We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks for everything”
Review of Thien An Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Da Lat
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Thien An Hotel
Ranked #4 of 77 Hotels in Da Lat
Certificate of Excellence
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Thanks for everything”
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Came to Dalat from Saigon to get out of the heat for a few days, I were planning on staying 2 nights but I've ended on staying 6! (and i still don't want to leave my lovely room). I had a great time here, it has been the best place I've stayed so far on my travels. The room was spacious and homey. The breakfast was fantastic and the staff were always ready to help. If you have not got the picture so far, I think this place is great and will recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SarahReilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    100
    13
    1
    0
See reviews for
39
165
39
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2011

The rooms were spacious and very clean. The owners very nice. They were very helpful with organizing stuff. Breakfast was ok as well.
One drawback was the location. It is quite a walk along a busy street to get into the city centre. The other drawback was the noise, but that's a general problem in Vietnam's guesthouses.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrefloD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

Not the best first impression when my Vietnamese friend phoned them up to make the booking - the first question that the hotel asked was "are you vietnamese or foreign?'. My friend replied Vietnamese (they are, I am not) the hotel replied 'we dont have vietnamese staying here, only foreigners' and promptly finished the conversation. A big rip-off red flag.

Despite this I went anyway, as Dreams wasnt available and there was a good online discount. Hotel is quite a long way from any of the places you would want to see, so they have a couple of motorbikes that can be rented. If you want to see the city, you will have to rent these, go on a city tour (I would suggest booking this in a city centre agency or you will have to pay double booking commission to both the hotel and the agency) or be prepared for quite a hike to see any of the sights or find a nice restaurant. Da lat is a beautiful city, this hotel didnt help.

Not a disastrously bad place, but unfriendly and inconvenient, wouldnt recommend.

Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank JS_HCMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

We stayed for four days at Thien An. The couple that run the hotel are very professional and can book tours. Bicycles are offered, and motorbikes for rent on premise. Free internet, communal breakfast, and very affordable. A little bit of a walk to town but with Dalat's cool weather it was no bother. The hotel was very clean, and it was a pleasure to stay here. Excellent value for the price.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzieQnSteven2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Da Lat, Vietnam
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Very nice hotel, almost in the center, favorable price. Great accommodation and breakfast, excellent service (breakfast and bike rental included). Owners very nice and willing. Possibility of renting bikes for a low price.
Period of stay: 25 - 28.6. 2011
we recommend, Czech & Slovak republic

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drTurnovsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

Thien An is a really lovely hotel. An easy walk from the center of Dalat, the roomsand bathroom are beautiful, the beds very comfortable. The breakfast is excellent. everything you could wish for. And the owner very helpful. i was really grateful for his good tips. there are several computers in the lobby for the guests to use, which is very convenient. If I ever return to Dalat I will certainly go to this hotel again.
Ruth

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruthdick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
As, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2011

We first went to another hotel but when the people of the hotel started to work and make noise at 6am we decided to search for another hotel. On TripAdvisor we found Dreams Hotel but when arriving there it was already full. They redirected us to her brother who had another hotel in the same street: Thuan An. The hotel looks beautiful and the manager is very friendly. Wifi is available in the whole hotel (which can not be said of other hotels!). The manager also helps with planning our trip with a Easy Rider and provides us a map of Da Lat.
After visiting other cheap hotels, this hotel certainly deserves a recommendation. It's worth the price and has a very good bed and service.

Room Tip: Ask to view the rooms first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YoniM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Da Lat hotels
0.7 mi away
Tulip Hotel
Tulip Hotel
#5 of 77 in Da Lat
226 reviews
1.2 mi away
Du Parc Hotel Dalat
Du Parc Hotel Dalat
#10 of 77 in Da Lat
533 reviews
1.6 mi away
Villa Vista Hotel
Villa Vista Hotel
#2 of 77 in Da Lat
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
ZEN Valley Dalat
ZEN Valley Dalat
#7 of 77 in Da Lat
114 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vu Thanh Hotel
Vu Thanh Hotel
#31 of 77 in Da Lat
3 reviews
1.8 mi away
ZEN Cafe & Villa
ZEN Cafe & Villa
#8 of 77 in Da Lat
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thien An Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thien An Hotel

Property: Thien An Hotel
Address: 364 Phan Dinh Phung | Old address: 272A Phan Dinh Phung, Da Lat, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Lam Dong Province > Da Lat
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 77 Hotels in Da Lat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing