We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice room, reasonable price”
Review of Van Hai Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Van Hai Hotel
Ranked #28 of 67 Hotels in Halong Bay
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Last week I stayed at Ha Long city. Everything is OK: friendly staff, clean room. My room has two windows. A seaview and the bridge view. You take 15 minutes to walk to the night market. I see distance cease to be big problem

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hafnguyen87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
There are newer reviews for Van Hai Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 22 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2011

When arrival the hotel, their hotel staff welcome very friendly with nice smile, they help me check in hotel and help us to understand more about the tours to visit Halong Bay, I took a short trip to visit Halong market, enjoyed seafood in Halong, its very delecious. I love seafood very much. The staff in Hotel help me to walk around halong city. I stayed in hotel for one night and hotel's view is great at night and early morning. I wish I will come back hear.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Silvia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

I stay in Van Hai Hotel for 1 night, and I found that, this hotel are new facilities, good qualities, This hotel change alot and staff do better than I thinks.
good location, trekking in very nice road, sea view is great, I like Halong Bay, It's very beautifull.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sofia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

We arrived with our young family only to be told we were 10km from the ferry terminal. Manager arranged a boat for us to travel to cat Ba Island that never arrived then he pocketed the money. Would never recommend this hotel to anyone, very dodgy in every way.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JojoSaigon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011

Lucky we stayed in this hotel for one night as this hotel is below my expectation of three star standard. Upon arrival we noticed that the hotel is quite far from the night market. It's about almost 1km which is a good 20mins walk (only if you don't mind walking). I took the taxi to the night market instead.
The room is spacious, however, everything in the room seemed rather old and the curtain needs a good wash. The same with the bathroom towels, from the white colour turns into a grey-ish colour. I don't want to use it even there were about 4 of them. All looked white-grey.
The breakfast menu was just average, however, there are many to choose from. I notice there are under just 20 people having breakfast. I wonder how many people stayed in this hotel? I later found out from the taxi driver that this hotel is over 15 years old and belong to the government, it is not a private owned hotel. No wonder the hotel look old, dark and sabby looking.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tv_02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2011

Stayed at the Van Hai Hotel for 1 night. The first thing I noticed was that the lobby was exceptionally huge, however there was not a single guest in the lobby area. The lobby had a gift shop but there were no computers available for free usage.

At night, I also noticed that some floors of the hotel had their lights completely blacked out which I guess was probably due to the low occupancy.

The decor of the hotel, room aisles and rooms was very basic and tasteless. However, there is free wi-fi in the hotel and my room had a nice view of the bridge connecting Bai Chay and Hon Gai.

Breakfast consisted of Chinese/Western and the cook-on-the-spot eggs and pho. The staff do not understand English when we wanted our eggs to be half-boiled. Dishes were also not topped up at all.

Location wise, the hotel is situated about a 15 to 20 minutes walk to the Halong Night Market, which is a bad thing. However, you get a somewhat nice view of the bridge. Overall, this hotel is great ONLY if you're staying in Halong for a night.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WengGuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

I stayed this hotel for 1 night. Room was ok, but staff was unhelpful and speak english not good. Breakfast was terrible .
I checked out earlier and move another hotel with same price but good services and kind staff.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank philzar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halong Bay hotels
1.0 mi away
Asean Halong Hotel
Asean Halong Hotel
#31 of 67 in Halong Bay
48 reviews
3.7 mi away
CityBay Palace Hotel
CityBay Palace Hotel
#12 of 67 in Halong Bay
54 reviews
4.3 mi away
Ha Long Park Hotel
Ha Long Park Hotel
#11 of 67 in Halong Bay
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Halong Cheers Hotel
Halong Cheers Hotel
#18 of 67 in Halong Bay
8 reviews
1.4 mi away
Golden Halong Hotel
Golden Halong Hotel
#30 of 67 in Halong Bay
16 reviews
1.4 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#23 of 67 in Halong Bay
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van Hai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van Hai Hotel

Address: 8 Halong Road | Bai Chay, Halong Bay, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Ninh Province > Halong Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 67 Hotels in Halong Bay
Price Range: £18 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Van Hai Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Van Hai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing