We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice modern hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Ha Long Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Novotel Ha Long Bay
Ranked #3 of 61 Hotels in Halong Bay
Dursley, Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Nice modern hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Novotel's are typically a safe bet, they are all of a good standard and you usually have a pleasant stay and here was no exception. The hotel is very modern and nicely furnished throughout, our room was very nice and clean with a wonderful powerful rain shower. There was free tea and coffee and free WiFi in the rooms. We were a little disappointed when we arrived late afternoon to be told we could only eat in the bar that night as the restaurant was fully booked! However, we did make ourselves comfy in the bar in the end and the food was very good. The breakfast was nice but it was very busy, I think the only fault with this hotel is that the restaurant is just not big enough to accommodate all the guests!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Little_Blondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmnovotel, General Manager at Novotel Ha Long Bay, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Little_Blondie

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Ha Long Bay.
Thank you for being frequent user of Novotel. We are delighted to read your comment that you were satisfied with our room and your stay. Due to busy operation at the Square restaurant, our staffs kindly informed you to change your dining place to our lobby lounge bar. We are happy to hear that you really enjoyed the food.
If you felt any inconvenience use of restaurant for breakfast, please accept our apology and thank you for your kind understanding.

Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to welcoming you in the future.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    339
    149
    28
    11
See reviews for
149
329
45
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

This is a good place to stay if you really must stay overnight in Ha Long City and not on a boat. Clean, modern, stylish, the food is great, the staff is amazing, and you will most probably not face any unpleasant surprises. Also great with children. They loved the pool. It is not too noisy, though it's by the main road.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BZsofia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmnovotel, General Manager at Novotel Ha Long Bay, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Zsuzsanna B

Thank you for sharing your stay experience on April with us.
We are happy to read your comment on our cleanness, design of hotel, breakfast you had in the Square restaurant and the friendliness of our staff. Also we are glad to hear that your children loved our pool.
Again, thank you for stay with us and we hope to accommodate you in the future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Great water front views from balcony rooms, spotlessly clean and helpful staff, really good breakfasts.Not much to do in Halong once you have done your cruise but a really good place to chill before heading back to the chaos of Hanoi.

Room Tip: Ask for balcony rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuliaMcll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmnovotel, General Manager at Novotel Ha Long Bay, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Poppy2222

Thank you for your comment and we are very happy that you had a great stay experience with us.
I am glad to hear your compliments on the rooms, helpful staffs and the great breakfast you enjoyed.
We hope to welcome you back in near future. Thank you.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night last month. The hotel is very modern, and the rooms are great, well presented to a high standard and very clean.
The dinner we had was good, but breakfast was a bit of a disappointment, but mainly due to the sheer number of coach parties all trying to get breakfast at the same time.
The staff were excellent though, all very friendly and helpful.
We just wish we had been able to see the view from the room on a sunny day.....

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SANDGJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmnovotel, General Manager at Novotel Ha Long Bay, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear SANDGJ

It is very happy that you had a great stay experience with us.
I am delighted to hear that your stay was great and pleasant because of the room, services from our staffs and the dinner buffet. It is through feedback such as from you that our team is able to improve and enhance the guests experience and loyalty.
Thank you for staying with us and we hope to accommodate you again in the future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
120 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

As with an earlier reviewer we came to the hotel because of an aborted cruise on Ha Long Bay.
It was interesting to observe how a good hotel handles a significant incus of extra guests. The buffet service was a little slow but the overall impression was the the influx was handled seamlessly - very impressive.
The staff were welcoming and efficient. Our room was large and of a high standard.
A pleasant overnight stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poppyboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmnovotel, General Manager at Novotel Ha Long Bay, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear poppyboss

Thank you for staying with us at Novotel Ha Long Bay.
We are glad to hear your comments on the services from our staffs and the room you stayed. I am sorry that your experience on our buffet did not meet your expectation. With your comment, our team can improve and enhance the quality of service.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back again.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel design very nice, nice room and facilities, staff are friendly and enthusiatic, have more than 200 rooms,near the sea and many tourist area, in balcony room can see sea sightseeing, if you come to Ha Long Bai Chay, recommended stayed in Novotel

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindythanhnga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmnovotel, General Manager at Novotel Ha Long Bay, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Cindythanhnga

Thank you very much for taking time to give us your experience at the Novotel Ha Long Bay.
I am glad to hear your compliments on the design of hotel, rooms, facilities and the friendliness of staffs. Your comment will encourage our teams to enhance the quality of service.
Thank you and we hope to welcome you back in near future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pendle hill
Level Contributor
140 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed at the hotel after our trip on a cruise in halong bay was aborted due to dad weather.Despite having to cope with a large influx of unexpected customers everything was handled smoothly and in a relaxed manner.Our bedroom was of a high standard and comfortable.We choose the buffet for dinner and the range and quality excellent with a variety of items cooked to order.The hotel experience made up for missing our last night on the cruise ship

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jimmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmnovotel, General Manager at Novotel Ha Long Bay, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear jimmor

We are very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Ha Long Bay.
I am glad to hear that your stay was comfortable and enjoyable with a high standard room and the dinner buffet at the Square restaurant. I will share your comments with our team for us to keep up with the good work.
Thank you and we are looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halong Bay hotels
4.0 mi away
Halong Paradise Suites Hotel
Halong Paradise Suites Hotel
#1 of 3 in Tuan Chau Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
1.5 mi away
Royal Lotus Hotel Halong
Royal Lotus Hotel Halong
#5 of 61 in Halong Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
1.3 mi away
Wyndham Legend Halong Hotel
Wyndham Legend Halong Hotel
#7 of 61 in Halong Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Halong Plaza Hotel
Halong Plaza Hotel
#4 of 61 in Halong Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Villas Halong
Royal Villas Halong
#22 of 61 in Halong Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.1 mi away
Saigon Halong Hotel
Saigon Halong Hotel
#9 of 61 in Halong Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Ha Long Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Ha Long Bay

Property: Novotel Ha Long Bay
Address: 160 Ha Long Road | Bai Chay Ward, Halong Bay, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Ninh Province > Halong Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Halong Bay
#3 Spa Hotel in Halong Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Ha Long Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Ha Long Bay is the first 4 star internationally recognised hotel in the popular region. Just three hours from Hanoi, the 225 room beachfront hotel is in close proximity to major attractions such as bay cruises and local markets. Novotel Ha Long Bay enjoys a stunning vista from all angles, and even the outdoor pool with swim up bar overlooks the idyllic bay. Great for business travel or family holidays, the hotel boasts modern interiors and great facilities including WiFi Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, ACCOR and Agoda so you can book your Novotel Ha Long Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Ha Long Bay Hotel Halong Bay
Novotel Halong Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing