We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barely 1 Star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Catba Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #34 of 64 Hotels in Halong Bay
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Barely 1 Star”
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

First of all I have to say the staff we're very cheery, friendly and helpful. That is where the good points end.

We arrived at Cat Ba Island Resort and were met with a cold reception with very little atmosphere. As is was low season we accepted that it may be quiet but it was a ghost hotel.

We got to the room which smelt of damp, probably because no one had used the room in months.
After spending the time travelling to Cat Ba all we wanted was a shower to relax however this proved to be difficult because of the lack of shower curtain. Seriously you can buy a shower curtain for a £1.

After the fun of the bathroom we went for dinner, the restaurant was cold, empty an very outdated. The waitress was very nice and we had the food ordered to the room because it was a bit warmer there.

When the food came it was by far the worse food I have ever eaten. I know it was just pizza and chips but we were tired and just wanted to relax. The chips were soggy and greasy, the pizza was the thinnest hardest base ever with what looked, tasted an felt like rubber trying to pretend it was cheese. We did not eat it.

Time to sleep. The bed was ok nothing special but ok, but not my wife's pillow which smelt damp.

We were scared of using the lift.

Breakfast was ok.

We checked out after 1night although we had booked for 4 and although we tried to be polite to the staff they fully understood and knew that the hotel was not up to standard.

We we're told that more people had checked out early and I understand why.

The shuttle to the ferry was a scary experience as you were taken the ferry port and almost left to figure it out yourself.

This left a bad taste to what had been a fantastic time in Vietnam.

Avoid!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Dc01574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    12
    14
    2
    14
See reviews for
8
20
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Brunei
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

This really is not a four star hotel! It is more like a one star! When we arrived it was like a ghost town. It's very difficult to travel to the island and we ended up having to travel on a rusty ferry with no seats and no roof for a good hour! When we arrived we were told we had to leave our passports at the front desk until the morning and promised they would be locked in a safe! However when they were return we realised they were just left in an unlocked draw that anyone could access!!! Our room was extremely out dated, just like a concrete shell with a terrible fusty/smokey smell. The bed was ok but my pillow smelt of damp. We ordered food from the resultant which was an experience! It took along time to arrive so we asked for it to be sent to our room. We just ordered basic chips and pizza as the cleanliness of the restaurant was unappetising. When the food arrived it was horrendous and we ended up starving until the next day. We checked out four days early after one night. We explained why we had checked out and found out that other families
and couples had done the same a few days earlier. The staff were really understanding and knew themselves that the hotel wasn't up to standard and gave us refunds on our food. This was an extremely bad end to our holiday! Oh and the bathroom had no shower curtain and the lift to our room was a scary experience to say the least!!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boanas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Halong Bay hotels

Osan, South Korea
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed in the offseason here at Catba Island and Resort. The staff were friendly during the day. There are no visitors after 10pm so don't expect to bring anyone back. The beds were awful. Close your eyes imagine sleeping on a brick wall. No kidding they have box springs not mattresses. We have traveled and stayed in other hotels in Vietnam and they were amazing. The resort is beautiful, but not worth the price for the uncomfortable beds. There are many other places to choose from. We talked with others we met and they had comfortable beds for $10 a night in other hotels. If it weren't for us booking and paying we would have canceled. Also their housekeeping comes at 8am on the dot. Don't expect to sleep in either.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2014

This our 2nd stay at this Hotel, the staff we totally dedicated to serving their guests.
Rooms were very large and clean, we were on the top floor with a spectacular view of the Halong Bay Island.
As the resort is so large, it would be nice that guests could drive buggies through the resort as oppose to waiting for staff to come and assist.
It would make this Hotel perfect if the Hotel provided a service to the City Centre.

Room Tip: Always ask to stay on the Top Floor in Block 2 for the best ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ibisphuket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IJsselstein, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

The resort and its surroundings are beautiful. It has two nice pools, à private beach and a play ground for children. There is a big and Nice garden. In five minutes you can walk to the center. It looks like a paradise.
The staff is friendly. We stayed in this resort in the low season..Ton Slingerland from Holland..

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank G S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Because of Low Season, we got a less clients having Hotel with great Service every-where
It begins by free tranport to Hotel and ends also like that
A big Hotel, which have all service,you need.
Br is Ok, but sometimes, because of Low season, has not Buffet but a listmenu.
Hotel has 2 large pools with nice enviroment.
As Finnish people we liked free Sauna + Steamsauna
You can be sure, you are in safe hotel all the time because of guards on the Incoming ports

Room Tip: take a Room of Middle section they are all to MorningSun
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EERO42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

The place seemed quiet with the area of the hotel relatively large.

The room was average and there was free Wifi. The furniture and bathroom seemed a bit dated and require maintenance/refurbishment.

Our seafood dinner was great since it was arranged earlier.
Breakfast was limited and the restaurant was ready slightly late.

Staff were great and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IzwanShahmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halong Bay
0.0 mi away
CatBa Island Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Catba Sunrise Resort
Catba Sunrise Resort
#1 of 19 in Cat Ba
355 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cat Ba Beach Resort
Cat Ba Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Cat Ba
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hung Long Harbour Hotel Cat Ba Island
16.2 mi away
Royal Villas Halong
Royal Villas Halong
#23 of 64 in Halong Bay
27 reviews
15.8 mi away
Tuan Chau Holiday Villa Halong Bay
Tuan Chau Holiday Villa Halong B...
#2 of 4 in Tuan Chau Island
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catba Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catba Island Resort & Spa

Property: Catba Island Resort & Spa
Address: Catco 1 beach | Catba Island, Halong Bay, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Ninh Province > Halong Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Halong Bay
#17 Spa Hotel in Halong Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charmingly and isolated lie on Catba Island – a spectacular natural wonder,Catba Island Resort and Spa honors to offer you the memorable and meaningful holidays… Furniture in the 165 rooms are made of wood create luxury & warmth, offering a comprehensive range of guest facilities and services, all with individual bay view balconies, 4 star amenities, multi-channel TV, and a mini bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Catba Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catba Island Resort And Spa
Catba Island Hotel Halong Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing