We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very good place to stay but not exceptional” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ana Mandara Villas Dalat Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ana Mandara Villas Dalat Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 73 Hotels in Da Lat
Certificate of Excellence
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“A very good place to stay but not exceptional”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

The staff here at this resort are excellent from the moment you check in to the minute you leave. You are assigned a personal host who goes out of their way to ensure your stay is a pleasant one. The location is away from the centre of town but that is what we prefer, away from the bustle - there is a free shuttle anyway. Rooms are quirky but had a number of pleasant touches such as chocolates daily and artichoke tea. The restaurant is good but the prices are over the top for the standard - service is once again of a very high standard. Breakfast was also very enjoyable with lots of choices to suit international tastes. Our only concern was loud noise nightly from a bar/karaoke which started up nightly at about 7 30 and went on until about 11 - hardly fitting in with the tranquility marketing!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cooltravelling2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    151
    60
    16
    10
See reviews for
110
275
20
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
176 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

I stayed at the ana mandara for one night. it was a beautiful quiet location and a very relaxing stay. the villa room was very comfortable, and full of quaint furniture!. The staff were all very helpful and smiled throughout. Breakfast was excellent on the terrace overlooking the town. I left feeling very chilled for the enxt leg of my trip!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ukrandomtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

We stayed here for three nights Jan 10-13th, 2013, based on the reviews from people on TripAdvisor as well as from a recommendation from a friend. We were quite pleased with the check-in process and welcoming ginger tea. The property is beautiful and well kept. The villas are indeed quite old and as well as the rooms (we stayed in villa 15 room 1502). There was no where to pack one's clothing in the room; only a little boudoir to hang some items. We also had a similar problem as mentioned by another reviewer with the curtain in the shower not being long enough to cover the window. We rigged up a towel to block the gap, which worked, but we found this sort of detail disappointing for a five start resort. Also, in an attempt to maintain the integrity of the room and villas, management appears to have overlooked the giant stains on the walls inside the room as well as in the hallway, and sound proofing is a MAJOR issue. My husband and I could hear EVERY SINGLE NOISE BY THE OTHER GUESTS in and out of there rooms, it was ridiculous (thank goodness I always travel with ear plugs!). If this place is going to call it self a five star resort, they have some much needed work to do... And this goes for improving the quality of their onsite spa... Some of those ladies need to be trained (or retrained) in proper message techniques, especially for the prices they charge.

The PROS: The staff are exceptional. They go above and beyond and appeared very sincere during our interactions. The restaurant food was delicious!!!! AND vegetarian friendly! Swimming pool was lovely, but it was a bit cold out to go for a dip. Amenities- (steam room, sauna; billiard table). The breakfast buffet was delicious and had a multiple options, truly top notch! One guest mentioned an "a la carte" menu with limited choices, but this was not are experience at all. In fact, I didn't even know they had any other choice except the buffet. Lastly, the bed was quite comfortable and soft- which is rare in Vietnam.

We would stay here again? Probably not, particularly due to the discrepancy between cost and quality.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLE_PNW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel for two nights in January 13.
The hotel located far from the city center in a very beautiful location, surrounded by trees and overlooking the city.
Upon arrival we were greeted with a ginger green tea, which was delicious.
At first we got a room in villa number 15. The room was relatively small, the wifi didn't work and the curtain in the shower wasn't long enough to cover the window. After we complained we were transferred to villa number 4. The room was much better with a nice balcony overlooking the city.
The hotel has a lovely swimming pool and a small gym.
Don't order tours from the hotel as the prices are triple from what you get in the city.
We were a bit disappointed by the quality of the breakfast. It was " a la carte " menu with limited choice of food. The eggs Benedict wasn't good and the Asian dim sum felt like an industrial product and not specially made. The fruits choice was limited, be sure to ask for "mangosteen," as they don't bring in a regular plate.
Another thing that needs some improvement is the shuttle bus service. The hotel offers only two buses to the city during the day. The price of a taxi is cheap ( 2$), but you can expect the hotel to offer more free buses to the city, at least one at the evening .
Overall we enjoyed very much our stay and recommend it as a good place to stay in Dalat.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gadidan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013

Ana mandara Dalat is almost perfect. Lets start with the nice things. Location & villas ( villa 13) are amazing. Villas are really old, colonial style. Great pool, sauna & steam bath, all included. Roomservice is good, I just missed salt & pepper which was not given. Turndown service great as they were very professional & privacy aware. Some of the host speak very well English. Some of them don’t. Garden could be maintained a bit more to make the impression extraordinary. Breakfast is very good. Great pastry and poached eggs are no problem to make. Good waiters in the restaurant for lunch and breakfast. The points of improvement I think are the flipflops. They are old( thus very slippery) & way too large ( I have size 9). Moreover, in the breakfast, there is no fresh orange juice. I asked the waiter if he could make one, but no. I kind of expect fresh orange juice in 5* hotel of Da Lat. The hotel offers a buggy service, nice, but when I was waiting in the welcome sala (reception) it took 5 minutes to drive the buggy (not electric!) out of the carport to pick me up, while I could see the three porter guys doing not too much. I think buggy service could be more efficient. If not, give me a timeframe as guest then I know what is going on.
I liked that we had Lynn from the reception to ask everyday how we were doing and what our plan was but it could even be more personal. In the hotel they booked perfect tickets for us going to Nha trang. Well done. Overall, we had a very nice stay and I can recommend this place!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leonado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
121 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

Was here for two night in December 2012.
Dalat is a great place to stay for 2/3 days, lots of acrivities to do renting a scooter and going around.
The Ana Mandala Villas was our luxury choise (we are half backpakers half lux guys...) and it was worth the money spent (less then 100 Euro per night).
The rooms (the cheep ones) are 4 in each villa so you are not totally alone.
The room has balcony and in each villa there is a very nice "share" area where to read or relax on the sofa.
The room is not so big and did not have much place to leave laugage, jakets and all our stuff.
The bath tub is in the room which is nice but, agian, not so handy.
The VC is in a separate small room.
We did not experience the pool (the air is is about 15 degrees in winter) nor the Spa or the restaurant (to expencive...), breakfast is very good.

Room Tip: Lots of space between one villa and the other
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pajoinviaggio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tx
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

Our iPad was stolen from our room when staff clean our room. Address issue to hotel mgr. It was not resolve like most 5 stars hotel. It ruin the rest of our anniv trip. Our young kids were out of touch w us in the states. Our personal info was infringed. Matter has not been resolved yet. It is shame that corporate has not step in to resolve this concern.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank T N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Da Lat hotels
2.7 mi away
ZEN Valley Dalat
ZEN Valley Dalat
#6 of 73 in Da Lat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
1.1 mi away
Du Parc Hotel Dalat
Du Parc Hotel Dalat
#7 of 73 in Da Lat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
3.8 mi away
Binh An Village Dalat
Binh An Village Dalat
#16 of 73 in Da Lat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Dalat Palace Heritage Hotel
0.9 mi away
Villa Vista Hotel
Villa Vista Hotel
#2 of 73 in Da Lat
5.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dreams Hotel
Dreams Hotel
#1 of 73 in Da Lat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ana Mandara Villas Dalat Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ana Mandara Villas Dalat Resort & Spa

Property: Ana Mandara Villas Dalat Resort & Spa
Address: Le Lai Street, Ward 5, Da Lat 61000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Lam Dong Province > Da Lat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Da Lat
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Da Lat
#2 Spa Hotel in Da Lat
#2 Family Hotel in Da Lat
#3 Romantic Hotel in Da Lat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ana Mandara Villas Dalat Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 72 rooms resort, restaurant and spa set in the rural highlands of Dalat, Vietnam comprises seventeen fully restored French colonial villas each originally constructed between the 1920's and 1930's. The villas retain the unique personalities of their original owners while being lovingly restored to their former glory, with all care taken to preserve original design, decor and charm. Of the seventeen villas on site, fifteen have been converted into fully serviced hotel accommodations with the remaining two villas being converted into our Restaurant and Six Senses Spa, respectively. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Fastbooking so you can book your Ana Mandara Villas Dalat Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ana Mandara Villas Dalat Hotel Dalat
Ana Mandara Villas Dalat Resort And Spa
Ana Mandara Hotel Dalat
Ana Mandara Resort Dalat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing