We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location if you aren't sleeping on a Junk”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Novotel Ha Long Bay
Ranked #3 of 69 Hotels in Halong Bay
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and the room was very good - the pool was lovely and clean and the bar area had a nice atmosphere. We ate in the bar one night and the staff were very friendly with magic tricks to keep us entertained. The breakfast was good - a fair choice of things but no bacon which was an oddity in a supposedly westernized hotel.
The gym was very small but perfectly functional with 2 running machines and a cycle.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 43-OTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmnovotel, General Manager at Novotel Ha Long Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear 43-OTR

Thank you for choosing Novotel Ha Long Bay for your stay in Ha Long.
We are happy to hear your compliments on our rooms, swimming pool, breakfast buffet, gym and the friendliness of bar staffs. I will share your comment with the concerning departments and especially with our bar teams. We do provide international breakfast buffet every morning that include bacon and we will put more attention on running out of food.
Again, thank you for your kind feedback and we hope to welcome you again in the future.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (868)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

372 - 378 of 869 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2014

title: A wonderful hotel for a family weekend

We wanted a quiet and relaxing family weekend, and this hotel proved an excellent choice. The gym has a great view and the fitness equipments are well maintained. The spa is spacious, clean and welcoming. The outdoor pool is clean, and the beach very near. The hotel offers a nice-looking and tasty lunch at a flat rate, and an excellent dinner buffet including delicious seafood that we would only have expected in a 5-star restaurant. The hotel’s decoration has a welcoming outlook, with a touch of luxury. What impressed us most is how smiling and helpful the staff were: despite the great number of guests, our every wish was attended to at once.
We came from Hanoi by bus; a tough experience. The bus drives around until it is jam-packed: after all seats are full, the crew sells seats on plastic tools in the corridor. No decent-souled traveler would gaily spend 4 hours in his seat while an older person is crouching miserably at his side; so you offer to swap seats and find yourself on a flimsy stool in the corridor of a scruffy bus spouting black fumes, and you wonder whether you really like Vietnam after all. For the journey back we chose to book a car through the hotel; like the rest of our stay, it was absolutely impeccable: the driver was on time and drove skillfully , the car was comfortable, and every detail was taken care of (complimentary mineral water, etc).
Just 1 suggested improvement: if you use the online booking system, it may be worth sending a confirmation e-mail directly to the hotel. I remember indicating on the online form that we were coming with a kid, but the hotel apparently did not receive this piece of information and there was no extra bed in the room (907) when we moved in. There were extra beds available in the hotel, though, and the hotel staff fixed that right away.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ANONYMOUS636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmnovotel, General Manager at Novotel Ha Long Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear ANONYMOUS636

It is a great pleasure for our hotel to have been given a chance to accommodate you recently for family trip.
We are glad to read that you were satisfied with our gym, Spa, and the meal especially lunch and dinner buffet at the Square as well as the friendliness and helpfulness of our staffs. I will share your comments with our teams for us to keep up with the good work. Also it’s good to hear that you had comfortable journey back to Hanoi with our private transportation service.
Regarding the reservation issue on extra bed, please rest assured that the concerning department will investigate the situation and I am sorry for the inconvenience that you experienced.
Thank you for spending your family trip with us and we hope to accommodate you again in the future.

Regard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

(room 706)

+ very new looking building
+ dinner in hotel is very good
+ beautiful view from window
+ scale in room
+ balcony with view

0 very modern looking appointments

- temperature impossible to control, does not obey
thermostat setting, was uncomfortably hot
- Bathroom opens to bedroom offering salacious views
- cigarette burns on balcony railing
- there is translucent glass door to the bathroom to
allow salacious views from the bedroom into the bathroom,
but if one uses the bathroom late at night it floods the
main room with light.
- single door can be used to give privacy to the toilet
or to the show and toilet but not from each other
- confusing set of light switches making it hard to know
exactly what each does
- room too dark to even read
- step up out of bathroom makes it easy to stub toes
- never got air conditioning to do anything
- too many people chasing too few seats at breakfast
- no drawer space

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mark_Leeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmnovotel, General Manager at Novotel Ha Long Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Mark_Leeper

Thank you for taking time to share your experience regarding to your stay on February with us.
We are glad to read that you were satisfied with the building, dinner in the Square restaurant, scale in the room and the great view from the room. As you mentioned, your room was definitely facing the bay with stunning view.
Regarding to your points, we would like to apologize for the inconveniences you may have experienced concerning the air-condition controller, balcony railing and the lighting in the room. Your comment has been brought to the each concerning departments to take in charge to improve the condition.
Again, thank you for sharing your feedback with us and we hope the negative points will not deter you from staying with us in the future.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

The hotel is located very close to the Bai Chay Wharf, and it's quite convenient to go for a walk along the beach or just in the town to check out the big market there. We had one twin-bed and one king bed room. My family and I loved the room very much, spacious, pretty, comfortable, specially the balcony from which you can see the view of the bay. Restaurant is nicely decorated too. Breakfast was very nice. Nice & friendly staff. Swimming pool is not very big but looks great.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maple J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmnovotel, General Manager at Novotel Ha Long Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear Maple J

It’s a great pleasure to read a comment as yours based on your recent stay with us.
We are happy to see that your stay was enjoyable and pleasant with the room style, buffet at the restaurant and the friendliness of our staff. Your comment will serves as a big encouragement to all of our staffs.
Again, thank you for staying with us and share your comment with us. We look forward to accommodate your family in the next time.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This is what I would call a bog-standard Novotel, ie reliable and well-presented, with good service. The best feature is the Japanese-design of the rooms, which I found very pleasing. The breakfast bar was adequate but not exciting (with the world’s slowest toaster), whereas I enjoyed dinner more. It’s a good place from which to get out and go for a walk by the Bay. A comfortable night’s stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tanderra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmnovotel, General Manager at Novotel Ha Long Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear Tanderra

Thank you for sharing your feedback from your recent stay with Novotel Ha Long Bay.
It’s a great pleasure to read your comment on our services, design of the room, breakfast buffet and dinner buffet. I will share your comments with our teams for us to keep up with the good work.
We hope to welcoming you again in the future.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

it is good to come back here:

Pros:
- removal of the bars between bathroom and sleeping room so you can watch TV from the bath.
- Service
- it is an advantage to know them
- nice menu choice
- welcome red wine for platin member, got upgraded
- room
- bed

Cons:
- no fitness centre
- buffet is reduced
- too dark to read , need reading light
- wifi too weak
- Beefs always taste very very tough ( many times)
- overcrowded with mass tourism ( lots of them smoke everywhere in the hotel)

Room Tip: mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MacHope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmnovotel, General Manager at Novotel Ha Long Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear vanhiephoang

We very much appreciate your returns and comments on your stay.
We are happy to read your comment on our services, nice menu choices from restaurant and the room condition. Accor has loyalty program to gives more benefits to our members as you have received.
Based on the points you mentioned, we do have a fitness center on 3rd floor for all of our guests to use. Regarding to the buffet, wifi and the food taste issue, I will share your points with the concerning departments to improve and enhance the quality of service and products.
Thank you very much for being frequent guest, and we hope to accommodate you again in near future.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

the hotel is nice, great restaurant and swimming pool but you will stay isolated from the city... which is alright if you are going on a cruise and will just spend overnight there til you head to the docas..however, if you are planning to explore the city, try to find somewhere closer

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thiagop1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmnovotel, General Manager at Novotel Ha Long Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear thiagop1982

Thank you for taking time to share your experience on your stay with us.
We are glad to hear that you were satisfied with the hotel itself, restaurant and the swimming pool. Even though the location of the hotel is far from the local city area, we are located closer to the bay and tourism area in walking distance.
Again, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you again.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halong Bay hotels
4.0 mi away
Halong Paradise Suites Hotel
Halong Paradise Suites Hotel
#1 of 9 in Tuan Chau Island
502 reviews
1.6 mi away
Royal Lotus Hotel Halong
Royal Lotus Hotel Halong
#6 of 69 in Halong Bay
289 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Villas Halong
Royal Villas Halong
#29 of 69 in Halong Bay
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Wyndham Legend Halong Hotel
Wyndham Legend Halong Hotel
#5 of 69 in Halong Bay
146 reviews
1.4 mi away
Halong Plaza Hotel
Halong Plaza Hotel
#4 of 69 in Halong Bay
283 reviews
0.2 mi away
Saigon Halong Hotel
Saigon Halong Hotel
#9 of 69 in Halong Bay
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Ha Long Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Ha Long Bay

Address: 160 Ha Long Road | Bai Chay Ward, Halong Bay, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Ninh Province > Halong Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Halong Bay
#3 Spa Hotel in Halong Bay
#5 Best Value Hotel in Halong Bay
Price Range: £49 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Ha Long Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Ha Long Bay is the first 4 star internationally recognised hotel in the popular region. Just three hours from Hanoi, the 225 room beachfront hotel is in close proximity to major attractions such as bay cruises and local markets. Novotel Ha Long Bay enjoys a stunning vista from all angles, and even the outdoor pool with swim up bar overlooks the idyllic bay. Great for business travel or family holidays, the hotel boasts modern interiors and great facilities including WiFi Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Novotel Ha Long Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Ha Long Bay Hotel Halong Bay
Novotel Halong Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing