We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ho Chi Monu monu monu monu mon!!!Viet namu namu namu namu nam!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Da Lat
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dalat Family Hostel
Ranked #11 of 617 Speciality Lodging in Da Lat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Loved it here,arrived at 6 in the morning and greeted with Mama stuffing my face with papaya and bananas.The girls were great and friendly.Great to meet people at dinner time,mama cooks for everyone and we all sit on the floor and eat together.if your a guy you are probably washing up after.Anni or Baby will bring you down to the bar after for a few beers.The dorm rooms are up stairs and just mattresses beside each other on the floor.Not a lot of space but you`ll make do.I stayed for 3 days and nights.Got to meet some cool people and learned Mamas song.
If you go to Dalat its the only place to stay.

Room Tip: A bit tough to find so maybe arrange one of the girls to meet you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ross M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (306)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 306 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Dalat family hostel with my boyfriend in October till November, Anni meet us at the center of Dalat and we instant got a good connection, and Anni showed us around for amazing eatingplaces and things to see and experience. The doorm was cozy and nice, In the morning she woke us up and took us to the local breakfast places where we eat something she called soi? We had plan to just stay there for 3 days but ended to staying for 3 weeks.
Really recommend staying her for a unforgettable time with genuine, beautiful people. If your what to see the real dalat and the real people go here:)

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Mari K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This hostel is perfect for meeting people, going out, staying in, making new friends, and seeing Dalat in a different way. The owners are the friendliest women, making your stay so much fun. Mumma cooks an amazing family meal every night and then Crazy takes everyone who wants to out for the evening, which is so much fun and everyone gets involved! In the day if you're not sure what to do they will take you out somewhere, for instance one morning the owner, Annie, took a group of us swimming.We met some amazing friends there who we have now stuck around with for a while, and we are constantly meeting people who are talking about there amazing stay here! We only planned on staying in Dalat for a few days and endedup staying a whole week because we couldn't leave this hostel! Strongly recommend this place for anyone visiting Dalat you'll have the best time!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank polley2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

The people that run this hostel is what makes this place. They are so so welcoming. As soon as I arrived they fed me up on fresh fruit and rice and kept on offering me more until I said no. Yes, the beds aren't ideal - they're very close together and there's not a great deal of space but you really get to meet everyone at the hostel, as you have a delicious all you can eat family dinner ($2) cooked by Mama. She carries on cooking until everyone is full. There's a lot of variety in the food - tofu, chicken, pork, vegetables, soup etc. The beds were very comfy and very snug. It was very clean and the showers were hot. Mama offers you fresh fruit throughout the day, which you don't pay for. There's a cafe opposite that serves extremely cheap food and drink. When I left, Mama and her daughter Crazy gave me massive hugs and more food for my journey. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for something a little bit different and wanting to meet lots of people.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SophieP23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed my time here. Loved the atmosphere and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Appreciated the offer to take everyone out to a bar every night if desired. Motorbike rentals were easy and cheap and were a fun way to see the area.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexmacanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

In two months of travelling South Eastern Asia (Thailand/Laos/Vietnam) this is by far the most fun hostel I've been too! The accommodations are basic but satisfactory, but the people and staff really turned my visit into a great time. It really becomes your family within hours! Momma and Crazy ( and Thung!), you rock!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Amazing back packer feel
Gets you to know people very quickly and easily
Lots of options in meals and cheap
Best hostel I've stayed at in Asia
Nice hot showers
Will organise canyoning at discounted price
Cheap beer! 40p a go

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank erlusby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Da Lat hotels
1 mi away
Da Lat Backpackers Hostel
1.9 mi away
Dalat Sky Hostel
Dalat Sky Hostel
#3 of 617 in Da Lat
256 reviews
2 mi away
Wolfpack Hostel
Wolfpack Hostel
#5 of 617 in Da Lat
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Tay Backpackers Hostel
Tay Backpackers Hostel
#15 of 617 in Da Lat
70 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cozy Nook Hostel
Cozy Nook Hostel
#1 of 617 in Da Lat
391 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tiny Tigers Hostel
Tiny Tigers Hostel
#2 of 617 in Da Lat
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalat Family Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalat Family Hostel

Address: 19 A Trieu Viet Vuong, Da Lat 670000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Lam Dong Province > Da Lat
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 617 Speciality Lodging in Da Lat
Price Range: £4 - £11 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Crazy House! Dalat Family Hostel provides a unique, fun, and family-like environment that is unparalleled by any other hostels. We understand that when you are traveling you are looking for new experiences. We promise that this hostel will be an experience unlike any other you will have in Vietnam, or even the world. Dalat Family Hostel, located in Dalat City, is a popular choice for travelers in a quiet, local, neighborhood with a nice panoramic view of the park and city. You will be greeted by either Mama, "Crazy", or Anni upon arrival. Don't be too shy because we certainly aren't. Once you arrive, a member of our staff will take you out to try the local food and services (i.e sauna, massage, etc.). At Dalat Family Hostel you will be able to experience Vietnamese life from inside. The hostel is right next to many coffee places, restaurants, bars, pagodas and other tourist attractions. The local market is just a 2-minute walk from our location. Dalat Family Hostel is also close to popular city attractions such as Linh Son Pagoda (50m), Dalat University (0.87 km), Xuan Huong lake (1.4 km), Da Lat Flower Park (1.7 km), Golf Course (1.9 km), and Domaine Cathedral (2.4 km). Aside from the many attractions, in the city, there are also various activities on the outskirts of Dalat. You can go on a waterfall cannoning tour (an absolute must) or a motorbike tour to see the breathtaking mountainous landscape. We can tell you many other great things to do and visit in Da Lat during your time here as well. In the evening at 5:30 PM, guests gather around the common area for a meal served by Mama, your surrogate mother. The food is delicious and inexpensive, but what family dinner really brings is a great atmosphere to meet people and to enjoy a Vietnamese-style family dinner. After dinner, you can enjoy conversation and cheap beer for a little while before one of the girls takes everyone out to a local bar or karaoke club. We will make sure that your stay in Dalat is memorable and something that you will talk about after your trip. We want it to feel like home. Talk to other travelers and they will agree: Dalat family hostel is special. Give our hostel a try and we will make sure that you won't be disappointed. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing