We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid”
Review of Cam Do Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cam Do Hotel
Ranked #60 of 77 Hotels in Da Lat
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Avoid”
Reviewed 24 January 2011

Do not stay here! When we found out our first 4 hotel preferences in Dalat were fully booked, we came across this place and thought it looked ok. We found out pretty quickly that we were wrong about that. The staff were rude, and we were constantly ignored in preference of local guests. We chose a 'quiet' room in preference of a view - however, like the other review say, this place is loud! Our room had a window (leading into the corridor!!) which seemed to filter any noise directly into the room. And yes, there was karaoke - we did have ear plugs, but they didn't help much! The room was smelly/dirty, with a whole corner attacked by rising damp. Was glad to get out of here!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank penguinpercy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    5
    7
    7
    7
See reviews for
5
15
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights and were woken at about 6am both mornings to ABBA blasting on the ground floor!! Rooms are spacious but we had a mouse leaving droppings all over our room. We were on the1st floor just above reception and it was very noisy. Especially in the morning!! The woman on reception wasn't helpful and didnt speak very good english. Very basic, noisy and if I went to Da Lat again I wouldn't stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HammaNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Da Lat hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2010

We arrived in DaLat 2 days ago by bus, and found that the Dreams Hotel 1 was full and came across the Cam Do hotel while walking around. The hotel is classed 3 star and we stayed in a suite (this was because it was the only room available - and got a bargain price of $30USD/night). The suite has 2 very comfortable beds, a queen and single, a large wooden wardrobe, bathtub/shower combination in ensuite with 1 wash basin (with independent hot water system!! A plus), 2 large windows looking onto the back of the hotel and also the side street. Apparently, it is not as noisy as the rooms facing the main street, but I beg to differ. The windows are not double glazed glass, so the street noise can be heard, however, the majority of the noise travels from the hallways and other floors due to the cavity from the lobby. I have had to roll up some towels as a door snake to try to block the noise, and smoke! We have discovered that Vietnamese people love to smoke in hotels. The staff at the front desk are very helpful even though they do not have fantastic English. We booked a countryside tour ($20) but this was cancelled due to rainy weather and dangerous road conditions, and we ended up doing the city tour instead ($14) and getting a refund for the difference.

The spa is on the basement level, and was too smokey for me to explore. The gym was closed. Internet is available on two very old computers on the lobby level next to the front desk. Note: the rooms do not have A/C and it is very cold at night at this time. Bring something warm to wear.

Please note that there are a few Vietnamese guides who speak extremely good English and try to sell you tours/hotels. We walked pass one gentleman selling a motorcycle tour to some European tourists at a local restaurant - tours should only cost $20-$30 for full day (depending on where you go). When we arrived by bus we were approached by a gentleman in a green jacket, who took us to a hotel he recommended since we did not have anything booked (the beauty of backpacking) - I have had this experience before, but decided to see if his deal was any good. The bus company offered free taxi to your preferred/booked hotel so we could have just got a taxi to Dreams Hotel 1, but ended up walking. The villa he showed us was close by, therefore it wasn't a concern. For other travellers, please be aware of this and do your research so you know what to expect.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CandiedRosePetals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heathcote, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2010

We stayed at the Cam Do hotel for 3 nights. The staff are very friendly and helpful, even helped us organise day trips around Dalat and surrounding country side. The breakfast is more suited to the Vietnamese tourist, rather than the western ones, but this would probably change if/when more western tourists visit. The coffee is really awful! If you are going to stay here and you are like me and need to have a coffee fix in the morning, I really suggest you take your own. It is in a really good location, close to the markets, restaurants etc so getting out and about is no problem at all.
The rooms are really clean, however are really, really noisy, no matter what time of day/night it is. We had a room overlooking the street and the noise was worse than I have experienced in larger Vietnam centres, including HCM & Hanoi.
We did have a good stay here, but would only recommend to people that are able to sleep regardless of noise.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happytrails222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
182 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2007

For the town of Dalat, the hotel was okay. Rooms were a good size and clean, however unbelievably noisy. If you are on the street side you listen to the motorcycles all night and if you are on the back side you hear the market and the residents. It is abit of a distance from the center of town. The breakfast was horrible but that is consistent with all of Vietnam.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Tikkadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Da Lat hotels
0.5 mi away
Kings Hotel Dalat
Kings Hotel Dalat
#48 of 77 in Da Lat
26 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tulip Hotel III
Tulip Hotel III
#32 of 77 in Da Lat
13 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vu Thanh Hotel
Vu Thanh Hotel
#31 of 77 in Da Lat
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Chau Au Europa
Hotel Chau Au Europa
#43 of 77 in Da Lat
75 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dai Loi (Fortune Hotel)
0.4 mi away
Rum Vang II Hotel
Rum Vang II Hotel
#50 of 77 in Da Lat
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cam Do Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cam Do Hotel

Property: Cam Do Hotel
Address: 81 Phan Dinh Phung Street, Da Lat, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Lam Dong Province > Da Lat
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 77 Hotels in Da Lat
Hotel Class:3 star — Cam Do Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cam Do Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing