wants to stay out after 10pm!!

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
Thank camillaVietnam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2008

My sister and I arrived here and stayed in one of the bigger rooms at the front of the building and one of the smaller ones. The bigger one was much more comfortable, however, both were clean, fairly basic but TV etc.. We found the owners incredibly charming, they were warm, welcoming and helpful and I would recommend this hotel to a friend if they were going to Dalat as it is incredibly reasonable and safe.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank emilyjane1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
176 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2008

Most of the more popular hotels in town were booked up (eg Dreams) but my moto driver recommended this one and I'm glad he did.

I'd really like to commend the staff working at the hotel. In all my months of traveling I've never come across staff as friendly and as helpful as the family who own Eurpoa Hotel.

At $12 a night it was a real bargain, and the room had everything you'd need. It's within walking distance to the center of town and just far enough away to avoid the noise.

I highly recommend this hotel, and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Darren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klang
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2008

I get to know this hotel from my Vietnamise friend while I am working in Vietnam. Together with my wife, we are quite satisfied with the service of the hotel. The most important thing is that this hotel is free from the street noise even though it only take 5 minutes walk to the Dalat Market. We had a very good rest in this hotel. The owner of this hotel is very helpful. With his help, I managed to rent a motorbike and enjoy a day tour with a local English speaking tour guide. There is a small local sea food shop beside the hotel serve a very fresh BBQ sea food with a very resonable price. No harm to try if you can accept the local restaurant environment.....
But one thing which I don't undestand is that my wife and I get sun brunt in Dalat??!!

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank S2L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Da Lat hotels
0.8 mi away
Himalaya Phoenix DaLat Hotel
1.3 mi away
Giai Dieu Melody Hotel
Giai Dieu Melody Hotel
#27 of 73 in Da Lat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.5 mi away
Trung Cang Hotel
Trung Cang Hotel
#41 of 73 in Da Lat
3.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Peace Hotel (Hoa Binh)
Peace Hotel (Hoa Binh)
#50 of 73 in Da Lat
3.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hoang Minh Chau
Hotel Hoang Minh Chau
#28 of 73 in Da Lat
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Dai Loi (Fortune Hotel)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chau Au Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chau Au Europa

Property: Hotel Chau Au Europa
Address: 76 Nguyen Chi Thanh, Da Lat, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Lam Dong Province > Da Lat
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 73 Hotels in Da Lat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Chau Au Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chau Au Europa Hotel
Chau Au Europa Dalat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing