We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My least favorite place to stay in Vietnam”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Viethouse Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Halong Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Viethouse Lodge
Ranked #5 of 69 Halong Bay B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“My least favorite place to stay in Vietnam”
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here August 7, 2013 after a boat cruise on Ha long bay. My boyfriend selected the place after reading the reviews and assured me we were starting at a great place. Honestly, this place was a huge disappointment and I'm really shocked by other reviews. We didn't like this place at all - and we tried to give it the benefit of the doubt. We were on a trip going through South Asia, so we had stayed at a lot of hotels by that point. This place was not good for the following reasons:
1) the wifi was horrible. The weather was bad so we had to stay in and we thought that we'd at least catch up on American tv through his iPad. No such luck. The wifi was terrible so we couldn't do that or anything using the Internet.
2) way overpriced! We had one meal. Dinner for two and a bottle of house wine, which came to 55USD. We thought that was ridiculous.
3) the tv in the room had one channel. Normally this would not be a problem but when you're forced to stay indoors and there's no wifi and no tv, you get pretty frustrated.
4) the food wasn't that good. For all the food we'd eaten in Asia up until that point, this was the least good. And read point 2, which made me even more frustrated.

Overall I would not stay here again and I am sad to say this is one place I could not in good conscience recommend. However, I hated the bathroom here and thought it looked dirty, while my boyfriend said he had the best shower of his life. I guess that's a positive.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Felicity00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    20
    6
    2
    5
See reviews for
22
44
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Barnstable, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

This lovely, secluded lodge is a great getaway from Hanoi/halong. We used it as a base for a day trip to Cat Ba which worked out well. The last ferry from cat ba is at 4 though so if you are wanting to stay late be aware of that.

Haiko (co-owner) is amazing. He prepped us completely for our day trip and even gave us a ride to the harbor and let us borrow his umbrella.

The rooms are basic but VERY well done for lodge-style accommodation. The restaurant has great food that is pricey for Vietnam. It is secluded so you don't really have much choice but the quality of food makes up for both factors.

The pool is a great treat as well, clean and tidy.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Creightonh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Absolutely stunning views from almost every location on the property were the highlight, the pool was very nice, lots of greenery around it, rooms have a very pleasant unique design and comfortable beds.
Good restaurant and laundry services (if a bit pricey). As much as I enjoyed the stay I should forewarn that you have no other real choice in terms of dining, not to bother because the food is very nice, its just the prices do add up.
Owners Heiko and Ly are incredibly helpful & accommodating, even driving us to Halong City to pick up some small things, always available for a cool tea and a chat, they will go out of their way to make your stay as pleasant and easy as possible, which is very important since the hotel is so far away from anything on the Island and surrounding area. Worry not though about getting around, Heiko and Ly will be happy to help.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor, slightly better view and no shutters on the windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paige G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

This is a review for both the Viethouse in Hanoi and the Viethouse Lodge in Halong Bay (Tuan Chau Island)

Firstly, my partner and I have been traveling through South East Asia for the past 4.5 months and both these guesthouses/hotels were amazing.Here are the reasons why:

The owners/hosts at both locations (Caroline, Ly and his wife) were so welcoming we felt at home and received personal care. They were so helpful with information, arranging for transport, recommending day-trips that common tourists were not doing, accommodating our dietary restrictions (we're vegetarian), and making our stay memorable.

The hotel in Hanoi is the best value that we found for the location (we did the backpacker hotel rounds in Old Town). It is a slightly higher price point, but well worth the extra few dollars. It has all the modern convinces and aesthetic that you could want while keeping an artistic and vintage feel. We got the penthouse suite which has amazing light that floods in through the expansive windows on all sides. You can actually see the lake from the room. We also looked at two other rooms which were equally beautiful. Caroline is welcoming and professional and is an exceptional chef. We highly recommend that you ask for the breakfast add-on. The best breakfast we had in months!! (Seriously)

From Hanoi, Caroline arranged a very affordable and comfortable shuttle bus service to Halong Bay. We were considering taking one of the infamous boat tours, but we were so glad we didn't. Instead on Caroline's recommendation, we stayed at their sister property, Viethouse Lodge on a small island in Halong Bay.

The sweeping views are enough to take your breath away and the property has old-world charm that is extremely hard to find in Halong Bay. If you look at their website, you will not get an appropriate gauge of the beauty of their property (they are renovating it, so hopefully there will be some better photos soon).

The old brick structure with large wooden support beams, the thatched roof, the wooden windows and other heritage furniture make you feel authentic Vietnam. The only thing we think could be upgraded are the bathrooms.

There is a great pool, a delicious and affordable restaurant, and lots of photo opportunities. If you are looking for a quiet and chilled out island, a nice deck to catch up on reading, easy access to the public ferry and great hosts to boot, then this is THE place to be in Halong Bay. Much better that any boat cruise.

Here's what we recommend – one or two nights in Hanoi at Viethouse. Skip the boat cruise in Halong Bay and stay at the Viethouse Lodge in Halong Bay. The owners will give you the low-down on the local ferry to Cat Ba (which travels through the beautiful karst islands) and spending a great day exploring Cat Ba and returning to dip in the pool at the lodge.

Loved it and highly recommend both places.

Room Tip: The second floor facing Halong Bay has the best view and light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed in Viethouse Lodge for 2 nights on 4 and 5 April, 2013, before boarding a cruise around Halong Bay, and our experience was a world away from some of the recent reviews on here.

From the moment I contacted the owner to reserve our 2 night stay, I was looked after completely. The stay in Viethouse was a surprise for my girlfriends birthday during a 6 month trip around south east Asia and the owners of the hotel and their daughter helped sort out a birthday cake and a lovely bottle of fizz for her, plus they even put flowers in the room which was a lovely surprise! Personally, we received 5 star treatment from the owners from start to finish.

Our room was in a beautiful English cottage style with exposed wooden beams and a wonderful view over Halong Bay from the large balcony. The room was not the largest we have stayed in during our travels but had everything we needed including a comfortable bed with mosquito net, 2 bedside tables, one with a lamp and phone, a small wooden unit with complimentary bananas and snacks to buy, a safe, television, good aircon, a fridge and small open wardrobe rail. The bathroom was a small ensuite wet room with curtain. The balcony had 2 comfortable wooden chairs and a glass table.

Breakfast was very good with a small menu. We chose the cooked western option which consisted of 2 eggs any style with bread, a plate of fresh fruit, a yoghurt and tea or coffee. We also ate dinner in the restaurant both nights we were there which was excellent. It was slightly on the pricier side but then the meals we had were superb so we didn't find this a problem. And the ambience of the restaurant was great, with a homely feel and good service. We didn't find any problematic language barriers and if there were, the friendly owners and reception is right next to the restaurant so if you really need to, just ask them for assistance. They both speak perfect English as well as Vietnamese and German. The restaurant doesn't serve lunch so you'll need to head elsewhere for this and options close by are limited. The marina (5 minutes drive away, 20 minute cycle, I wouldn't walk it!) has a very nice reasonably priced cafe-restaurant serving lunch overlooking the marina.

The hotel also has a beautiful swimming pool to relax in with sunbeds, laundry services and bikes (incl tandems) to rent. The bikes are very dated though so should be used with caution. The Internet was very shakey when we were there but when it did work, it just about reached our room which was nearest to the reception/ restaurant area (room tip there for you!)

In terms of Tuan Chau Island, it is quite an odd little place. On the one hand, there is enough infrastructure there to support lots of hotels which is exactly what is being developed at the moment. In 10 years it will probably be thriving. But at the moment don't expect an all singing all dancing resort island with loads to do. If you want tranquility however, it may be the place for you, but you may only need a couple of nights.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, were looked after fantastically well from start to finish by all of the staff and thought the place was good value for money. This family run lodge offered something different from the madness of Halong City and the corporate environment of chain hotels. The reviewer who was told Viethouse Lodge is a 5* Hotel should take up his complaint with whoever told them this-nowhere does it claim to be a 5* Hotel; it's a 3* on its own website! If your looking for rustic, relaxed and peace, then Viethouse Lodge is just the place.

Room Tip: Get a room near reception so the Internet works in room. Rooms with a view of the bay are worth the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jpw222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Our stay at the lodge was unfortunately not that great. The room (including the bed linen) was dirty and the bathroom is a bit of a joke. There is nothing to do on the Island of Tuan Chau so you are forced to eat and stay at the lodge. The food is not bad but it is pricy. The staff doesn’t understand or speak much English which makes it very difficult to communicate. The owners were helpful in arranging a private taxi for us for our trip back to Hanoi. That was a great help. The AC in our room did not work and even after we asked at reception to have it checked, no one came to do that. Personally I think that the lodge can be amazing if they spend some money and shape up the so called modern rooms/bathrooms. In all a disappointing stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chala69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

We were sent to stay here on what was supposed to be our first night on a Paradise Cruise ship after the Halong Bay Port Authority forced all the cruise ships in for the night because of a storm. We were told this was a five-star hotel (with a five-star price of $95/night) but we were extremely disappointed and disgusted. For those looking for a rustic lodge, this might be your cup of tea, but we found our hotel room in a deplorable condition and were counting the hours until we could leave and rejoin our cruise. First of all, we were told it was advisable to use a mosquito net over our bed given the number of insects present. Indeed there were many insects and geikos in the room, and I suppose we should have been grateful for the net. This was even with the doors and windows closed and the AC on. Second, the hotel offered wifi, but only in the main room (reception and breakfast area). Third, the old TV only had 2 Vietnamese channels and was basically a waste of space. Fourth, the bathroom was dirty and old. Also they had one soap dispenser that we supposed was for hand washing and shampooing which did not function. We ran out of toilet paper right away and there was no replacement. Also the door did not close properly. Fifth, the blanket we were given was stained with blood. Sixth, and, most gross, was the presence of termites in several pieces of wood furniture in the room. We heard the termites all night long, chewing away and saw sawdust accumulating in various spots. The breakfast (Pho and toast and eggs) was OK, but not that great. The couple that owns the hotel was nice enough and helped us contact Paradise Cruises in the morning to remind them to pick us up. But overall, we found the hotel to be dirty and uncomfortable, especially for paying $95 a night.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KM8430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halong Bay hotels
1.2 mi away
Halong Paradise Suites Hotel
Halong Paradise Suites Hotel
#1 of 3 in Tuan Chau Island
432 reviews
2.1 mi away
Royal Lotus Hotel Halong
Royal Lotus Hotel Halong
#5 of 61 in Halong Bay
249 reviews
3.3 mi away
Novotel Ha Long Bay
Novotel Ha Long Bay
#3 of 61 in Halong Bay
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Halong Plaza Hotel
Halong Plaza Hotel
#4 of 61 in Halong Bay
259 reviews
4.6 mi away
Wyndham Legend Halong Hotel
Wyndham Legend Halong Hotel
#7 of 61 in Halong Bay
95 reviews
6.4 mi away
Ha Long Park Hotel
Ha Long Park Hotel
#13 of 61 in Halong Bay
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viethouse Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viethouse Lodge

Property: Viethouse Lodge
Address: Ngoc Chau str, Tuan Chau island, Halong Bay 123456, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Ninh Province > Halong Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Halong Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Viethouse Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Viethouse lodge is located halfway up the hill, next to the road leads to the highest peak of Tuan Chau Island, one of the thausand of small and medium island in Halong Bay. Viethouse lodge consists of a number of houses on stills with the ages of at least 15 years, the houses reflect a typical architecture of Viet ethnic. They have been transformed into a showcase of authentic and traditional living in a moderm environment. the houses located at different heights on the hillside. Nestled in green gardens which draw you to a natural relaxing and romantic atmosphere. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing