We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view”
Review of Van Hai Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Van Hai Hotel
Ranked #31 of 69 Hotels in Halong Bay
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We arrived here very tired after long night of travelling and where greeted by two unfriendly guys at the check in counter. They also wanted to keep our passports for the time of our stay, saying it was the law in Vietnam and some other rubbish.after I told them there was no way that was happening and that I've stayed in many Vietnamese hotels and never had to surrender my passport they them back. I think there also might have been a law at this hotel about smiling because I never saw one here. The room was quite big and had nice views of the bay, but the bathroom was very dirty. Also the breakfast was average. Stay here when you have no other options only

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Johnshags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 15 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2013

The only good thing was the room we had was 905 and had a beautiful view of the bay specially at night. The room itself was good and clean but the toilet did not have a bath mat.
there was another group and to get a place for breakfast was difficult. breakfast was average.

There was one guy at the reception who could understand English and when he moved we just could not get the others to understand anything we wanted to say.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 905
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ajitha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in January - weather cloudy, but still had good view of Halong Bay islands from hotel. Front desk staff difficult to communicate with as they speak little English. Tip is to venture across bridge for a mornings explore.
Hotel clean, good value and right on sea front. Around 15min walk to night market.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldvisitor123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Unfortunately we were put up at this Hotel because there was a storm and we were unable to stay the night on our Junk. I was very disappointed that Indochina Junks chose this Hotel. The rooms are quite outdated and old, the bathrooms were moldy with horrible shower curtains. The internet reception was very average and I had to take the key out of the card holder just so we could turn the air conditioner off during the night. After an average night sleep we headed down for breakfast mmmm nothing exciting to eat there, very limited. Would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharon261615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

On Sat (15th), Sun (16th) in September I came to meeting all day at 11floor of this hotel. I parking my scooter at security area. And in the afternoon the security man came to ask me to pay 10000 đ for parking scooter. I never see any hotel ask money for parking scooter in the world like this hotel. It’s so stupid and crazy, cause we paid meeting room and tea break at that time.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank phucbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

excellent location, very helpfull staff, great food.. Would stay again!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tammossman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

We stayed at 10th Floor and the view was breath taking. The hotel provides all the basic necessity. The room we occupied was big and plenty of room for children to run around.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the frontal bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zoefied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halong Bay hotels
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Luxury Hotel
#18 of 69 in Halong Bay
2 reviews
1.4 mi away
Vietnam Trade Union Hotel
Vietnam Trade Union Hotel
#21 of 69 in Halong Bay
11 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#23 of 69 in Halong Bay
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Golden Halong Hotel
Golden Halong Hotel
#28 of 69 in Halong Bay
17 reviews
0.0 mi away
Halong Dream Hotel
Halong Dream Hotel
#45 of 69 in Halong Bay
45 reviews
0.2 mi away
Halong Seoul Hotel
Halong Seoul Hotel
#16 of 69 in Halong Bay
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van Hai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van Hai Hotel

Address: 8 Halong Road | Bai Chay, Halong Bay, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Ninh Province > Halong Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 69 Hotels in Halong Bay
Price Range: £19 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Van Hai Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Van Hai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing