We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Real crazy house of dalat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dalat Family Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dalat Family Hostel
Ranked #11 of 295 Speciality Lodging in Da Lat
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Real crazy house of dalat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hostel within booking. We turned up in the morning and we offered watermelon and a welcome drink. Everything seems normal, friendly staff,nice welcome, nice looking rooms. Then you meet the family! Everything changes after that, family hostel is run by a family mama and her daughter An they are mad through and through I have never seen people with as much energy as these two and their staff. We were ll taken out for a family meal (there were about 40 of us) we all drank together then to the pub together, with An and her sister providing all the entertainment you need. It is truly the crazies place I have ever stayed and the most memorable, would highly recommend it as it is a da lat experience in itself!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    50
    22
    8
    9
See reviews for
5
32
75
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

The Dalat Family Hostel was definitely one of the best hostels we've stayed in in Southeast Asia! Mom and the girls were unbelievable hosts and organised the whole hostel to go for dinner together and then out for drinks together! Everyone had a great time and everyone was in agreement that it was one of the best hostels they've stayed in on their travels! A great price for the experience!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Andreworourke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

This is by far the most impressive hostel I have stayed at!!! It's staff are the nicest and most inviting people you will ever meet!! Not staying here will be your biggest mistake on your vietnam trip! A very social place where you will meet twenty travelers every night! Be ready for some fun songs and drinking games!

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

When you go to Dalat, Dalat family hostel is the place to be. The hostel is run by Annie and she's helped by 'mama' and her sister 'crazy'. The hostel itself is an experience! Mama only speaks Vietnamese but understands beer and water orders and cooks a lovely 'family dinner' every evening, which is basically a vietnamese all you can eat buffet for just a dollar. Annie's and Crazy's English is perfect so it's easy to book everything with them and both are happy to show you around Dalat on the day just for free :). They take you to the tourist attractions but also give you taste of the local food and show you the places you otherwise wouldn't find. On top of that they give you a lot of cuddles and love. All in all an amazing experience that you wouldn't want to miss out on. Miss my crazy family!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlottebijl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kericho, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Most fun hostel I have ever stayed in, Mama, Annie and Crazy are incredible hosts and the madness never stops! Booked in for 2 nights and ended up staying 4. Although space is slightly lacking I met the most lovely people and it was very cosy!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank krissiegrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Loved it here,arrived at 6 in the morning and greeted with Mama stuffing my face with papaya and bananas.The girls were great and friendly.Great to meet people at dinner time,mama cooks for everyone and we all sit on the floor and eat together.if your a guy you are probably washing up after.Anni or Baby will bring you down to the bar after for a few beers.The dorm rooms are up stairs and just mattresses beside each other on the floor.Not a lot of space but you`ll make do.I stayed for 3 days and nights.Got to meet some cool people and learned Mamas song.
If you go to Dalat its the only place to stay.

Room Tip: A bit tough to find so maybe arrange one of the girls to meet you
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ross M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Dalat family hostel with my boyfriend in October till November, Anni meet us at the center of Dalat and we instant got a good connection, and Anni showed us around for amazing eatingplaces and things to see and experience. The doorm was cozy and nice, In the morning she woke us up and took us to the local breakfast places where we eat something she called soi? We had plan to just stay there for 3 days but ended to staying for 3 weeks.
Really recommend staying her for a unforgettable time with genuine, beautiful people. If your what to see the real dalat and the real people go here:)

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Mari K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Da Lat hotels
1.7 mi away
ZEN Valley Dalat
ZEN Valley Dalat
#6 of 73 in Da Lat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dalat Garden Homestay
Dalat Garden Homestay
#26 of 253 in Da Lat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sleep In Dalat Hostel
Sleep In Dalat Hostel
#8 of 295 in Da Lat
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ken's House Backpackers
Ken's House Backpackers
#29 of 253 in Da Lat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hai Long Vuong Hotel
Hai Long Vuong Hotel
#1 of 253 in Da Lat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
1.1 mi away
Dalat Easy Friends Hostel
Dalat Easy Friends Hostel
#16 of 295 in Da Lat
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalat Family Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalat Family Hostel

Property: Dalat Family Hostel
Address: Small treet 03 Thong Thien Hoc, Ward 02, Da Lat 670000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Lam Dong Province > Da Lat
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 295 Speciality Lodging in Da Lat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Crazy House! Dalat Family Hostel provides a unique, fun, family environment that is unparalleled by any other hostel. We understand that when you are traveling you are looking for new experiences. We promise that this hostel will be an experience unlike any other you will have in Vietnam, or even the world. Dalat Family Hostel, located in Dalat City Center, is a popular choice for travelers and is in a quiet, local neighborhood with a nice panoramic view of the park and city. You will be greeted by either Mama, "Crazy", or Anni upon arrival. Don't be too shy because we certainly aren't. There, one of the staff will take you out to try the local food and services (sauna and massage). Here, you will be able to experience Vietnamese life from inside. The hostel is right next to many coffee places, restaurants, bars, pagodas and other tourist attractions. The local market is just a 2 minute walk from here. Dalat Family Hostel is also close to popular city attractions such as Linh Son Pagoda (50m), Dalat University (0.87 km), Xuan Huong lake (1.4 km), Da Lat Flower Park (1.7 km), Golf Course (1.9 km), and Domaine Cathedral (2.4 km). Aside from the many attractions, you can try a waterfall canyoning tour (an absolute must) or a motorbike tour during the day in Da Lat. We can tell you many other great things to do and visit in Da Lat during your time here as well. In the evening at 5:30 PM, guests gather around the common area for a meal served by Mama, your surrogate mother. The food is delicious and inexpensive, but what family dinner really brings is a great atmosphere to meet people and to enjoy a Vietnamese family dinner. After dinner you can enjoy conversation and cheap beer for a little while before one of the girls takes everyone out to the local bar or karaoke. We will make sure that your stay in Da Lat is memorable and something that you will talk about after your trip. We want it to feel like home. Talk to other travelers and they will agree: Dalat family hostel is special. Please give our hostel a try and we will make sure that you won't be disappointed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Dalat Family Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing